We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super 8, Super accomodating”
Review of Super 8 Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Portsmouth
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Portsmouth
Nebraska
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Super 8, Super accomodating”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here Aug 28. Customer service was top notch. Both the evening and morning staffers were great and treated us as if they were genuinly glad we were there. We visited with everyone from management to housekeeping. No bed bugs as I see reported by others, in fact the room was quite clean and comfortable. Pool area was well kept and yes, the hot tub was hot. Breakfast was the "basic contenental" but, the price for all this was outstanding. If your travelling along hiway 52 this motel is a bit out of the way on the outskirts of town north on 23 but all things considered, its well worth the few extra minutes to get here. We'll be back if ever in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodeguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave us feed back on how we are doing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    86
    57
    51
    36
See reviews for
117
52
27
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Haven, MI
Level Contributor
202 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Patricia, on the desk, was very nice. The price was very acceptable. But, bedbugs in the room? I'm sorry, that is absolutely avoidable, anyone can pull up the sheets and see the evidence of them. We did get another room, which we did inspect VERY carefully because we were tired and it was late, but the general condition of the hotel is dirty and unkempt. The elevators, especially, are simply disgusting, and I had to throw away the first two waffles because of the caked-on gunk from the dirty waffle iron. Pass this place up, until the owners start taking care of this place!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Sorry you felt the need to leave such bad feed back. We do not have any problem and take caution because its guest that bring them into a hotel. Please make sure when you stay at another hotel you check your luggage before bringing it into another hotel. We have monthly service to treat and take care of any problems and it is always the guest that usually bring them in with them. Please make a note to check your luggage before staying or going to the next motel so as you wont spread them thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My stay at the super 8 was great, I was there for 6 weeks and the staff was great and very friendly. The rooms was clean and very neat, the breaksfest in the morning was a great way to start your day. I would highly recommend this Portsmouth Super 8 to anyone that is traveling or looking for a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind and good review its guest like you that leave honest feed back that make our job so rewarding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed in this motel august 10 th for one night arrived home with over 300 bed bug bites all over my body stay away from this motel unless you want to be infested with bugs room 300 was where we stayed keep away!!

Room Tip: Another motel would be a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are sorry you had a bad expereince during your stay. We do not have a problem and just for your knowledge so you will be aware it is people that bring them in so besure to check your luggage before coming into a hotel so you wont spread them, We realize its not your fault when you get them but please make sure to check your belongings before staying at another hotel. Thanks again and sorry to hear that your luggage had them in it. You might want to check all the places you stayed before leaving untrue comments about our hotel thanks again,.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gahanna, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. Our daughter had a baby, and we are from Columbus, and we did not want to drive back and forth. We were very impressed with the King size room. The staff was very helpful, the room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was awesome, and the coffee is the best!

Room Tip: We chose the King size bed, the room was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thanks for leaving us feed back, we appreciate it very much its so rare these days that people take the time to leave honest feed back and we really appreciate it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I spent a couple nights at the super 8 and the lady at the front desk named Patricia was very helpful. She made us feel at home when we were away from home. She treats the guest and the company like her family. If you are looking for a nice spot to stay and to feel welcome then this is the place. She is the greatest.

Room Tip: Ask for Patricia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 614cadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
from ne and all of my staff I want to say thanks for taking the time to leave honest feedback and so glad your stay was a super one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Thanks to other reviews of this hotel, I decided it was a good place to stop for the night. I sure wasn't disappointed!! Even my husband commented on how well he slept. A nice place to stay, the breakfast was awesome, the coffee was the best! A good nights sleep and all the staff was so friendly. I would definately sleep here again!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twanger11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are glad you found your stay to be nice. we strive to make every guest feel welcome and provide a clean comfortable stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown
8.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Wheelersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Piketon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
24.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ironton
22.5 mi away
Ameristay Hotel Inn & Suites Waverly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Portsmouth

Property: Super 8 Portsmouth
Address: 4266 US Route 23 North, Portsmouth, OH 45662
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
beautiful inner corridor hotel situated on HWY 23,The hotel has went through a major renovation and definitely deserves a visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Super 8 Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Portsmouth
Portsmouth Super 8
Portsmouth Super Eight
Super 8 Portsmouth Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing