We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Location Location Location Right in the Center if Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Put in Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Park Hotel
Save
You added Park Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Mansfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location Location Location Right in the Center if Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This Victorian Hotel is in the center of town between the Round House and Frosty's. If you are coming to town and want to be in the center of everything, this is the place to stay. The hotel is very old, but clean. Like the other reviews, the rooms are very plain and the camp ground type bathrooms are interesting, but tolerable. If you are coming here to have a good time, this is your hotel. Put-in-Bay is not a good place for children! Especially after 6:00 pm.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
3
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My Girlfriend and I stayed one night at the Park Hotel. The location is second to none. Right next to the Chicken Patio! The price was $125 after tax for a room with a full size bed. The setting is pretty neat. Very antique. Just like you walked back in time. The room is basic, with only a mirror, chair, nightstand, bed, and closet. Although old, our room was extremely clean! The sheets were brand new too. The bathroom situation is a bit odd, there are 2 communal bathrooms, the second floor has 3 toilets and 3 shower stalls and the third floor has 2 shower stalls. The golf cart rental is $10/hour when you stay with them and they are nice carts. The included continental breakfast consists of cereal, muffins, bagels, and orange juice. It was okay. Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful except for the younger ones which could care less about you. Pretty much if you want a clean, decent, and cheap place to stay you have to stay here!

Now the bad part. When we arrived the bathrooms were clean but the women's had no hot water. The morning we checked out the men's didn't have hot water so I went up to the third floor. When I opened the shower stall there was a huge amount of vomit in there - and had been there for AT LEAST 5 hours. It was absolutely disgusting. I went up to the teenage cleaning staff and told them about it, they replied "We know" very rudely and you could tell they knew about it and could care less. That is unacceptable to me.

Other than the water and puke issues this place was good. I may stay here again because of the price but don't get your hopes up about the showering situation.

That being said, EVERYONE in Put in Bay was completely wasted drunk. I have never seen so many varieties of drunk people in one place. It was crazy. It was fun but just completely wild, so I'm not surprised that there was puke in the shower. They should have cleaned it promptly though. And in case you're wondering, beer ranges from $3.50 for a 12oz Bud Light to $6 for a 16oz and shots are crazy expensive.

Room Tip: There is a LOT of natural light that comes in so don't plan on sleeping in too late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fostoria, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a night. It was right in the middle of down town pib and was a great Deal! The staff were nice and the building had a lot of charm. There are no tv's not a big deal and the only thing i didn't like were the common bathrooms witch the owner told me about when i called. The have a free breakfast that offers lots of great food. They also have good priced golf carts that i believe to be the best on the island. I was a little faster than other's and it was a nice cart. This is more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel and I will deff. be back to visit again.

Room Tip: If you want to turn in early ask for a room that isn't next to the round house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The staff were professional, yet friendly and helpful. My room was sparse, yet clean. You can hear street noise, but that is to be expected when you are staying in the middle of the strip in downtown Put in Bay. After going out all day and half the night, the noise is not a hindrance to sleep. The rooms have ceiling fans above the bed as well as window unit air conditioners. The hallway bathrooms were smallish, yet clean and pleasant enough. There was an assortment of bagels, muffins and cereals for the continental breakfast. Overall, it is a basic accomodation that was clean and safe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnLima_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel is old and delapadated. The staff is rude an the communal bathrooms are disgusting. The air conditioning window unit are old, loud and do not cool. The owners should be ashamed of themselves...I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Celeste216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Put in Bay hotels

Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

What a crap hole. No service, filthy facilities, and a dorm-like atmosphere make this hotel a hellish stay on put in bay. No TV, no phone and a gang bathroom down the hall that hasn't been properly cleaned in months. But the finishing touch is the night help who treat their guests like prisoners in the local drunk tank.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The Park Hotel is a step back in time right in the heart of PIB. The staff is great and we all felt warm and welcome. We were warned before booking by Phillip and the website that there were some unique things about the Park like shared bathrooms and the noise from the Roundhouse Bar, which I thought was very fair. Nobody likes surprises! The free continental breakfast was a great perk as eating in PIB can be expensive. We probably saved $40 a day between the 4 of us.If you remove that cost from the already low hotel rates the place is an exceptional bargain. This was our first stay at the Park ....but won't be the last. Our son and daughter in law have fallen in love with the place and I'm sure it will be hard to get away without them in the future.Can't wait to get back to the bay.

Room Tip: Front rooms have great view but are a little noisy until the Roundhouse closes. The back rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spokes29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Put in Bay
0.4 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#4 of 7 in Put in Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#2 of 18 in Port Clinton
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 18 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
10.6 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
3.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Property: Park Hotel
Address: 234 Delaware St, P.O. Box 60, Put in Bay, OH 43456-6624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hotel is an Victorian-era hotel, Est.1873. Park Hotel is located in the center of town, on South Bass Island, known as Put-in-Bay, Ohio. A wood framed structure, with 25 rooms and shared bathrooms on each floor for its' hotel guests. The rooms are fairly small in comparison to todays style hotel rooms. Queen, double and twin beds are available thru-out the summer season. Open mid April thru end of October. Rooms are air-condioned, have ceiling fans and unique antique furniture. We offer our guests, clean, comfortable room, with clean shared bathrooms. When making a reservation via over the phone ( we do not offer online reservations) , we inform our potential guest of the uniqueness of the Park Hotel. Continental Breakfast is served daily. We offer golf cart rental, please contact the front desk for details. Park Hotel is adjacent to the RoundHouse Bar and Chicken Patio. Great view of the downtown harbor and Lake Erie. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Put In Bay, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing