We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“o my carrot cake”

1812 Food & Spirits
Ranked #11 of 77 Restaurants in Port Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Marblehead, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“o my carrot cake”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Best meal in the Port Clinton area hands down. From the salad with the homemade celery seed dressing, the wonderful bread and triple lobster tail dinner. The house made carrot cake was out of this world as was the service. This is a great addition to the downtown area. Finally someone has it right. This place has the highest of the class. A ++++ rating.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    54
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sandusky, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch at the 1812”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Lunch at the 1812 restaurant located in the old historic Island House Hotel...what a treat! Our meal were served hot and fast. Server Brenda was excellent. The old historic setting makes for a cozy atmosphere. Must haves are the prime rib rolls and the reuben sandwich and the homemade carrot cake which is be enough for 4 people. A definite must when visiting Port Clinton. We will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anothony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our "supper club".”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My wife and I are in Port Clinton from out of state every weekend year round. Having dinner at 1812 Restaurant is a pivotal part of our weekend. From the moment you walk through their door and begin to look around, you are immediately taken back to a time in history that defined class and elegance. You are immediately welcomed by their professional staff who make it clear that you are V.I.P. Mary at the bar has to be one of the best bar tenders in the Port Clinton area having a long history of quality service in the area over the years. Kevin Lowe, the general manager, has a fine tuned staff that functions like a machine yet emphasizes personal service. Our two favorites are the 1812 Chicken and the Chicken Marsala (Chef Terry has the best marsala sauce we have ever had). And did I mention the desserts? Quite an impressive wine list and the best selection of single malt scotch that I have seen anywhere in this area. Definitely worth your trip to Port Clinton. This has become our supper club and we like the way we feel when we are there. Larry R.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Clinton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best liver and onions in the world”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

best philly cheesesteak soup to start, then liver and onions to die for. Every time I go to the 1812 room( located in the island house) I want to try something else, but I can't pass on the liver. I also had the sauerkraut balls for an app, also the best. Go there and you'll LOVE IT! Love the bartender, Mary- Simply THE BEST!!!!!!! Try the early bird specials!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Clinton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service & atmosphere”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is a historic hotel with a great restaurant in downtown Port Clinton. The food is always delicious. Whatever you order, also get the 1812 salad or the French onion soup. The menu has big selection as does the list of appetizers. It is one of those places that you always return to for another good meal. They serve light lunches also. Any time of day is right the right time to enjoy a meal at the Island House.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1812 Food & Spirits also viewed

 
Port Clinton, OH
 

Been to 1812 Food & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing