We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend”
Review of Our Sunset Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Clinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Our Sunset Place
Ranked #1 of 10 Port Clinton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for a weekend. There were no guests, so we had the house to ourselves. The house itself is pretty nice. The room we had was very nice, with a Tempurpedic mattress and flatscreen with plenty of channels to choose from if you just want to hang out. You get a platter and bottle of wine with a 2 night stay that were also enjoyable. The house is right on the lake with a great view. The hot tub is very large and has a feature that allows you to swim against a 'current' it produces. There are white Christmas lights hanging up around the hot tub. The breakfasts are tasty and filling. The only disappointment was the game room. On the website, it lists a game room with a giant tv, wii, etc. However, it is a garage that is filled with other things, not permitting use of any of the games. Overall, it was a good experience and I would return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiirn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 105 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Our Sunset Place in January 2013. We were the only guest at that time. The view of Lake Erie from the location on Catawba Island (actually a peninsula) was great. The price for a room in the winter was very reasonable. On the down side, the area under the patio was cluttered and unattractive.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCOhio31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our Sunset Place is on a spectacular piece of property right on Lake Erie with many places to sit outside to enjoy the view, read and relax. The large outdoor hot tub is one of those which includes the 'swim against the current' feature. The property also offers a pool table. Bart and Sandy are welcoming hosts and attentive to your every want and gave us some special touches since it was our 10th anniversary. The breakfasts were delicious. Breakfast is served at 9:00 with everyone sitting down at once which was new to me. A two night stay includes a complimentary bottle of wine and meat and cheese platter. The bathroom in our room downstairs had 10 shower heads and a towel warming rack! It is within walking distance to Mon Ami Restaurant which was so good, we went twice. We took a trip on the JetExpress and spent the day walking around Put-In-Bay.

Room Tip: Three of the rooms are wonderful, the Herring Room is a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank GreetingsFromMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a fabulous house on Lake Erie. There are two bedrooms upstairs and two downstairs. Be sure to take the virtual tour on the website. It gives an accurate view of the rooms and the outside areas.The bathrooms are beautiful and quite unique.
The views are stunning from the deck, and in good weather, the breakfast is served there. We had a downstairs room that led out to a nice common patio with a spa--it was one of those that you could actually exercise in--a good workout!
Sandy and Bart are such welcoming hosts, and know the area quite well. Breakfasts were great, and since we stayed for two nights, we received a bottle of wine, and a meat and cheese tray.
We stayed the weekend of the Marblehead Lighthouse Festival, and the Port Clinton Bed and Breakfast Association Wine Tour. Both were wonderful events. This B & B is close to the Miller Ferry, which goes over to Put-in-Bay. It is also close to MonAmi Winery--a good place to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dec49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Bart and Sandy were fabulous! They were very attentive and welcoming. I feel we've made new friends and will definitely return to visit. Excellent breakfast of fresh fruit, cinnamon French toast with peach compote, bacon and warm muffins - YUM!
They were very attentive to all our needs, providing plenty of information on local restaurants, attractions and transportation, and being sure we had everything we needed during our stay.
We had the most spacious bedroom, with our own balcony looking over the lake...quite lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank E N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 17 in Port Clinton
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
401 reviews
4.1 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Port Clinton
126 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our Sunset Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our Sunset Place

Address: 2803 E Sand Rd, Catawba Island, Port Clinton, OH 43452-2744
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Port Clinton
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Our Sunset Place Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing