We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun hotel right on the water”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
McMurray, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun hotel right on the water”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Quality Inn Port Clinton Ohio was great. It is pet friendly (which is why we stayed there) and also directly on the water. The front desk people were wonderful....they also have a free breakfast bar which was very nice. Lots of Green for walking pets. Beautiful deck looking over the lake. Would stay again if we come back to Port Clinton.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debski49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    62
    41
    39
    26
See reviews for
57
80
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maumee, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was with a group of 40 and did a bicycle ride from Toledo to Port Clinton called Bike to the Bay. A group of us stayed in this hotel. They were great - I would guess everyone who stayed that night was on this ride. The hotel staff was great at checking in so many people at the same time. Breakfast for all was great and a good deal. The location was great and the things you can do in the summer in Port Clinton are endless...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were very happy with our stay.

Free breakfast was great and attended very well.

Front desk personnel were very friendly.

Lakefront room was exceptional. Clean. No bugs.

Location was great for touring the area. Close to the Jet Express to Put-In-Bay (shuttle service available). Easy drive to Cedar Point, Catawba Island, Sandusky and Marblehead.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FtWayne
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights during the week of July 22nd. I had read the reviews here on Tripadvisor and would say most are the same as we experienced. We booked a lake-view room with Jacuzzi. When we got to our room and opened the door there was that smell other reviewers have mentioned. We brought along a room freshener that took care of the smell. I guess you would say the smells were from what I perceive as older damp carpeting and a sour smell emanating from the Jacuzzi tub. There was a mini fridge in the room that was in need of a good defrosting as there was about an inch or more of ice buildup inside. The placement for the Jacuzzi tub was somewhat weird. The Jacuzzi tub and shower curtains are what separated the bathroom from the main room. If you were using the toilet, others in the room would be privy to what was going on in the toilet. Another problem we experienced was with the HVAC unit. One night it was very windy outside as the wind was blowing in from the lake. The wind was literally blowing in through the HVAC unit making a howling noise reminiscent of being in Dorthy's bedroom of The Wizard of Oz during the tornado scene. This went on all night long making it difficult to sleep. We loved the outside pool and wood deck. The view is nice and it was peaceful. The morning breakfast was decent. they had muffins, doughnuts,bread and toaster. They also had fruits, a waffle iron and scrambled eggs and sausage patties. The young lady taking care of the breakfast area was very friendly and kept everything stocked. I guess you could call the room rates they charged as average for that area because of Cedar Point but I have paid less for a Comfort Suites and Clarion in other cities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank indianaflats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel has recently changed from a Comfort Inn to a Quality Inn. It was freshened up a bit but is otherwise essentially the same place as it was before, with minor differences. The hotel overall was pretty good but there were a few unfortunate glitches that took away from the overall experience. The room and bathroom were clean and the linen fit the mattresses well. The mattresses were comfortable and the towels were good quality. The showerhead was poor because the flow was so severely restricted that the pattern was weak and sparse and it took a LONG time to get decently washed off. The air conditioner also was a problem for me because the fan constantly cycled on and off with the thermostat instead of constantly running... the change in noise woke me up several times during the night. This is a "feature" that can be programmed on the unit itself by the maintenance staff but the hotel will not do it. Unfortunately the hotel still allows smoking, and the nonsmoking rooms that are closest to the smoking section get pretty saturated with unwanted smoke. The free breakfast was a pleasant surprise: scrambled eggs and sausage were available in addition to the standard cereals and bagels that most places offer.

Room Tip: If you don't like smoke, ask for a room far from the smoking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Georgia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We arrived prior to the 4th of July holiday. We received a wonderful rate and loved our room with the jacuzzi so much that we stayed through the holiday. We had no problem extending our stay even though it was a busy period for them. Breakfast was average hot breakfast but still better than continental only.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this quality in because it's no longer the comfort inn anymore last night where when I went to check in I had to press a buzzer to apparently wake up the front desk clerk. I finally get my key after 10 minutes I going to my room there's white spots all over a blue carpet got only knows what that is. I did not have a remote control for my TV my air conditioner did not work half the night. The overall experience was horrible and I recommend you do not stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YoYoManDTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Clinton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Port Clinton
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
275 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
1.1 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Port Clinton
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Port Clinton
Super 8 Port Clinton
#13 of 17 in Port Clinton
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 1723 E Perry St, Port Clinton, OH 43452-1425 (Formerly Comfort Inn Port Clinton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Port Clinton Hotel Port Clinton
Quality Inn Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing