We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Choice in Portsmouth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Portsmouth
Pikeville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Choice in Portsmouth”
Reviewed February 1, 2010

No doubt about it, this is the best lodging option in Portsmouth. The HI Express is up on a hill right off US 23. The rooms are updated and spacious. Like all HI Express properties, the only on-premises food service is the above-average expanded continental breakfast. There is a decent Ponderosa Steakhouse and some fast food places next door, however. The staff is friendly and the property is well-kept. I would recommend this hotel for a stay in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjl3845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    38
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
32
16
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
georgia
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2009

I have stayed here many times. The minute you walk in the door, it smells clean!!!. They have an awesome breakfast, nice front desk, and very clean and comfortable rooms. Their housekeeping department is amazing, because these rooms are in tip-top shape.!!!!!!!I would suggest TO everyone that is planning a trip to Portsmouth, STAY HERE!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaykayjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

I got a brief history lesson from the front desk ater I told them I was visiting Shawnee State University. They were very helpful. I was a little worried when checking in because the lobby and room looked like they were "stuck in the 80's" and I saw a cobweb on the plastic chandelier. The bathroom was 2009 all the way and everything was clean, so I was happy. I passed on the biscuits and gravy at the breakfast bar and made myself a toasted bagel. After driving by the Ramada, I knew I had made the right choice in accomodations.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamaralea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Ky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2008

The people there are always friendly and willing to do anything to make my stay comfortable. I stay at the Holiday Inn Express once a month on business and always look forward to spending the night there. I use to stay at the Ramada in Portsmouth but this hotel is much nicer.

  • Liked — The staff is so friendly!!
  • Disliked — No problems whatsoever!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PHOENIXGhostRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2008

We have stayed both at the Portsmouth Super 8 and Days Inn Ameristay, and the Portsmouth Holiday Inn Express beats the other 2 by a mile. Even if it's a bit more in cost ($80 for 2 people with an AARP discount), this hotel is the best of the 3 this side of Portsmouth, Ohio. My wife and I come to Portsmouth about every 3 months from Baltimore to visit her mother, and the 2 previous trips we stayed at the 2 other hotels. From now on we'll be staying at the Portsmouth Holiday Inn Express.

The employees are friendly and the room was clean, unlike the last hotels. There was also a refrigerator and microwave in our room, along with the requisite TV.

The breakfast nook, open from 6am to 9am daily, located on the ground floor near the front desk, is clean and well stocked and all food is self-service. An attendant replenished the food during the time the nook was open. A small refrigerator was stocked with juices, yougert, hard boiled eggs, and milk for several choices of dry cereal. Hot water was available for instant oatmeal. Scrambled eggs, sausage patties, and biskets were available, as was sausage gravy. Warm pastry was also provided for the sweet tooth. If you don't want biskets, you have your choice of bread or english muffins for toast. Bagels and cream cheese are also on the menu. Regular and decafe coffee are available at all hours.

  • Liked — My stay on the second floor was quiet for the most part. A train outside could hardly be heard.
  • Disliked — There really wasn't anything I didn't like about this hotel.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ward00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2007

A very nice, clean room and a more than decent breakfast buffet. The only problem was, we selected this establishment because they supposedly had a pool. Their pool area was closed for renovation. So we were disappointed and perhaps because there was no pool, paid a little more than the accomodations might warrant. Still, not a huge disaster by any means.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, buffet breakfast
  • Disliked — No pool, as advertised.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GalileoSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Clinton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2006

i was very happy with the accomodations. this was by far the cleanest and friendliest hotel i've stayed in in a long time. do yourself a favor and pass by the others in portsmouth because this is the place to stay.

  • Liked — great staff and overall appearance of the property
  • Disliked — liked everything
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cardog57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown
8.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Wheelersburg
34 reviews
18.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Piketon
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ironton
22.1 mi away
Ameristay Hotel Inn & Suites Waverly
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Portsmouth
Super 8 Portsmouth
#3 of 6 in Portsmouth
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 5100 Old Scioto Trl, Portsmouth, OH 45662-6470 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quality Inn & Suites of Portsmouth Ohio. This rural setting and now is the time for our beautiful fall colors to become our backdrop. We are 5 miles North of Shawnee State University. Located off of US 23 North on Old Scioto Trail. Upon arrival to our hotel don't forget to grab a warm cookie or 2 that will make you feel right at home. All rooms feature refrigerators and you can request a microwave for your room. Breakfast is served from 6am-9:30am weekdays and for the weekends we have the breakfast from 6am-10am. We also offer a meeting room if your family would love to be able to visit while here in Portsmouth. Wireless HS Internet is provided throughout the entire hotel. For fun relax in our heated pool which is always a splash with the children. Area Businesses Include: OSCO Industries, Southern Ohio Medical Center, Uranium Enrichment Plant, Shawnee State University, Taylor Lumber, Coke Cola, Hollinee Manufacturing, Sun Coke, Big Sandy Warehouse and Infra Metals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn
Quality Inn & Suites Portsmouth, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing