We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Stay”
Review of Super 8 Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Portsmouth
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Portsmouth
TIPP CITY
1 review
“Ok Stay”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel is fairly good. It was clean and the desk was helpful. The only thing I didn't like was the spotty wifi connection. I was on the north side of the hotel and could barely pick up the wifi. The wifi connected and disconnected alot. That was the only problem I had at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank GERGORY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randy o, Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Sorry your stay was just ok, we want everyone to have a super stay like most guest we have
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    86
    57
    51
    36
See reviews for
117
52
27
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Over all was a good stay even though we checked in at 1:30am and out at 8:00am. Staff was very friendly and rooms were accomadating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank MINNIE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thanks for you comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I had a choice between three hotels in portsmouth and i picked this one but having stayed at several other super 8's i was a bit leery at first. Some of them were not the greatest places to stay and some of them were bareable. This one was absolutly the best with there curtious service,clean rooms,breakfast every morning,and especially the pool. But the staff was the greatest thing about this hotel just by the way they treated you like you were an old friend visiting for a while. They didn't just treat you like a customer they went out of their way to make you feel at home especially when your working so far away from home. I would like to give thanks to those who were very helpful in my three month stay here. Jeremy was always cool to talk to when your up late at night and very helpful whenever you need something. Misty is the best house keeper i know, she can clean a in a matter of minute but when she's done your room is emaculate and smells great. Patricia is the greatest the way she got you in your room fast,she is always there when you have a question,if you had a problem with something in your room she would either try to fix it or she would get you in another room promptly,and she is the most wonderful person to conversate with when she has a moment to talk. I personally think that these three people are the best employees that any business that deals with the public could have. So if you wanna stay in a clean hotel with great rates and an at home atmosphere i do suggest staying at the portsmouth super 8.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank URDtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randy o, Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
thanks I appreciate it. We enjoy haveing guests like you here with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Arrived Friday afternoon labor day weekend, they let us check in early. Inspected suite. Handel on the jacuzzi was broken, Lamp in sitting area had a short in the wiring, they were aware of that and scheduled to be fixed, other than that, everything was good. Our suite was clean. Randy checked us in and was very nice and helpful in suggesting things for us to do and where to eat. Patricia was very attentive and made sure breakfast was refilled up until 9 am or after. Only suggestion would be that they have some fresh fruit or boiled eggs for us dietiers. We rebook the same room for next year.

Room Tip: This Super 8 has an indoor pool, hot tub and a customer computer in the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thanks for leaving good remaks. We appreciate it very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here Aug 28. Customer service was top notch. Both the evening and morning staffers were great and treated us as if they were genuinly glad we were there. We visited with everyone from management to housekeeping. No bed bugs as I see reported by others, in fact the room was quite clean and comfortable. Pool area was well kept and yes, the hot tub was hot. Breakfast was the "basic contenental" but, the price for all this was outstanding. If your travelling along hiway 52 this motel is a bit out of the way on the outskirts of town north on 23 but all things considered, its well worth the few extra minutes to get here. We'll be back if ever in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodeguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave us feed back on how we are doing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, MI
Level Contributor
202 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Patricia, on the desk, was very nice. The price was very acceptable. But, bedbugs in the room? I'm sorry, that is absolutely avoidable, anyone can pull up the sheets and see the evidence of them. We did get another room, which we did inspect VERY carefully because we were tired and it was late, but the general condition of the hotel is dirty and unkempt. The elevators, especially, are simply disgusting, and I had to throw away the first two waffles because of the caked-on gunk from the dirty waffle iron. Pass this place up, until the owners start taking care of this place!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Sorry you felt the need to leave such bad feed back. We do not have any problem and take caution because its guest that bring them into a hotel. Please make sure when you stay at another hotel you check your luggage before bringing it into another hotel. We have monthly service to treat and take care of any problems and it is always the guest that usually bring them in with them. Please make a note to check your luggage before staying or going to the next motel so as you wont spread them thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My stay at the super 8 was great, I was there for 6 weeks and the staff was great and very friendly. The rooms was clean and very neat, the breaksfest in the morning was a great way to start your day. I would highly recommend this Portsmouth Super 8 to anyone that is traveling or looking for a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind and good review its guest like you that leave honest feed back that make our job so rewarding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown
8.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Wheelersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Piketon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
24.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ironton
22.5 mi away
Ameristay Hotel Inn & Suites Waverly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Portsmouth

Property: Super 8 Portsmouth
Address: 4266 US Route 23 North, Portsmouth, OH 45662
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
beautiful inner corridor hotel situated on HWY 23,The hotel has went through a major renovation and definitely deserves a visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Portsmouth
Portsmouth Super 8
Portsmouth Super Eight
Super 8 Portsmouth Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing