We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value In The Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Commodore Perry Inn and Suites
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I chose to stay in Port Clinton while visiting Put In Bay, a resort destination on an island in Lake Erie. This was a much more economical choice than the extremely expensive lodgings on the island during peak tourist season. This hotel is walking distance to the high speed ferry, Jet Express, and my room had a beautiful view of the lake. The clerk at the reception desk was most helpful and informative. He told me he had a room away from the on-site restaurant and bar, which would be quiet, and it was, completely so. He also recommended the restaurant on the beach, across the street, also owned by this hotel. That also proved to be an excellent suggestion. My room was perfectly adequate, clean and comfortable, and I appreciated the fridge. If I'm ever in this area again I will definitely choose the Commodore Perry.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room away from the in-house bar/restaurant if you want peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 105 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Even though there were No Smoking signs posted everywhere, our room and whole floor smelled like smoke.There is a loud bar attached to the hotel and one across the street. Even with the medication I have to help me sleep and a noise machine, I still heard the people above us and the music, not to mention the people going up and down the hall trying the door handles. One guy tried to push his way in our door at 2:00 in the morning. He was drunk and looking for his friend apparently. We should have known something was not right when there is a huge sign posted on the front desk counter that says "We are not responsible for our guests actions". Would never stay there again. And for the price, it definitely wasn't worth it. I do have to say that the room was relatively comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: If you stay here, try to ask for the 3rd floor. Other people we know who stayed there said that floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jnifr31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Thin walls, with old creeky bed, though the TVs in rooms new and the staff was nice. Fridge & micro in rooms they also have a cold indoor pool. Bar is on property so that can be good or bad depending on who you are. We've stayed here annually for many years but now the price is so high we'll look for another place. Check my pics out to see the view out our window for $109.95 plus taxes and fees, and this was on a Weds. eve. Also breakfast has got very little choices, no yorgart or waffles, but it served till ten.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Diamond3650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Port Clinton, Ohio is on the banks of Lake Erie, this area of Ohio offers sooooo many things to do and see. If we don't stay across the street on the beach at Beachfront Resort, this is the next best thing. The Commodore Perry Inn and Suits is owned by the same people, the location can't be beat. And the rates are much cheaper. Walk able to the ferry to the islands, food, charter boats, beach, beach bar and Mr. Eds. Mr. Eds is a sports bar in the hotel, and it offers live music 2-3 per week. Indoor Pool ( although never swam there.. not my thing)
Commodore offers free breakfast, plenty of parking and access to their private beach right across the street. People are nice, the hotel is pretty decent and the rates are fair. Cheaper during the week and before the vacation season a room can be had for around $60 bucks.
Pros: super location, possible to park your car and not drive again for a couple of days, reasonable rates, good food and music on site, beach 20 yards away, charter boats and ferry next door, fish cleaning.
Cons: Lake Erie and this area is a "party" spot so yes it is not a luxury hotel, some wear and tear, could be loud if room is near the bar/music

Room Tip: Get north end of building away from music/bar Top floors, most water views ( across the street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeffCentervilleOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is very much a pre- or post- Put In Bay hotel. It sits on a makeshift boatyard very close to the jet express, but offers very little by way of entertainment or draw. The non-smoking room smelled awful and linens could use an upgrade. Price was too high, considering the season. I suggest staying here either before or after a more comfortable destination, or as a last resort.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KaraGoodyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here upon the suggestion of some birding friends who have been there before. Prices were a bit higher than expected, but everything was fine, in my opinion. It was clean, well lit and the front staff was nice and helpful when we needed them. Breakfast was a bit on the light side, but it was at least something to get our day started. The room was nice but the bathroom was small. All of our groups toilets flushed very slowly. Had a trickling shower head, but the water was hot and was sufficient. We didn't eat at the restaurant at the hotel, but considered the one across the street, but didn't visit it either.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChadKauffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Located across the street from Lake Erie, the Commodore offers excellent food, great service and top notch entertainment! Attached to the hotel is "Mr Ed's", a fun club that has great bands. In the summer you can walk across the street to Docks Beachside, a favorite summer visit on the North Coast. Always fun at either! Nearby is the Jet Express to the Islands!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giddyupdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
0.0 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
72 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
398 reviews
0.5 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Port Clinton
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Perry Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Perry Inn and Suites

Address: 255 W Lakeshore Dr, Port Clinton, OH 43452-9477
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range: $68 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Commodore Perry Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Commodore Perry Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Perry Hotel Port Clinton
Commodore Perry Inn And Suites Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing