We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERSEVERE TO FIND BUT WHAT A FIND!”
Review of Ciao Bella

Ciao Bella
Ranked #1 of 77 Restaurants in Port Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“PERSEVERE TO FIND BUT WHAT A FIND!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

CIAO BELLA is a wonderful Italian restaurant in a deserted shopping area.
The location is right on and off Rt 2. IF you live in the area or are making a trip o the islands, be sure to stop here for lunch or dinner. It is right on rt 53. Follow the sign into the area and around several turns, sign by sign till you find it. It is also near 2 budget hotels should you decided to stay and explore the area.
We stopped in for lunch on our way back from Kelley's Island.
It has an extensive menu with many items homemade.
We tried 2 soups, the white bean and the cream of roasted vegetable. Both were excellent.
We also tried the Frutti di mare and the shrimp pasta. We were not disappointed.
Both were a generous portion with excellent size and quality seafood baked to perfection.
The bread, wonderfully crusty or herb focaccia. The bread is served with an herb oil but
just a request for cheese, brought the waitress shredding fresh parmesan.
The wine list is extensive and they also have Prosseco and a selection of bottled beer.
At lunch, you can order the "pick two". Unlimited homemade soup or salad and a pasta or sandwich from a long list of interesting possibilities. What a deal for quality Italian fare.
There are many more dishes I want to try from this menu. We must return.
I only regret they are not closer to home.
The interior was a little dark for daytime lunch and A/C a little chilly. We ate on the lovely terrace over looking the pond and fountain. The server and hostess were very friendly and aimed to please. This is not your pizza place with a dew pasta dishes, This is a definite full menu Italian
Restaurant. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j25aj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    82
    30
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adrian, Michigan
1 review
“A gem”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Drove two hours after reading review in Toledo Blade. We were not disappointed. Food was excellent. Waitress attentive but not intrusive. Lovely setting on patio. Bonus..left my glasses at table and were mailed to me the next day! Will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pug65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Our first time.....yummy....we'll be back!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is a fairly new restaurant and we really loved it. They have so many home-made items on the menu - they even make their own mozzarella cheese! The Mediterranean salad was wonderful. We had a veal dish and pasta - everything was wonderful. We sat outside with the man-made pond and fountain nearby - great atmosphere and great food - we will be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ds521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rittman, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Spending the weekend in Port Clinton with a friend looking for someplace to have dinner she suggested we stop here. She had heard of the place but had not been. Our server was Jamey and he explained the menu to us and suggested the Spiedini di Pesce. Iron seared scallops and shrimp with whole wheat Israeli vegetable cous-cous, basil pine nut pesto and balsamic reduction. It was WONDERFUL! Great bread is served at your table with olive oil & spices on a plate to dip in. So glad we decided to give it a try.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Cumberland, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“I'd definitely eat here again!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Service - Devon was our server. She was professional and not at all flustered by the amount of tables she had even though we could see she was very busy.

Food - My husband had the osso boco and he loved it! I had the Tuesday night special. For one price a server will come around every few minutes and give you a sample of a different pasta that the chef has just come up with. That was alot of fun and delicious.

Atmosphere - We sat on the patio. What a beautiful night.

We will come back when we visit Port Clinton and recommend this place to our friends!

Thanks for a wonderful evening!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank padreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ciao Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing