We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Five Bells Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Clinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Five Bells Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Port Clinton B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Five Bells Inn adjacent to Lake Erie during the "Biggest Week in American Birding." The hospitality of our hosts was great. They provided early breakfast (6:30 a.m.) for us and other birders. The grounds are very attractive and well-kept. There is an active Bald Eagle nest on the property, as well as a pond with Mute Swans and Wood Ducks. Our room was clean, comfortable and private. Overall it was a pleasant and relaxing place for us to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    6
    1
    2
    7
See reviews for
5
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

What a fantastic place. Wonderful setting. Great hospitality. I could not have asked for a more beautiful and warm place to propose to my bride!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djackson_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

The web site did not explain that there is a main house and two add'l cottages. One has 3sep. Rooms and the other is the fam. cot. We chose (against better judgement) the fam cott for convenience. It had a very moldy smell and the shower was not mildew free. The owners were very friendly, but they really need to consider uping the cleanliness considering the location. I wish I could give it better ratings, but I will not stay here again. The rate ($200) also seemed very high for the accommodations without breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2_IL_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James J, Owner at The Five Bells Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2015
Hello -
We apologize that your experience with us was not up to your expectations!

We have made many updates to the unit you stayed in (well, all of our units), and are working very hard to make sure the suites are all clean, fresh, and free of any unpleasant odors.

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention - we take your comments seriously, and will continue striving to provide the best possible accommodations for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Even though we didn't fit their typical "romantic couple" customer profile, Jerry and Eileen welcomed my sisters, our families and me without a quibble. The breakfasts were tasty, the rooms were comfy, clean and nicely decorated, and the Jarcs were wonderful hosts. The setting was lush and beautiful, with shade trees and flowers and lots of great places to sit and relax. The access to Lake Erie, combined with the Jarcs' grass "beach", made it the perfect weekend, all the way around.

Room Tip: Tell Eileen and Jerry what you're looking for, and they'll guide you to the perfect choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife and I had never stayed at a bed and breakfast prior to our great night at The Five Bells. the accommodations were clean and cozy. the location was terrific and offered a great view of the lake. Jerry and Eileen were wonderful. we felt very comfortable and welcome from the moment we walked in the door.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaraAndAndyBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Our two stays at The Five Bells Inn were satisfying to the MAX. Our hosts Jerry and Eileen are the epitome of hospitipal innkeepers. The nature preserve adds to the pleasure of the stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anjama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

We reserved a room for four nights in June. Talking to the owner on the phone and looking at the information on their website would lead you to believe this is the perfect place for a romantic get-away. After a 10.5 hour drive, we arrived and were greeted by the owners and shown to our "room" - a dirty duplex/bungalow next to a stale lagoon. The room smelled musty and dank, there were cobwebs on the ceiling and walls, the bed was broken on one side, the throw pillows had saliva stains (at least I hope that's what they were) on them, there were mosquitoes and other large flying insects in the room and the lock on the door was almost impossible to work. We tried spending the night, but after 15 minutes, my girlfriend said she'd rather sleep in the car than spend another minute in this place and grabbed her stuff and went to the car. We left (there are no lights around the bungalows, so we had to navigate to the car in complete darkness) and spent the night at a hotel in town. The next day, we drove back to the house and let the owners know that we were cancelling our reservation and explained why. They listened to the complaints and apologized, but acted surprised at the description of the conditions. For $150 per night, you should expect - and deserve - much better than this. We did not stick around for breakfast. If the "rooms" were this dirty, we weren't taking any chances on the kitchen.

Room Tip: If you have any
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CaTaMoBaRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James J, Owner at The Five Bells Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2015
Let us apologize again for your experience at the Five Bells!

We have made many improvements to the units you stayed in - the cottages have been completely renovated, and we are very proud of their cleanliness and charm. We are also constantly changing out furniture and linens to make sure each guest has a comfortable stay in our suites.

We also make every effort to keep the suites clean and fresh. Because our cottages are located near a wetland and wooded area, we realize that we need to check and recheck for cobwebs.

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention - we will continue working to make our suites clean, fresh, and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clinton
4.1 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
4.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#12 of 17 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
3.9 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
5.5 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Five Bells Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Five Bells Inn

Property: The Five Bells Inn
Address: 2766 E Sand Rd, Port Clinton, OH 43452-2743
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic bed and breakfast on the shores of Lake Erie. Western-facing sunset views put this B&B above the rest in the area. Every suite has a private bath, and the breakfasts are the best on the island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Five Bells Inn Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing