We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touisty but Nice”
Review of South Bass Island

South Bass Island
Ranked #2 of 34 things to do in Put in Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Theres plenty to see at South Bass Island, such as the Marblehead Lighthouse, the Cedar Point Amusement Park, and the William Perry Monument, and its fishing opportunities cant be beat, especially if you're fishing for Walleye and Perch.
Terre Haute, IN
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Touisty but Nice”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This area has many restaurants, shops and other typical tourist type things. There is also the William Perry monument that you can go in and ride the elevator to the top, which is very nice and interesting. There is a large park at the Island with several different playground areas. My Nieces had a blast! There is also a carousel across the street from the park area. The public bathrooms at the park have showers(for a fee) and lockers ($1). The locker can really be handy in case you have coolers or bathing suits, etc. The lockers are very large. There are plenty of things for kids to do, if you want to do the caves and butterfly house. I didn't see drunk people really walking around during the day and we did end up there a little bit in the evening and we didn't have any problems with unruly crowds, but I'm sure it could get that way. If you are looking for a less touristy place, go to Kelly's Island, It's more natural and secluded feeling. We didn't rent a golf cart here, but if you do, don't rent right when you get off the ferry. Walk into the City and check out some of those golf cart places, they were a lot cheaper than the one right by the ferrys.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fademist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    68
    20
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cabot, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun fun fun!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Love riding the golf carts wherever you went. Not to happy about all the cars on the island. Went for Key West Days, but didn't see anything related to Key West. Food and drink great where we went.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank smilekissed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, Ohio
Level Contributor
188 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Island of fun and frolic”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Any weekend from Memorial Day to mid September is great for a weekend of fun, drinks and music. There is a bar or band for everyone. Enjoy boating, fishing make a stop at South Bass island to blow off steam.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoeyPaulyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
160 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Party Central”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

South Bass Island is the heart and soul of the Lake Erie islands. People flock to South Bass Island throughout the summer often quadrupling its resident population. Weekends can get wild with the influx of party-ers.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ofmyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitmore Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Adult Fun Spot!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This fun spot - that takes up South Bass Island off the coast by Port Clinton, Ohio - is an adult's playground. Shops, restaurants, bars, a winery, an island to explore - all by golf cart or your feet!
We've been there a couple of times in the last two years - and love to go for the people watching, the partying, and the music. Each place has another act to see / listen to. Our food has been great both times there as well - any palate can be satisfied! Prices are within reason - the ferry ride to the island is fun as well. We would not suggest taking children as things can get a bit rowdy - lots of bachelor and bachelorette parties each weekend. About a 2 hour drive to get to the boat dack in Port Clinton from Detroit. Go and enjoy!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Bass Island also viewed

 

Been to South Bass Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing