We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Port Clinton
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
AZ
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is not a Best Western Plus by any means but is a convenient place for us when we visit family and friends in the area each year. The breakfast is typical offering of sausage, eggs, cereal, etc. The worst complaint I have is that the beds need new mattresses. A real plus is that if you book a non smoking king room on the ground floor you have convenient access to your vehicle via a door that opens from your room to the outside. That's in addition to the door opening into the hallway. Really nice in rain or snow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank AZTraveler1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Best Western Port Clinton, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are not a plus Best Western. However, we try to give our guests the service and hospitality expected at Best Westerns.
We use guest's comments to improve our motel and service.
We hope to see you again the next time you are in Port Clinton, Ohio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    103
    59
    24
    16
See reviews for
93
90
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Ordinary basic hotel but nothing special. Rooms were comfortable enough but rather bland and looked overdue for a make-over . Motel gave impression that they were doing what they had do but not trying to do anything extra. Okay if you are just staying the night but not for any longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Best Western Port Clinton, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We welcome comments from our guests so we can improve
our motel. In the last 2 years we have stripped all guest rooms of wallpaper and rooms were painted.
Hallways have new carpet. All guest rooms have new granite countertops in the bathroom.
We have added refrigerators and microwaves to all guest rooms.
Also, our breakfast room has been remodeled.
We are in the process of replacing lighting in all bathrooms.
We strive to improve our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

I was traveling for buisness. I chose this hotel because of its location, no bed bugs and TripAdvisor reviews.

The location is great, some rooms have a lake view and the lake is just across the street. Good restaurants located close by also. When checking in, I did have an issue. There was some women sitting behind the desk using their computer. I asked if there was a hotel employee to check my in. The women mentioned that she was on break and as a courteousy she would check me in. This made me uncomfortable because it made me feel like I was inconviencing her. She was very knoweldgble about the area and told me about features of the hotel.

The room is nice with updated TV and good cleanliness. The room was located between the parking lot and inner hallway. It was very convienent to unload luggage a foot away from the door while having quick access through the second door to get to the lobby.

Good channel selection with a comfortable night sleep. This hotel would be great for families due to the large room size, while accomidating buisness or leasure travelers. I will highly rrecommend best western. Yes it may be a little worn but overall a good experience.
They had a decent selection for breakfast and checkout was quick and easy.


  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrighteousfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Best Western Port Clinton, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the nice comments. I appreciate you letting me know about the check-in incident. This will be addressed with my staff.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Ridge, Mo, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Very impressed with the Best Western in Port Clinton, Ohio. The room rate was great, the room clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was very limited but there are enough restaurants nearby to make up for that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Claudine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Best Western Port Clinton, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for staying in Port Clinton. We appreciate your business.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the positive comments.
We welcome suggestions our guests may have to improve our property.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, New York, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Okay experience. The room was fine. The bed was not comfortable. We kept rolling to the center of the bed!! The breakfast was non-existent. We ended up going to a local restaurant for breakfast even though we were told that there would be a breakfast provided at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Best Western Port Clinton, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Port Clinton, Ohio.
We appreciate your comments.
We serve breakfast from 6AM to 10AM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

In Port Clinton for class reunion visit. Had stayed here before so was aware of their good and bad attributes. The room was large and a real plus was that our room opened into the main corridor as well as to the parking area so we were able to park right by our door. Makes carrying luggage in and out a breeze. The breakfast was nothing spectacular--the usual budget motel offering. The staff was wonderful--both the desk and housekeepers. The bed wasn't the most comfortable and could probably warrant replacement. Lots of very good local restaurants in the area with fresh local fish. Convenient location is a real plus.

Room Tip: The king non-smoking rooms on the ground floor are super convenient. They open to the main corridor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZTraveler1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Best Western Port Clinton, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Port Clinton, Ohio.
We appreciate your comments. We use your comments to improve our
property for you and other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Thomas, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

It's not a Marriott/Fairfield or a Hampton but you'll pay the same price. If you travel with dogs, it works out fine. They're pet friendly. Wo'rst complimentary breakfast, ever. Very poor quality. Limited selections. Best part was a bowl of cereal and Dannon yogurt. Those items are pretty standard everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Best Western Port Clinton, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business.
I am sorry you were disappointed in our breakfast. We have 2 types of juices, coffee, tea, milk, donuts, bagels,bread, sausage and eggs, 4 types of cereal, yogurt, fruit and make you own waffles.
We hope you will come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Clinton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Port Clinton
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 17 in Port Clinton
202 reviews
1.1 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Port Clinton
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Port Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Port Clinton

Property: Best Western Port Clinton
Address: 1734 E Perry St, Port Clinton, OH 43452-1426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Port Clinton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Port Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Clinton Hotel Port Clinton
Port Clinton Best Western
Best Western Port Clinton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing