We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Erie Islands Resort Marina
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
A TripAdvisor Member
edwardsburg mi
357
Reviewed August 11, 2005

Maybe ok for fisherman. We had a family of 6 in a cabin. Small, could not open the windows, full of spiders. Poor deck area. Hot, air did not work. However they did fix it later. No good resturants around. Not much to do at all unless you want to go to Cedar Point. It is about 1/2 hour away. We put in a small boat at what they called the marina. We used it up and down the Portage River. It is almost 45 mins to get out to Lake Erie. No wake zone. No real activities at the resort. Or what they call the resort. You can not swim in the pool unless there is a life guard on duty. We would not go back. We did take the Jet Express over to Put in Bay. That is close by. We also went to Kelly Island. Rented Golf Carts and ran around the islands. Those were kind of fun. The kids had fun at Cedar Point. But no one liked the resort. I talked to a couple people that own into it. They are highly disapointed with the staff. It is young kids that seem to be running it.

21  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 181 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
MA
123
Reviewed July 2, 2005

First off, this place is totally misrepresented! Second, the staff has no idea how to give directions to get you to them - we called 3x and the woman that answered the phone was totally lost as to how to get us there. And we were at a very well known land mark - the ferry that takes you to Put-In-Bay ... fianlly we just said forget it we'll find you.

Once we found the place - I walked in to check in and the first words the woman says is, "I just have to tell you that the speed limit is 15mph and it's strictly enforced during the summer due to all the kids and "someone" called and said you were speeding, so you'll need to adhere to that posting" I was stunned! No, Welcome or even Hello - Besides the fact that I was behind someone and was not speeding - Maybe doing oh ... 17mph!

The place was totally empty - the pool appeard to be too far away and with 3 kids - we just were not impressed. Needless to say, we checked out within 10 mins.

That was a Sunday and the day before (Saturday) a man was charged with "showing himself" to two 12 year old girls at the pool - and he was camping there. Truth to this, I don't know - but made myself and my husband much more sure of our choice to not stay.

If you're not camping or don't have a time-share to one of the cottages, it seems to be a place that is for "seasonal regulars" not for folks looking to stay for a week. Thank God for the Holiday Inn.

Stayed: June 2005
23  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Springfield, Ohio
120
Reviewed August 7, 2004

The property is very nice. However, we rented two rooms. One room was very spacious and the other room was very small! Still they were the same price! We had problems with the A/C our whole stay! We didn't get maid service until 5pm. We would run out of basic needs, such as towels and toilet paper! The restraunt was closed the whole time because we stayed during the week. If it rained then the snack shop is closed. If you plan on getting a bite to eat then plan on driving 15-20 min! An other thing that wasn't mentioned was that the pools are away from the hotel. Which really isn't a big deal. However, It was a little bit of an inconvience! I would never stay there again..........

20  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2004

Erie Islands Resort is wonderful, from the moment you pull in, and see this beautiful - hidden paradise! A beautiful resort, with great grounds to walk, not to mention, the play area for children, you need not ever leave the resort for fun. Something for the entire family, very quiet, you can walk to the river and sit in the many swings, extremely relaxing, kids have several choices to play, indoor or outdoor pool, mini. golf, play area, basketball, there is absolutely nothing that could make this resort better.

7  Thank horsecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2004

From the momment we arrived the problems kept coming....This so called "resort" is highly misrepresented. We had made special arrangements at the time the reservations were made, after an hour of waiting when we arrived this need was met. We went to our room and found...mattresses that needed to be replaced, they squeeked every time you moved, air conditioning that needed to be fixed twice in our 4 day stay, rooms that didn't get cleaned until 5 pm, a resort that ran out of towels every day, wallpaper peeling from the walls and an annoying security guard that should be replaced with a grounds keeper. I asked about the sign that stated newly renovated in 2004 the unfriendly staff replied "we have new lobby furniture"

19  Thank csfishers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Powell, OH
16
Reviewed November 16, 2003

The hotel was clean and our rooms were larger than a "normal" hotel room. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rec building and outdoor amenities offered a lot of different things for kids and adults to do .
Very large outdoor pool.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Columbus, OH
124
Reviewed June 13, 2003

Rented cottage on water for a week last summer, furnished and AC, complete kitchen, parents' BR and a loft for kids, dishwasher, clothes washer & dryer. All had great time, kids 5 & 8 loved pools, miniature golf, free videos, being close to Cedar Point and Erie Islands. Boat marina reasonable. We're going back.

24  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
4.3 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
402 reviews
8.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
126 reviews
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#14 of 17 in Port Clinton
211 reviews
5.4 mi away
Super 8 Port Clinton
Super 8 Port Clinton
#15 of 17 in Port Clinton
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erie Islands Resort Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erie Islands Resort Marina

Address: 4495 W Darr Hopfinger Rd, Port Clinton, OH 43452-8907
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range: $129 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Erie Islands Resort Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Erie Shores and Islands is one of the top destinations in Midwest receiving nearly seven million visitors a year. Port Clinton is a central location to a wide array of fabulous activities that range from catching the Jet Express to the Islands; Cedar Point amusement park; several indoor water parks; winery’s; water sports; boating; fishing; camping & bird watching. If you love fishing you have to visit Port Clinton the Walleye Capital of the world. Our beautiful 375-acre waterfront resort is nestled on the Portage River, a tributary to Lake Erie, in Port Clinton Ohio. Erie Islands Resort enjoys an exclusive location very near the myriad of area activities but just far enough away to enjoy amazing Sunrises overflowing with spectacular color, Sunsets gently touching the water with a million dollar view in every direction and unspoiled star filled nights right at your door step. Erie Islands offers a variety of accommodations from our Victorian Style waterfront hotel, spacious cottages, luxurious vacation homes with private dock, or for the camping enthusiast 138 campsites. For our boating guest at Erie Islands we can accommodate you with our 100 slip marina. Indoor and outdoor enthusiasts, and children of all ages, will find a wide array of amenities and activities right here at Erie Islands. When you visit Erie Islands you will soon find yourself in the midst of a recreational paradise with our 15,000 square foot recreation center and 375 acres of grounds. Some of the many onsite amenities include restaurant, lounge, Aveda Spa and retail store, outdoor/indoor pools, outdoor/indoor hot tubs, kiddie pool, 10 private stocked fishing lakes, 125’ river fishing pier, exercise room, racquetball courts, basketball court, tanning spa, general store, snack bar, arcade, billiards, pool bar & disc golf course.At Erie Islands Resort & Marina, you really can have it all – it’s all about family, fun and relaxation while creating memories that will last a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Erie Islands Resort Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erie Islands Resort Marina Hotel Port Clinton
Erie Islands Hotel Marina
Erie Islands Resort Marina Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing