We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”
Review of The Liberty Tavern

The Liberty Tavern
Ranked #5 of 99 Restaurants in Powell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Powell, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

One of our favorite places to go alone, with the family, or just the grandkids. A nice selection of foods and always specials available.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maurice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    39
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service ”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Wife and I had a date nite to Liberty. It was our first visit. We shared a nice bottle of wine and shared the tacos. They had a double order tuna tacos as a special. Best I've ever had which makes me wonder why they aren't a staple point. We also an order of the pot roast tacos and they were fantastic. The menu is unique and the apps menu, small plates, could be more creative but our experience was fun and fantastic. It will be difficult to return without getting to order the tuna tacos.

Helpful?
Thank Johnathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Flawed Concept”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Nice name, given the location. Noisy, sometimes unbearably. Indifferent service. OK food. Good place for wanna-be jocks to drink too much and laugh uproariously at unfunny one-liners.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vango70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and food”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We found Liberty Tavern when skimming restaurants in the area. We were looking for something casual with a variety of food, but not too pricey for lunch. The menu has unique items on it, but also classics (for those non-adventurous eaters). We started with a few apps, sausage and cheese risotto balls and chicken lettuce wraps. Both were very good. The chicken lettuce wraps were like a greek salad in a lettuce bowl - very tasty! For lunch, at our table we had a pretzel bun rueben, oyster po' boy, chicken salad platter, and a soup/salad combo with chili and a tuna melt. Everyone was very pleased with their food, except the chili which was nothing to write home about.

The restaurant is nice and clean and has a good vibe with all th Benjamin Franklin quotes. Who knew Ben was a such a drinker?? LOL There is a full service bar with good selection of liquors and brews. If you like little boutiques and shops, the location is very good too. Downtwon Powell has several little shops nearby within walking distance. There is also a Jeni's ice cream right down the street (delicious!). The service at Liberty Tavern was good and we will definitely be returning!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicsanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Positive influence of Chef Bentley shows”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We revisited Liberty Tavern on 11/23/2013 after an absence of several years to see whether recent changes resulted in improvements. We found the dining area unchanged but noted several improvements in the dinner menu. I had the Mediterranean Vegetable Empanada as an appetizer and found it delicious. The filling of kalamata olives, artichokes, sun-dried tomatoes, feta cheese and spinach in a pastry was a nice mix of flavors and textures. The New England Clam Chowder was flavorful and contained plenty of clam meat but could have been served somewhat warmer. The Caribbean Rubbed Salmon was prepared medium rare as requested and is served on wild rice with jerk butter sauce and pineapple salsa. The entree was competently prepared but could have benefitted from a more intense treatment with jerk seasoning or additional heat to pair with the pineapple salsa. The dessert was a four layer double chocolate cake that was moist but lacking in flavor.

The influence of chef Bentley is evident in improvements in service (spotless stemware) and well-trained wait staff as well as numerous additions to the menu. The dining area is roomy with numerous televisions tuned to sporting events but the noise level is reasonable and not intrusive. However, we were not present during a Buckeye game when the noise level is probably much greater. Although there is room for improvement in the menu as well as the execution of some of the dishes, our recent experience at the Liberty Tavern was much better than on our previous visit so we are likely to return soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BluesCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Liberty Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Liberty Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing