We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is a disgrace.”

Bootleggers Waterfront Grille and Bar
Ranked #47 of 73 Restaurants in Port Clinton
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This place is a disgrace.”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I cannot even begin to explain how terrible we were treated at this place. The waitress, the hostess, the OWNER, they were the most rude individuals our crew had encountered on our visit to Port Clinton. We did not stay to eat they food, but heard it was overpriced from the people outside. This place acted as the final factor in our teams decision not to bring our tournament business back to port Clinton next year. I can testify that this restaurant is not interested in your business.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kimme071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    20
    15
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Way too expensive for food and service, paying for location”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Dined there 5-4 for lunch. This place is hideously overpriced. I ordered the supposedly 1/2lb burger and fries ($14) and frankly it would be way overpriced at $7. Absolutely no grilled or charbroiled flavor, and 1/2 was raw while other half was medium. Server never came back to check on up. Companion had a the grilled chicken salad ($17). Precooked Sysco Food Service chicken breast on top of bagged salad mix with 3 green and hard grape tomatoes and a hardboiled egg.
The view of the water would be great, except the patio is dead next to the location where fishermen queue up for a walk on head boat that operates out of the bait shop next door. Loud, obnoxious, distracting.
There are MUCH better choices in the area for dining, and all are more reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank bomar76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Clinton, Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The Time Passes Faster than the River”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Bootleggers is not so much about the food, which is good, but more about spending your time with friends. Drive in or Boat in, either way as you sit and munch your food the Portage River flows by and the time will be gone without you knowing. We like to sit and watch the boat traffic and have appetizers with a drink or three. The food is not cheap yet it isn't just about the food. Yes, you can get a Wendy's burger for less and watch the highway traffic; just like at home.

The service is spotty but gets better as the season goes on. The servers are friendly and will help with the menu choices. I don't know about reservations because we just drive up and go in. Sometimes there is a wait but you can walk the river while you wait.

Stop, have a beer, order munchies, a burger or a steak and enjoy yourself.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pwberndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Clinton, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Too Darn Expensive”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I think we spent about $14.00 for a hamburger that we could have gotten across the street at Wendy's for about $6.00. Nice view, but not worth the price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nightshade013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We ran across this great restaurant on the waterfront in Port Clinton. What a nice quiet place with great food for an intimate dinner. Have been back twice. The staff are great, and the ambiance is great on a summer evening for in Ohio. Made you feel like your were sitting at the waterside in Fl.
Highly recommend it. Not inexpensive but well worth it. Enjoy

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daisylover927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bootleggers Waterfront Grille and Bar also viewed

 
Port Clinton, OH
Port Clinton, OH
 

Been to Bootleggers Waterfront Grille and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing