We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”
Review of Arlington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arlington Inn
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Reviewed January 3, 2014

What we paid for our one night stay was ridiculous for the quality of the room, and the stay in general. We booked it for the location of being close to the activities of downtown. But our room was a joke. My husband is 6'5" and we had to sleep in a queen bed. The room was the smallest room I have ever stayed. We had a 1/4 inch crack under the door, and the freezing cold came in all night. (It was winter time, and it was very cold).The hot water for the shower took at least 10 minutes to warm up. We heard everything going on outside. We had to keep the fan in the bathroom on so the room was warm enough to actually feel comfortable. The "breakfast" was packaged pastries.....but not even good quality pasties. The kind you get out of a vending machine. I would think to charge over $140 a night, they may want to actually spend a little money updating so the guests feel comfortable. I would have rather stayed in my car.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviportclinton, Manager at Arlington Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feed back regarding your stay at our property. I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you had during your stay. I only wish you had told us of these problems the night of your stay so we could have had the opportunity to fix them.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Arlington Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 94 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

Check-in was no problem. At the time I only the second guest, another 6-7 vehicles within two hours. Room 106., This a basic & clean facility. Furnishings are firm queen bed, four pillows. Low, but long four drawer chest. 80's television, with 60 channels. Luggage rack. Walk-in closet, with five wooden hangers. Writing desk & two chairs.

This facility was built in the early 50's. By mid-90's facility was doubled in size. Stairs only to second floor.

Bathroom is on the small size. Just a shower, with glass door. ,Not much space around the sink. area. The toilet is not for a tall person. I'm 5'8", had to sit at an angle to sit on the toilet. Any person 6' or taller would not be able sit on the toilet. The faucet looks fairly updated. hot water for shower in about 12 seconds & gentle to the face & shin. There are no selves for soap/shampoo. I put both on top of the shower door's wall. Also a wall heater on the bottom of shower wall. Plenty of towels.

parking is just a sidewalk away the room's door. Two soda machines on first floor. An outside ice machine. $1.50 for 5-6 lb. bag. The office has free ice. NO micro/fridge. There is a micro in office which guest are allowed to use. Most rooms have an outside plastic chair.

The a/c is controlled at the front office. I asked for the a/c to be turned off. When a/c was off, I needed to leave the room's door open to warm up the room. I noticed that another guest had her door open. The room's main heater won't start till the outside temperature is to a fixed temp. If checking in during a cool month, bring an extra blanket.

During my October stay, not much traffic noise. Breakfast consist of coffee & pre-packed pastries. I walked to Ala Carte Café on Madison Street for breakfast. Within walking distance on Madison Street are restaurants, pubs & pizza shops. A Subway is attached to back of the front office. Across Perry Street is Maros's Pizza.

All rooms are non-smoking. Both women I met were polite & friendly. I chose this facility for being close to restaurants, location & price My stay was $60.00. If I stay again, I would pick a warmer month and larger bathroom.

Jack L., Syracuse, New York.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviportclinton, Manager at Arlington Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to review our hotel. We are glad you hear both the good and critical point of views. We will use your views to improve our hotel where needed.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

OK place, clean, nothing fancy. Strange heater in bathroom--always seemed to be on. They advertise a breakfast bar, but it really isn't--some coffee and pre-packed pastries. Need to get some tea bags for those who don't drink coffee. Nice enough place, workers pleasant. Can be a little noisy at times--a bar on the dock behind the motel, but not bad.

Room Tip: Don't bother to get a water-view room, not worth the extra $$ and can be a bit noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MVFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviportclinton, Manager at Arlington Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We value all feedback, both positive and critical.
We do hope to help you with your lodging needs in the future.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights to go to the birding festival close by. The location was convenient for that. The room wasn't anything fancy but it was clean and quiet. Birders are probably a hotel's favorite guests--we go to bed early and leave early in the morning for our field trips. I was surprised the beds were very comfortable. The free breakfast was coffee, juice, and prepackaged rolls, which was fine for us since we got out early every morning. I did get a kick out of the towels--they were pretty thin. The folks we met at the desk were very nice. We paid $59 a night and for us, it was well worth it. We could have paid more for a fancier motel but this one worked out very well for us. If you are expecting the Ritz, you will be disappointed. We will stay here again if we ever go back that way.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviportclinton, Manager at Arlington Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us while enjoying the birding activities this year. We hope you will call on us the next time you are in town.
Thank you,
Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The front desk staff was friendly. That's the best thing.

The room smelled very musty. The bedspreads were ancient and looked none too clean. The bathroom was Spartan but adequate. The "breakfast bar" offered only weak coffee and pre-packaged pastries.

We were given a corner room with a connecting door to the neighboring room. The drunken men in the next room were knocking on the connecting door and hee-hawing at 2 a.m. We threatened to call the police. The desk clerk came out and reprimanded the men, who quieted down and didn't bother us again. But our enjoyment of the evening and our peace of mind was gone.

All in all, a very disappointing experience.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, ask that you NOT be given room 116 or 117.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviportclinton, Manager at Arlington Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are sorry the other guests disturbed you during your stay. We do try to make each guest stay a success with us. We are currently in the process of updating our linens to a new fresh look, unfortunately not all rooms were finished at the time of your stay. We do hope your will reconsider and give our property another try.
Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great staff,location,location,location.Nice view of the harbor dining places close and ferry about a block or so away. Will stay there again! Check out Put n Bay and watch Kenny Kidd at the Beer Barrel Saloon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RocknOlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviportclinton, Manager at Arlington Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
We are so excited to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Americas Best Value Inn. We look forward to helping you with your future lodging needs.
Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We visited Port Clinton this summer and stayed at America's Best Value Inn. I expected more for the money ($95), but then we are used to staying in Hampton Inn.) An older motel, tiny shower area, controlled a.c. with a chain on the ceiling which we could not turn off, so we froze. Offered continental breakfast (only coffee and prepackaged donuts). Check-in and check-out was easy. Pleasant, helpful staff. Best part was being able to sit on the dock attached to the motel and watch the boats come and go. All in all okay, but price too high.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviportclinton, Manager at Arlington Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We apologize for any inconvience you had with your room while you were with us. We hope you will give us another opportunity you help you with your future lodging needs.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
4.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 17 in Port Clinton
237 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
0.1 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Port Clinton
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arlington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlington Inn

Address: 121 E Perry St, Port Clinton, OH 43452-1105 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton)
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range: $60 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arlington Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arlington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington Inn Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing