We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service, good breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Underwood's Fine Foods - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Underwood's Fine Foods
Cuisines: American, Diner, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly service, good breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

When we learned that our hotel only had cold cereal and lukewarm coffee for breakfast we headed to downtown Port Clinton. Fortunately, we found Underwood's. They were celebrating their first anniversary and we were greeted at the door by the owner. Seems to be the kind of place where everyone knows one another -- and comes often to enjoy a good meal.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MentorGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A local favorite; The Tourists love it too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Bob Underwood, who founded the restaurant was a great restauranteur and caterer for most of his 90 years. The Lake Erie Perch and Walleye are always good at Underwoods.

It's not fancy, just good food.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place for breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I stopped in for a quick breakfast. Our server was very kind and the breakfast was good! Will stop again if we are in the area.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron Ohio USA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Underwood's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

It's a small local place with average food at a decent price.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“strap on the feed bag, it's breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Always hit this place for breakfast on the way out of town and never disappointed. Newer owners are very attentive and waitstaff couldn't do enough to make sure we were satisfied. Recommend the sausage gravy and bisquits. I enjoyed the oatmeal and thick slices of toast with Smuckers jam. Could use some updating, but if the food is more important, stop in.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vegasdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Underwood's Fine Foods also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing