We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Super 8 Portsmouth
Nearby Hotels
$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmeriStay Hotel(Portsmouth)
$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Keys Motel(Portsmouth)
$45
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
Royal Inn(Portsmouth)
Booking.com
View Deal
Comfort Inn(Wheelersburg)
$108
$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$119
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Inn(Piketon)
$77
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveler rating
71
86
58
51
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
86
58
51
36
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 302 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
randyo446, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed the night of Nov. 30, 2013. We were on the 2nd floor which is all non-smoking except for two rooms right by the elevator. we were in the room farthest from elevator but it smelled of stale cig. smoke. The bed covers had numerous hole, the window shades had holes. I returned to the desk and asked for some air freshener only to learn they had none. The lady gave me some Simply Green which I used on the curtains, the carpet, and the bed covers. I opened the window for several minutes to get fresh air. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Sorry you had problems with your stay. We wish you would have told someone the reason you wanted a new room. We have our third floor which has been redone and is newly renovated. We are sure you would have enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed at your Portsmouth, OH location last night and found this experience to be very unpleasant. We arrived in town for my fathers funeral and checked in around 3. After spending all evening at the funeral home and returning back to our room we found the bedding to be disgusting once the sheets were revealed. One bed had cigarette burns in the sheet and the other bed appeared to have dirty bed linens. It was late I was drained from the day so we crawled into the clean bed with cigarette burns. As we woke in the morning and went for breakfast the experience got worse. The waffle maker wasn't working properly the waffle was cooking all the way through so I closef it for a longer period only to find that the waffle was stuck once it was done. After peeling the waffle out and trying again for same results we were done with waffles. We were going to try biscuits and gravy however there was a thick crusty film ocer the top of the crock pot were they obviously had not
been stirred. So we decided to be safe and eat cereal which suprisingly was fresh. But the apple juice and then the orange juice after trying apple were both watered down to the point of being almost tasteless. I have never had a bad experience with your chain but this is by far the worst hotel experience ever. Would've been better off sleeping in our truck and going iut for breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Sorry to hear you had a bad expereince at our hotel. the waffle machine requires that you spray it before using it. The spray sits beside the machine, with a sign on the wall telling you how to make one. The gravy is fresh daily and many guest love it. We have many different items on our breakfast but it sounds as if you were wanting more of a sit down breakfast. There is a Bob Evans right down from us that serves many different selections.
Our hotel became smoke free as of December 1st, so im not sure how a burn hole slipped by us but i can assure you all of our linen is fresh and have not had a problem with burn holes. This site is intended for accurate and true reviews. We would appreciate you adhearing to the guidelines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We asked for the "non-smoking room ". It was surrounded by rooms that were labeled smoking. Not very effective. We left the next morning with us and our belongings stinking of smoke. There were seveal large cigarette burns in the comforter and stains on the blanket. The sheets smelled of bleach so I had hope for them. The comforter and blanket should have been thrown out. The bathroom was clean but no soap. The entire building smelled of smoke. The buffet was lame with very little to choose from. We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
2  Thank Smokehater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

We are sorry you had a problem with your stay. We are redoing all of our rooms and the entire hotel is non smoking as of December 2013. As far as breakfast, we have gravy and biscuts, waffles, dontuts, yougart, fresh fruit, cereal, milk, juice and cereal. and warm cinnimon rolls. Im not sure what else you could ask for. There is a Golden Corral down the road from us that has a huge buffett for a huge appeite which sort of sounds like that is what you were in need of. Thanks again for leaving feed back but the purpose of this site is to leave true and accurate feed back. Untrue remarks like yours sort of defeats the purpose of this web site. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
randyo446, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews