We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a Great Time!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of African Safari Wildlife Park

African Safari Wildlife Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Drive-through safari park features more than 100 acres of land where hundreds of rare and exotic animals roam free in simulated settings.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Northwest Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Had a Great Time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I and my two teen step-children visited the Park this summer. I had free tickets and was going to be in the area, so it was a perfect time to see the animals. I had never been there so wasn't sure what to expect, but we all enjoyed it very much. Even my difficult to impress teens had a great time! They loved how the animals would come directly up to the car and eat from the cups. We saw a variety of animals. We also visited the small zoo by foot and enjoyed that as well. The food was pricey, and the admission price can be also, so I would suggest Groupon for really good discounts. The animals really can scuff and scratch your car, so be aware of that. All in all, a great visit! I would go back again if I had discount tickets.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kady39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASWPASWP, Public Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you had such a great time and that we were able to impress the teenagers as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon!!!!

Like us on Facebook for a chance to win free passes to the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    263
    110
    40
    36
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin Ohio
Level Contributor
397 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“most of the animals were behind fences when we went”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We drove for hours and expected more animals to be roaming free .. .hated see so many behind fences and in areas small and dusty
Most of the animals were behind fences ... the buffalow, zebras, giraffes, those cows with the crazy big horns, most all the "exotic" animals. Since the pics and name give you the impression the "african" animals are loss this was very disappointing. this is not what we expected from the name of the place or the pics in the advertisements. The giraffes stretched their neck through our car window and fed from the car ... getting that close to a giraffe was sooo cool.
They provide you one free cup of "dog food like Pellets" in a cup ... the cup is very hard to hold on to and a bowl would make more sense. you can buy more food and carrots at a very high price ... like 5 bucks a bag. other reviews suggested bring carrots but you will want to have several bags to feed them. ... the animals pretty much knock the cup out of our hands.
The area for the free roaming animals is very dusty and not much grass left. There is a strong odar in the area you walk through ... STRONG. I would definately go when it's not hot ... it was in the high 70's and animals were seaking shade ... think better to go when in the low 70's or 60's but definately avoid hotter weather if you want the animals to be active. Get group on coupons and save the money ... at that price more worth it.
The scarer horned animals weren't loss and not sure that was good or bad ... the horns of the deer , elk ... did enough banging on our car. your car with definatley need to be cleaned inside and out if you feed the animals ... they sneeze etc... but their can be dings and scratchs so how nice is your car??? be prepared.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank chattygirl7491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASWPASWP, Public Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We wanted to let you know that the animals that are behind fences are there for your safety as well as their own. We are in the process of changing our advertising to reflect this.

While the pelleted food we give out does look similar to dog food, it has very different properties and is formulated specifically for our vegetarian animals.

We always have coupons available on out website www.africansafariwildlifepark.com. Our park
is also enter at your own risk. Yes some of our animals do have antlers/horns that can cause damage, as long as you follow the rules there should be no problems.

If you wish to discuss this matter further please feel free to call us at 1-800-521-2660 or e-mail us at info@africansafariwildlifepark.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great family adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

A great opportunity to feed animals carrots from your car as you drive through an "African" safari. Several animals stuck their head clear inside the car for food, even a camel. There is also a small zoo like park with lots of exhibits and activities. SHOP AROUND for discount tickets. Their advertised price something like $21 per person, but we went for less than $10 each.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Getme0uttaOhi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASWPASWP, Public Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad you had a great time. We always have coupons available on our website for our customers to use. We also have a weekly contest on our Facebook for a chance to win free passes to the park! Follow us for a chance to win!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mini family vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

First time visiting the African safari had a really good time the kids loved it not only do you get to go through the drive thru and feed the animals but they also have a mini zoo in which you can get out with the kids and walk thru,they also have a small park for the kids to play. Best deal is going through groupon for your tickets

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASWPASWP, Public Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time. We hope to see you again soon.

Follow us on Facebook for a chance to win free passes to the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lots of Deer and LLamas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

You want to stay in your car while driving through. The animals will come right up and put
their head right in the window. They had a special the day we went. Buy one package of food
and get another one. Worked out good. Like the Giraffes. Had a good time. Also have a
walking place with a wart hog and other animals. Not a bad place to take kids.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASWPASWP, Public Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are happy that you had such a wonderful time. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Follow us on Facebook for a chance to win free passes to the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Safari Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to African Safari Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing