We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Port Clinton
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Warren, United States
1 review
“Great Value”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel ended up being absolutely perfect for us. Going as a couple so we chose the Jacuzzi room which ended up being quite homely feeling to our surprise and definitely a welcoming space. The hotel itself was in a great location with lots of nearby restaurants and bars as well as great scenery, a few tourist attractions, and all the normal city life amenities. I'd definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Georgana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Best Western Port Clinton, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Port Clinton, Ohio.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you
again the next time you are in Port Clinton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    104
    60
    27
    17
See reviews for
98
92
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

my family and i stayed here on new years eve. that tells you it is winter here. there was NO heat what so ever. we told management and we got a pee warm room all night, i think it took me until Jan 3d to thaw out. there was no sense in a room being that cold. the whole place smelled like smoke. no decent service and a terrible breakfast the next morning. NEVER stay here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Best Western Port Clinton, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
I am sorry you are posting this 10 months after your stay with us.
We research all comments on Trip Advisor. So it is a little difficult
to research a comment made 10 months later.
I can say our desk clerks are trained to respond to any complaint
a guest may have in a professional manner.
It is our goal for all guests to have a nice stay with us.

We are now a Non-Smoking Motel.
We also are now serving a hot breakfast including make your own waffles,
sausage and eggs, donuts, bagels, bread, 4 types of cereal, yogurt, fruit, milk, coffee,
juices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Clinton hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

A small hotel that needs MAJOR updating. On check in, the tiny lobby smelled of smoke. Bed was uncomfortable. TV and clock radio barely worked. Room had a second entrance to the outside, which was a bit strange. I rated as average ONLY because the staff was very nice and accomodating, the price point was appropriate, and it served our basic need to have a bed and shower for one night to continue our trip. If you want nicer places to stay, look in Sandusky. You'll pay more, but it will be less of a Bates Motel feel. If you want a cheap place to stay and don't care about comfort, consider it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9999Tr_Av_El_Er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Best Western Port Clinton, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We are sorry you were disappointed with our motel. We want all our guests to have an enjoyable stay. We have many guests that enjoy our motel.
Many people like the outside entrance rooms. It is very easy to unload luggage. Then the interior door lets you into the hallway leading to the lobby.
I would not classify us as a Bates Motel. We believe in old fashion hospitality and courtesy.
In the last 2 years we have repainted the outside building. All guest rooms have been stripped
of wallpaper and painted. Hallways have been painted and new carpeting installed in hallways.
Breakfast room has been remodeled. This spring we installed granite counter tops in all guest
bathrooms.
We are constantly striving to make our motel better for our guests.
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is not a Best Western Plus by any means but is a convenient place for us when we visit family and friends in the area each year. The breakfast is typical offering of sausage, eggs, cereal, etc. The worst complaint I have is that the beds need new mattresses. A real plus is that if you book a non smoking king room on the ground floor you have convenient access to your vehicle via a door that opens from your room to the outside. That's in addition to the door opening into the hallway. Really nice in rain or snow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank AZTraveler1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Best Western Port Clinton, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are not a plus Best Western. However, we try to give our guests the service and hospitality expected at Best Westerns.
We use guest's comments to improve our motel and service.
We hope to see you again the next time you are in Port Clinton, Ohio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Ordinary basic hotel but nothing special. Rooms were comfortable enough but rather bland and looked overdue for a make-over . Motel gave impression that they were doing what they had do but not trying to do anything extra. Okay if you are just staying the night but not for any longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Best Western Port Clinton, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We welcome comments from our guests so we can improve
our motel. In the last 2 years we have stripped all guest rooms of wallpaper and rooms were painted.
Hallways have new carpet. All guest rooms have new granite countertops in the bathroom.
We have added refrigerators and microwaves to all guest rooms.
Also, our breakfast room has been remodeled.
We are in the process of replacing lighting in all bathrooms.
We strive to improve our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

I was traveling for buisness. I chose this hotel because of its location, no bed bugs and TripAdvisor reviews.

The location is great, some rooms have a lake view and the lake is just across the street. Good restaurants located close by also. When checking in, I did have an issue. There was some women sitting behind the desk using their computer. I asked if there was a hotel employee to check my in. The women mentioned that she was on break and as a courteousy she would check me in. This made me uncomfortable because it made me feel like I was inconviencing her. She was very knoweldgble about the area and told me about features of the hotel.

The room is nice with updated TV and good cleanliness. The room was located between the parking lot and inner hallway. It was very convienent to unload luggage a foot away from the door while having quick access through the second door to get to the lobby.

Good channel selection with a comfortable night sleep. This hotel would be great for families due to the large room size, while accomidating buisness or leasure travelers. I will highly rrecommend best western. Yes it may be a little worn but overall a good experience.
They had a decent selection for breakfast and checkout was quick and easy.


  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrighteousfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Best Western Port Clinton, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the nice comments. I appreciate you letting me know about the check-in incident. This will be addressed with my staff.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Ridge, Mo, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Very impressed with the Best Western in Port Clinton, Ohio. The room rate was great, the room clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was very limited but there are enough restaurants nearby to make up for that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Claudine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Best Western Port Clinton, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for staying in Port Clinton. We appreciate your business.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the positive comments.
We welcome suggestions our guests may have to improve our property.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Port Clinton
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 17 in Port Clinton
204 reviews
1.1 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Port Clinton
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Port Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Port Clinton

Property: Best Western Port Clinton
Address: 1734 E Perry St, Port Clinton, OH 43452-1426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Port Clinton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Port Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Clinton Hotel Port Clinton
Port Clinton Best Western
Best Western Port Clinton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing