We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Memorial”

Perry's Victory & International Peace Memorial
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Put in Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rising 352 feet above Lake Erie, this monument commemorates an American victory during the War of 1812.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful Memorial”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The 20-30 minute wait in line to take the elevator to the top of this Memorial is time well spent. You wait on steps that wind up about one story through a white-tiled staircase that makes it feel as though you're inside a nautilus. The Rangers who work here are all very cordial and well informed, sharing the history of the island and the meaning behind the memorial. The view from the top of the tower is PHENOMENAL. Highly recommend!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cliffysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    152
    23
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
313 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Finally re-opened worth waitin for...”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My Mom was up there a long time ago and we've been in town over the years and I couldn't WAIT for it to re-open. The view is unreal! They don't charge much and you can stay up there for as long as you want(untill they close). I will go back up there next year when I return.I'm just sorry I didn't do it sooner.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diamond3650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definately worth seeing.”
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We stopped by perrys monument on our tour of put in bay the monument is nice and the history is very interesting to hear! Beautiful scenery also!

Helpful?
Thank OhioValleyGirl028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gotta go at least once”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Gotta see at least once....take lots of pics....great for the kids...lots of history on this island....Perry - victor! of war on Lake Erie

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traci W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a tribute”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

What a nice tribute. The parks informational center has a nice display and a wonderful movie for everyone to enjoy. Was in the monument a couple of years ago. Nice.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perry's Victory & International Peace Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Perry's Victory & International Peace Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing