We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Super 8 Portsmouth
Nearby Hotels
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmeriStay Hotel(Portsmouth)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Keys Motel(Portsmouth)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Royal Inn(Portsmouth)
$50
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Comfort Inn(Wheelersburg)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$120
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Inn(Piketon)
$77
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveler rating
71
86
58
51
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
86
58
51
36
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 302 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I had a choice between three hotels in portsmouth and i picked this one but having stayed at several other super 8's i was a bit leery at first. Some of them were not the greatest places to stay and some of them were bareable. This one was absolutly the best with there curtious service,clean rooms,breakfast every morning,and especially the pool. But the staff was the greatest thing about this hotel just by the way they treated you like you were an old friend visiting for a while. They didn't just treat you like a customer they went out of their way to make you feel at home especially when your working so far away from home. I would like to give thanks to those who were very helpful in my three month stay here. Jeremy was always cool to talk to when your up late at night and very helpful whenever you need something. Misty is the best house keeper i know, she can clean a in a matter of minute but when she's done your room is emaculate and smells great. Patricia is the greatest the way she got you in your room fast,she is always there when you have a question,if you had a problem with something in your room she would either try to fix it or she would get you in another room promptly,and she is the most wonderful person to conversate with when she has a moment to talk. I personally think that these three people are the best employees that any business that deals with the public could have. So if you wanna stay in a clean hotel with great rates and an at home atmosphere i do suggest staying at the portsmouth super 8.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank URDtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randy o, Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

thanks I appreciate it. We enjoy haveing guests like you here with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Arrived Friday afternoon labor day weekend, they let us check in early. Inspected suite. Handel on the jacuzzi was broken, Lamp in sitting area had a short in the wiring, they were aware of that and scheduled to be fixed, other than that, everything was good. Our suite was clean. Randy checked us in and was very nice and helpful in suggesting things for us to do and where to eat. Patricia was very attentive and made sure breakfast was refilled up until 9 am or after. Only suggestion would be that they have some fresh fruit or boiled eggs for us dietiers. We rebook the same room for next year.

Room Tip: This Super 8 has an indoor pool, hot tub and a customer computer in the lobby.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sassy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thanks for leaving good remaks. We appreciate it very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here Aug 28. Customer service was top notch. Both the evening and morning staffers were great and treated us as if they were genuinly glad we were there. We visited with everyone from management to housekeeping. No bed bugs as I see reported by others, in fact the room was quite clean and comfortable. Pool area was well kept and yes, the hot tub was hot. Breakfast was the "basic contenental" but, the price for all this was outstanding. If your travelling along hiway 52 this motel is a bit out of the way on the outskirts of town north on 23 but all things considered, its well worth the few extra minutes to get here. We'll be back if ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodeguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave us feed back on how we are doing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Patricia, on the desk, was very nice. The price was very acceptable. But, bedbugs in the room? I'm sorry, that is absolutely avoidable, anyone can pull up the sheets and see the evidence of them. We did get another room, which we did inspect VERY carefully because we were tired and it was late, but the general condition of the hotel is dirty and unkempt. The elevators, especially, are simply disgusting, and I had to throw away the first two waffles because of the caked-on gunk from the dirty waffle iron. Pass this place up, until the owners start taking care of this place!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Sorry you felt the need to leave such bad feed back. We do not have any problem and take caution because its guest that bring them into a hotel. Please make sure when you stay at another hotel you check your luggage before bringing it into another hotel. We have monthly service to treat and take care of any problems and it is always the guest that usually bring them in with them. Please make a note to check your luggage before staying or going to the next motel so as you wont spread them thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My stay at the super 8 was great, I was there for 6 weeks and the staff was great and very friendly. The rooms was clean and very neat, the breaksfest in the morning was a great way to start your day. I would highly recommend this Portsmouth Super 8 to anyone that is traveling or looking for a place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thanks so much for the kind and good review its guest like you that leave honest feed back that make our job so rewarding

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews