We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE STAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 Portsmouth
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Portsmouth
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    86
    57
    51
    36
See reviews for
117
52
27
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week and a half in Dec 2012. Close to many fine restaurants. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I worked and my husband and boxer stayed at the hotel. Staff talked with him and gave directions and recommendations on places we might like to try for dinner. No complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks we appreciate accurate response. So many people leave untrue remarks and get posted on here its so nice to have you as our guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We scheduled this stay 1 year in advance as my sister did also. We have been staying here for several years, the same weekend. Not because of River Days, but because of a family reunion. I call several months in advance to confirm the reservations as my sister does also. This year I got a call the day before (after I had called to confirm) from Super 8 wanting to know if we were going to be there. My sister got a call also, well she got about 4 calls. Super 8 told her that if she could't be there by 4:30, then they would give away her room. My sister argued with them and finally got them to agree to 6 pm. (my sister had to work on Friday and her kids had school) We drive about 2 1/2 to 3 hours to get there. When we finally arrived there, I explained to the desk what my sister had experienced and I was not happy and that this had never before. She said that this was their policy. Funny, it wasn't their policy in the past years. We rented the suite. The first night we experienced the room above us being very noisy thru the night. Finally at 4 am, we called the front desk to complain. The front desk said we were not the only ones complaining. So why did it take them to 4 am to do something. Our jetted tub did not work. The handles were stripped. There was a crack in the jetted tub. The tv in the bedroom was very old and the picture was terrible. Cracks in the bathroom floor, holes in the couch. It just doesn't look maintained. The furniture has been there for years. The couch should be a roll out, it was not. Just disappointing.

Room Tip: Call and confirm frequently. Verify whats included and whats not. Take notes of who you talked to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are sorry you had problems with your stay. We are redoing all of our rooms and will soon be fully redone. It is standard policy to call reservtions to confirm on Special Event Weekends. The day of your check in all credit cards are pre authorized and for some reason yours was declined. We cannot hold rooms without a valid credit card. The desk clerk gave you a four pm check in time as a favor. No hotel will hold a room without a valid credit card and we did as a favor because you have been here before. Please remember in the future when booking a room you can not use a credit card that will be declined. Again sorry for any misunderstanding that you may have had concearning your credit card and how reservations work. Thanks again for your feed back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown
8.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Wheelersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Piketon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
24.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ironton
22.5 mi away
Ameristay Hotel Inn & Suites Waverly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Portsmouth

Property: Super 8 Portsmouth
Address: 4266 US Route 23 North, Portsmouth, OH 45662
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
beautiful inner corridor hotel situated on HWY 23,The hotel has went through a major renovation and definitely deserves a visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Portsmouth
Portsmouth Super Eight
Portsmouth Super 8
Super 8 Portsmouth Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing