We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Erie Islands Resort Marina
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Fairfield, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed July 31, 2010

I want to warn others who are considering this "resort".

When we arrived early, we asked if it was possible to get our room early. The unfriendly front desk attendant told us that it wasn't possible because the rooms were still being cleaned, but our room wasn't cleaned. When we got into our room, we had received the wrong room. They set up a family with 2 adults and one child with one queen size bed. The unfriendly front desk attendant said we were lucky she had another room available and tried to blame us for their mistake. Upon arrival the front desk attendant told us we had to return by 11 p.m. each evening because security would lock down the gates and we would not be able to get to our room. "A CURFEW"!

The front desk was closed every weekday at 5 with no service all night. The phone didn't work, no maid service, no remote for TV, room was dirty and staff was not friendly or helpful.

The next morning we left the maid service hanger on our door, guess what--they didn't clean our room, make the beds, we received clean towels only!

The pictures on their homepage resort are not recent---don't waste your money!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Johnson072010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    26
    19
    27
    55
See reviews for
58
69
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

They should be embarassed and people who stay here need to complain. Filthy dirty, stained bedding, dirt everywhere, nasty vents, faulty air conditioning & appiances. The pictures they show of the cottages is of the one model, there is no cottage that looks like that, not even close, though they will tell you they are in the process of renovating. DON'T BELIEVE IT, THEY HAVE BEEN SAYING IT FOR YEARS!!! I talked to several employees who told me so!!!!!
Gross, nasty, disgusting, stay here and you will pick up something for sure!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank maggie50207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Clinton hotels

Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

The inn was a little hard to find, but once we got settled in our room, it was worth the trip. Lots of renovations have been done, you can still smell the fresh paint and carpet. The only complaint, if you would call it one, was the linens could be updated, and I'm sure that will happen with everything else they are doing there. My husband and I went for a weekend getaway and were so impressed with the staff and how relaxing everything was that we will definitely be going back. Everytime we saw a staff member in the foyer or in the lounge, they wanted to make sure we had everything we needed. This was one of the most relaxing trips we have had. The getaway packages are a great deal and they are not skimpy on the meals that are included with the package like we have found at other inns. Even though the rooms are hotel style rooms, they were roomy enough that we didn't feel cramped. We have recommended this place to several people already and are trying to plan a getaway with other family members there later this summer. It seemed like a great place for family reunions. There was a large group there while we were there. Thank you to the great staff for helping make this a weekend to remember. If you have time for a little drive, I recommend going to the R.B. Hayes Presidential Museum. It is great if you are a history buff or not. They had carriage and sleigh rides while we were there. Very nice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvs2trvlwmarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

I must first state that my significant other, with whom I traveled, is an "owner," having bought into this complex when it was first being developed. We've stayed there many times--in the RV park, the hotel/inn, and the cottages. Over the years, the cottages and inn have just been overall neglected. (In spite of repeated assessments for "new" and "updated" furniture, etc.)

We last stayed in the inn in July, 2009. Thought it might have improved. No such luck. The room, as stated in other reviews, are very small--although we knew that, so not a big deal for a one-night stay. However, the walls are paper-thin. In the past two stays in the inn, we have had noise from adjoining rooms, and these were "normal" sounds of low TV volume, normal speaking voices, etc.

Also, while the peeling wallpaper has been removed and replaced by paint (an improvement if they're not going to keep the wallpaper in pristine condition), the bedspread was spotted and old. The bathroom was clean, but the wall above the tub was cracking. Even at the "owner's discounted price" of $70/night in-season, it was way too expensive for the room itself. We did not use the pool(s) or any of the other amenities, although they seemed to be well attended. There's no ice machine in the Inn--instead a large thermal drink container in the lobby served as the "ice machine." Tacky at best. The rooms do have a small refrigerator and microwave. No hair dryer or bathroom fan, however.

We've had better experience staying in the RV section which seems to be well maintained and has full hookups. This is a better bargain (discounting the gasoline to pull an RV there) overall. Erie Islands, clean up the Inn!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Almost60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2008

We decided to take four days and travel from Rochester, New York to Port Clinton, Ohio to stay for a few days at the RV Park of the Erie islands Resort and Marina.

We were assigned a full hook up site as requested. We were given directions to the loop our site was located in. The front guard shack was out of campground/facility maps so we had to navigate the roads and signs on our own. Not a big deal. We were told that we could not bring firewood onto the property. If we wanted to have a campfire we would have to purchase wood on site, but were told they were out of wood. We did not tempt fate as it were and bring campfire wood purchased locally as the evening temperatures/conditions were not conducive for sitting outside.

We got our camper set up and left to explore the grounds. The resort itself has a lot to offer. We did not expect to be pampered and attended to with various ammenities knowing it was the beginning of the "quiet season" for the Resort. We came to the Resort this time of year specifically for the peace and quiet.

We drove around and had a self-guided walking tour of the publically accessible areas of the hotel. The person normally at the front desk of the hotel was in the guard shack. These areas were nothing to write home about. We noticed peeling wallpaper in the hallways and tape marks on the walls where signs had been hung then removed. There were crumbs on the tables in the dining area. The individual rooms were locked. The bar area was locked.

From the outside the cabins looked nice. We did not have the opportunity to tour a cabin. The recreation hall was our next stop. The public lounge area was well appointed with nice furniture, fireplace, wall art and television. The outdoor pool was large. The outdoor deck had a hot tub as well as a "kiddie" pool. These areas, along with the camp store were closed. The indoor pool and hot tub were open and accessible. We attempted to enjoy the hot tub which we found to be too hot to relax in and enjoy. The temperature was uncomfortable and we were not able to stay in for longer than five minutes.

The pool was over chlorinated. The water was bathtub warm but was also not enjoyable due to the chlorine levels in the pool.

The center also had a weight room and a racquetball court which we did not use.

Back to the RV site. The site itself had a full concrete pad which was a nice suprise. The picnic table was in great shape. Unfortunately the October skies did not cooperate with our desire to cook and eat outside.

The resort is a short drive to many local attractions in the Port Clinton and Sandusky area. Being there in the off season really became an exercise in frustration. We encountered many places, tours and events that were closed or shut down for the season. We decided to travel the hour and a half to Dearborn, Michigan to tour The Henry Ford. We highly recommend this museum. But that is another review!

All things considered, we would go back to the Erie Islands Resort and Marina. We would go in the late summer in order to miss most of the crowds and still be able to be outside long enough to enjoy the islands as it were.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jsco74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2008

I read reviews about both pros and cons of this place. We decided to take a chance because the price was so good compared to other places. My kids loved it. I don't know what some of the people were talking about with not being able to swim without a lifeguard....there is an indoor pool that doesn't need one and that is where we spent a lot of our time as it did rain quite a bit while we were there. When it was nice out, there was so much area for my kids to just run and play. My teenager had his skate board and it was nice knowing that the speed of vehicles was strictly monitored by their security staff so he was safe out riding it. There is also an outdoor basketball court, a little putt-putt area, canoes......we had a great time. The recreation area was very clean and well maintained. Our hotel rooms were a bit small and do need to be updated but they were clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. We will visit again and hope we have better weather.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LovetheBuckeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerburg, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2008

I'm not one to write reviews, but I only thought it was fair to warn others who are considering this "resort". When we arrived 2 hours before check in, we asked if it was possible to get our room early. There were only 2 cars in the parking lot, but the front desk attendant told us that it wasn't possible because the rooms were still being cleaned. When we got into our room, we were very disappointed! There was no headboard on the bed, one nightstand was turned sideways because the room was so small. The floor had toenail clippings that hadn't been swept up, the shower curtain had mold on it, the wallpaper was coming off at the seams, there was no ice machine, the front desk staff was unfriendly, there was a strong odor in the hotel and we slept with the window open (with a train passing by on a regular basis). Upon check out, the front desk was closed until 9am, so we left our room key and got out!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank mrsk67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
8.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
5.3 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
391 reviews
4.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
66 reviews
4.3 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Port Clinton
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erie Islands Resort Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erie Islands Resort Marina

Property: Erie Islands Resort Marina
Address: 4495 W Darr Hopfinger Rd, Port Clinton, OH 43452-8907
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Erie Islands Resort Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Erie Shores and Islands is one of the top destinations in Midwest receiving nearly seven million visitors a year. Port Clinton is a central location to a wide array of fabulous activities that range from catching the Jet Express to the Islands; Cedar Point amusement park; several indoor water parks; winery’s; water sports; boating; fishing; camping & bird watching. If you love fishing you have to visit Port Clinton the Walleye Capital of the world. Our beautiful 375-acre waterfront resort is nestled on the Portage River, a tributary to Lake Erie, in Port Clinton Ohio. Erie Islands Resort enjoys an exclusive location very near the myriad of area activities but just far enough away to enjoy amazing Sunrises overflowing with spectacular color, Sunsets gently touching the water with a million dollar view in every direction and unspoiled star filled nights right at your door step. Erie Islands offers a variety of accommodations from our Victorian Style waterfront hotel, spacious cottages, luxurious vacation homes with private dock, or for the camping enthusiast 138 campsites. For our boating guest at Erie Islands we can accommodate you with our 100 slip marina. Indoor and outdoor enthusiasts, and children of all ages, will find a wide array of amenities and activities right here at Erie Islands. When you visit Erie Islands you will soon find yourself in the midst of a recreational paradise with our 15,000 square foot recreation center and 375 acres of grounds. Some of the many onsite amenities include restaurant, lounge, Aveda Spa and retail store, outdoor/indoor pools, outdoor/indoor hot tubs, kiddie pool, 10 private stocked fishing lakes, 125’ river fishing pier, exercise room, racquetball courts, basketball court, tanning spa, general store, snack bar, arcade, billiards, pool bar & disc golf course.At Erie Islands Resort & Marina, you really can have it all – it’s all about family, fun and relaxation while creating memories that will last a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Erie Islands Resort Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erie Islands Resort Marina Hotel Port Clinton
Erie Islands Hotel Marina
Erie Islands Resort Marina Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing