We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful good, nice atmosphere. Entertainment wonderful!”
Review of The Liberty Tavern

The Liberty Tavern
Ranked #6 of 99 Restaurants in Powell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sidney OH
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful good, nice atmosphere. Entertainment wonderful!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

In a well to do neighborhood and has a nice charm about it on the inside. Nice dining area outside as well. We came to hear the entertainment that evening and made call again plans for dinner. It did not disappoint. The pork chop dinner was wonderful. Thick - almost 2 inches and surprisingly juicy and flavorful. The sauce was a wonderful reduction that was also great on the potatoes. We liked our meal so much we went back again for lunch the next day. The tavern stacker burger was really good - larger burger, topped with pulled pork, bacon and cheese with a couple of onion rings on top for garnish. Had the she-crab soup which was phenomenal! We went to Charleston this summer and it was better than down south!

The waitress mentioned they have a new chef just within the past month or 2 and we were really impressed with the food. Nice selection of bottled beers to choose from. We will definitely be back. Can't think of a single complaint. Wait staff was always friendly and helpful. And if you get a chance, see the band "Hat Trick" when they are playing there. The harmonies are incredible and all three have such a talent. If you like classic hits mixed with a few newer ones, give them a listen. Just a wonderful experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hoodwinked1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    36
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food at Liberty Tavern”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have never had a bad meal at the Liberty Tavern. Love the pork chop, huge! Their salads are great, perfect size. They have a wide variety of items from appetizers, burgers, wraps, salads and so forth. Very decently priced. Always bring out of town friends here for casual meals. Great spot in downtown Powell! Friendly staff!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tat22450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
260 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice Chill Spot for Food and Cocktails”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

They have a really nice patio outside. It was nice out so we sat outside to eat. The food is pretty good. The drinks are even better. I had the liberty sticks for dessert which are funnel cake sticks served with caramel. Yum! If it is nice out, sit outside. The salads are fresh and the drinks are strong. I enjoyed myself.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fun little pub in Powell”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

One of my favorite places to go in Powell. The service is always good here, & I've really liked everything I've had! Pretzel bites are delicious, as well as the fried pickles. Some of their burgers are HUGE but still really good! They also have delicious tuna tacos. Waitstaff is always friendly here & although I haven't sat out on the patio, its looked very nice when I've driven by. Good place to take guests and meet up with friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always a wonderful experience!”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This pub-style restaurant is consistently serving delicious food with attentive service and reasonable prices. When the weather is nice, the covered porch is a lovely place to have lunch with a friend or a cozy spot in colder weather to get some good comfort food. There is live music at times in the evening and the owners do an excellent job of promoting specials. I only wish that they would do a fun Sunday brunch there! It is located in Powell, a historic and interesting town in central Ohio. I have eaten there quite a few times over the past two years and have never had less than a great meal with wonderful service!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayfarer1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Liberty Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Liberty Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing