We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super nice stay and very helpful”
Review of Super 8 Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Portsmouth
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Portsmouth
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super nice stay and very helpful”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Rooms were very clean and staff was most helpful!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thanks again for your nice comments about our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    86
    57
    51
    36
See reviews for
117
52
27
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Trudy at the front desk was just as helpful as she could be giving us directions and making sure that we were very well taken care of.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I have stayed here a few times over the past 3 or 4 years. I haven't had any complaints. The rooms have always been clean and bug-free, and the staff have always been very polite and courteous. The indoor pool and jacuzzi are also nice, whenever it's not overrun by kids.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

My Husband and I are used to staying at Hiltons, so when we were invited on a triip and this was the place that was choosen, we were quite leary. I am happy to admit that the stay here was absolutly wonderful. It is a Super 8 and not a Hilton, but the accomodations are clean and comfortable. The staff is what truly makes this an uplifting experience. They are friendly and hard working. The breakfast includes fabulous waffles, and there is no way to beat the price.
We look foward to retuning.
Sincerely,
Diane Dowd
Stafford, VA

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanbeach1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

I stayed there with my spouse and it was a nice hotel for the price.. yea..needs some touch up work...but the rooms where clean and the hotel staff was nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ratethis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We have stayed at this Super 8 on several occasions and the rooms are always clean, customer service is always helpful. Free USA Today, breakfast, and wifi. It's all pretty decent for the cost. The motel is pretty clean, hallway carpets need replaced, but hallway carpet? Really? Who cares? If you are looking for a good place to stay for the price, this is it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmatt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Portsmouth is a dying town with dying hotels. This hotel isn't much different. I recently stayed in this hotel on a weekend. Seven years ago, I used this hotel for a long term stay. Back then, it was new, in a recently developed part of town. Seven years later, the adjoining grocery store is now a building supply, local restaurants are now closed down, and the area restaurants have withered away, leaving little more than a McDonald's. This area, known as Rosemount, isn't exempt from the area decay.

Little itself about the hotel has changed, including the paint, carpet, furnishings, etc. It's wearing down. However, it's still OK.

It's a typical Super 8 Hotel. The lobby was small, but did have a public internet terminal. There was also a breakfast room. The pool and hot tub off were located off the lobby, and were the best part of the hotel. Behind the hotel was a clump of picnic tables, barbecue grill, and a sandbox for guest use that were worn out and atrophied. But, the pool was OK.

The rooms were well worn, but clean. There was a table with two chairs, but no lazyboy. However, there was a micro fridge, which was helpful. The bed was OK for one night. The bathroom was small, with the sink and mirror located outside the room. It was OK for one night.

The breakfast was typical bagel, oatmeal, and cereal. I didn't partake.

Overall, it was OK for the area. It competes in the local market just fine. Because of that, I would recommend it, but I probably wouldn't be happy with the facility if it were in a more competitive area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Publius2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Portsmouth
91 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown
8.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Wheelersburg
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Piketon
39 reviews
24.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ironton
22.5 mi away
Ameristay Hotel Inn & Suites Waverly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Portsmouth

Property: Super 8 Portsmouth
Address: 4266 US Route 23 North, Portsmouth, OH 45662
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
beautiful inner corridor hotel situated on HWY 23,The hotel has went through a major renovation and definitely deserves a visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Portsmouth
Portsmouth Super 8
Portsmouth Super Eight
Super 8 Portsmouth Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing