We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal due to off season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Port Clinton
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Very friendly employees at reception desk. Great deal since off season. Clean room with amny extras (e.g., safe, refirgerator, etc.). Continental breakfast was standard plus waffle maker. Definitely stay there again.


  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Best Western Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for staying with us in Port Clinton, Ohio.
We are glad your stay with us was enjoyable.
We certainly appreciate your business and look forward
to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 284 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

I Choose To Stay At Best Western Cause I Like The Location N Heard It Was A Good Stay, However For Me It Wasn't The Best Stay.. When I Check In I Explained To The Clerk That I Booked Online And It Posted To The Checking Account. She Then Said I Don't Know How It Did That When She Didn't Charge Me.She Had An Attitude When I Spoke To Her Therefore I Don't Think I Will Be Staying There Again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Best Western Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

I hope you will come back and stay with us.
The type of reservation you made was made through
Best Western International not directly with us.
Best Western may have tested your credit card for
$1.00 to validate your credit card. However, the individual
hotel charges the credit card for the stay.
We did not charge your card until you arrived.
We tried to explain this to you and offered for you to
show us the charge on line. You declined and stated
you would take it up with your bank if there was a problem.
We want our guests to have a nice, pleasant stay with us.
I am sorry if our attitude was not pleasant. We hope you will come back
again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank VIC H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jane S, Manager at Best Western Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a good experience here. My Mom always stays here when visiting Grandma. The outward appearance wasnt the best though. So I trusted my Mom, and had one of the best nights of sleep I have had in awhile. The room was nice and clean. The breakfast was good, nothing special but had options such as waffles, eggs and four different cereals.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, Manager at Best Western Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We welcome all comments to help us improve our guest's stay with us. We look forward to serving your future hospitality needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a nice old hotel on the southern end of Port Clinton. We stayed off season and took advantage of their great off season rates. For $52 plus tax we had a nice spotless room with two comfortable double beds, microwave, fridge, good flatscreen cable, decent wi-fi plenty of peace and quiet and a good continental breakfast. The weather was unseasonably warm for december and we enjoyed a little shopping in the quaint downtown area about a half mile north of the hotel. Can't do much better for the $.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lostilleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, Manager at Best Western Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The Off season is a nice time to come to Port Clinton. As you stated the rates are great. There are many restaurants for
a nice breakfast, lunch or dinner. Even the Marblehead lighhouse is a beautiful scene in the snow. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I had planned a wonderful week in the Hudson Valley area of New York. Our stay was to include staying at Castle on the Hudson and spending Halloween at Sleepy Hollow, but hurricane Sandy changed those plans. So, Saturday, 10-27-12, we headed west from Rochester, NY to find sunshine and no rain. Our destination was Chicago. We had a wonderful sunny week in Chicago. On our way back home to Rochester we decided to stop in Port Clinton for the night. We had been there many years ago and had enjoyed our time at Put In Bay and Perry's Monument. On 11-1-12, we checked in at the Best Western Port Clinton for the night. The young lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Since November is the off season for Port Clinton she gave us her full attention. She walked us down to our first floor room. It was only 5 doors down from the lobby. The room was very clean. She asked if we needed anything. I requested 2 additional pillows. Within 5 minutes she had delivered the extra pillows. She explained that the free continental breakfast was from 6am to 10am, but she also pointed out that if we wanted a full breakfast the Big Boy across the street was very good. We asked for a dinner place and she suggested Phil’s next door. Good Italian cooking and reasonable prices. She was right we had a delicious 14 inch custom made pizza for under $10.00.
Since we had a first floor room there was a back door entrance in the room that lead to the back parking lot. That would be handy if you didn’t want to pull your luggage through the front lobby. The room had a quiet heater fan. The king size bed was comfortable. My husband and I cuddled up on the comfortable sofa and watched a movie on the nice flat screen TV with HD cable stations. The only negative thing was that we did smell cigar smoke for about 15 minutes. Our room was non-smoking, but apparently next door to our room was a smoking room. The room price was $67.00 per night but we asked for an AAA discount and received $6.50 off that price. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a non-smoking room make sure to ask how far away are the smoking rooms to your non-smoki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetomunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, Manager at Best Western Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went on the rating being 2 1/2 don't believe that lucky if its a 1 1/2, Rooms are so basic it make you do a double take NO FRILLLS HERE. Carpet is so dirty you will wanted to wear your shoes. Breakfast in the morning could be from a gas station take out. small, but basic. On to the better part ,they offer shuttle to jet express, The driver couldn't have been nicer then he was. Gave super advice on where to eat and what to see. We gave him the time we were coming back and there he was sitting and waiting for us. To me that is service and worth staying at there.

Room Tip: you have to carry you luggage up the stair if you get second floor, but you have no noise over head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pansey43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, Manager at Best Western Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We are always interested in our guest concerns and recommendations. We take your comments seriously to help us to improve. We look
forward to serving your future hospitality needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 17 in Port Clinton
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#14 of 17 in Port Clinton
208 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
398 reviews
1.1 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Port Clinton
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Port Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Port Clinton

Address: 1734 E Perry St, Port Clinton, OH 43452-1426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range: $74 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Port Clinton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Port Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Clinton Hotel Port Clinton
Port Clinton Best Western
Best Western Port Clinton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing