We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer and tour”

The Portsmouth Brewing Company
Ranked #3 of 75 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great beer and tour”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were just passing through Portsmouth and saw that the brewing company gave tours on the first and third Friday's, so we thought we would give it a try. The tour was very informative and the brewmaster was very friendly. The brewery has a great history and the current owners are expanding their ability to distribute their beers to a broader market. I had the hefeweizen and my husband had the Red bird ale. They were both very good. We didn't eat there, but the decor was very nice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    43
    19
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia Station, Ohio
1 review
“Great drinks and Food”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting the area and decided to come here. It's a very neat place to visit and everyone loved the beer. Unfortunately our food took a very long time to get. Out waiter was really nice about it and made sure to fix the situation. Overall I'd still recommend it, great food, beer, and friendly service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cayla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“As promised....”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Everyone said the lasagna was great and it was. Bread-sticks were nice too. Server was friendly, fun, and took good care of us. Beer was really good too with many selections. Bathroom was clean. They exceeded in every category. Cannot wait to return next time I am down by the river.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmericanExplorer8500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Tasty Beer, Delicious Lasagne, Rustic Surroundings”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is the oldest brewery in the State of Ohio which alone makes it worth a visit. Following a grueling 15-mile hike in nearby Shawnee Forest, our intrepid group of 14 descended upon this rustic restaurant for replenishment. The in-house brewed beer didn't disappoint and the German Portsmouth Pilsner was perfect. Many enjoyed the Pale Ale as well. Because several in the hiking group had patronized this pub before, we had arranged that they would have sufficient lasagne to feed us. The lasagne was scrumptious and the service was absolutely stupendous. Never did we need to ask twice for anything and beer refills magically appeared moments after we requested them. Loved this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NKyAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Pub Grub & Great Local Beer”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Located in a very neat building in the oldest brewery in the State of Ohio, this brew pub offers outstanding beer (love the Red Bird Ale) and adequate, humble food. The steak sandwich is good and I've been told they do a decent burger and good pizza but the beer is the star of the show. Stop is and see the brewing area or maybe take one of their regular tours. They have a nice outside dining area (one of the few in the area) available during the warmer weather months.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Portsmouth Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to The Portsmouth Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing