We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place! I can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ciao Bella

Ciao Bella
Ranked #1 of 72 Restaurants in Port Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place! I can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Nice wine selection, excellent atmosphere, very good food, large portions, servers that know what they are doing. We were here twice; once in October and and once in November. The risotto was delicious, if you like a well prepared risotto, order this! The shrimp and steak skewers were equally delicious, as was the Lasagna! Prices are similar to italian chain restaurants, but the food is so much better!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wineofoodjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    70
    28
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Piqua, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Tried the restaurant for the first time while at our summer home for the last time of the season. Had an excellent meal. Try the bacon wrapped dates, best appetizer I have ever tasted. Keep up the good work and we will be back next season. On a side note, this place is a little hard to find so ask for directions.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank echojames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara A, Owner at Ciao Bella, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We are so happy you were able to make it to Ciao Bella before the end of the season. The Bacon Wrapped Dates is the most popular appetizer on our menu, we're glad you enjoyed them! Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dont follow website”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

there wed site has little to no offerings. the directions take you 10 min. west to Port Clinton. the menu does not come up and they offer no wine or liquor to serve with your dinner. once we found the place dinner was average and priced accordingly. it seams as though they are trying to have chef quality food but it is just not there. I would say better than chains but not a place to seek out. Osso Bucco was tender but rossoto not done properly. chicken marsala very tender. flourless cake very good. this is all I have to report at this time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara A, Owner at Ciao Bella, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Christopher. Thank you for taking the time to review Ciao Bella. We wanted to correct a couple of statements you made, however. We are aware of GPS not taking customers to our address, and we are working with them to fix this issue, so until then we have posted directions to the restaurant on our website, please see the Location and Hours tab. We also checked the menu tab on our website to assure it was working properly and found no issues. Most importantly, you indicated we do not offer wine or liquor. We have a full service bar…beer, liquor and wine. We proudly offer over 75 types of wines which were personally selected by us to complement our menu. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your Osso Bucco, Chicken Marsala and our very popular Flourless Cake. I would like to hear from you, to see what you didn’t like about the risotto so that we can take your comments to our Chef. We are certainly always looking for ways to improve our guests’ experience. You may email me directly at Barbara@ciaobellaohio.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port clinton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Not sure what all the fuss is about. We have been here 3 different times. The first was their first week open so we didn't expect that things would be running real smooth. But waiting over 25 minutes for someone to take our drink order was a bit excessive. Several servers were by and saw us but apparently we weren't in their section. And after 1.5 hours of being there we got out food and it was just ok. Nothing special. We decided to give it another try and the service was better but the food remained just average. I guess we just expected a little more since the people who own this also own Nagoya, but have been disappointed thus far...will try again, but not anytime soon

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandy8-1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara A, Owner at Ciao Bella, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello Mandy
Thank you for taking the time to review our new restaurant. We are terribly concerned that you feel we are nothing special; we would love the opportunity to get more specific details of your experience at Ciao Bella so that we can take the necessary steps to fix the issue. If you have the time, please email me directly at Barbara@ciaobellaohio.com. We absolutely acknowledge there were a few hiccups at the opening, but we feel we have worked very hard to assure our staff is trained and continues to provide some of the best service this area has to offer. We hope that you reconsider and give Ciao Bella another opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great service, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I wish this place was closer to home! The menu selections are creative and delicious. Everything from lighter fare to full gormet type meals.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Getme0uttaOhi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara A, Owner at Ciao Bella, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Ciao Bella. We are so glad you enjoyed your dinner with us. Chef Paul takes great pride in combing traditional Italian cuisine along with the American style we have all grown accustomed to. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ciao Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing