We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never waste your money here!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Erie Islands Resort Marina
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Macedonia, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Never waste your money here!!!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stay away from this hill-billy haven! We just went for the 4th of July weekend. Checking in on Thursday and out on Sunday. We arrived about 6pm, held up at the guard shack because we brought our dog. I had reserved a cottage that was "pet friendly" but we were not put there. Our teenagers had to stay at the guard shack with the dog while I went up to the hotel to figure out the problem. They finally "agreed" to let us keep the dog but I had to pay an additional $150 fee for pet cleaning. We got the the cottage and it was disgusting, dust bunnies the size of a small cat, cobwebs, one sink in the bathroom didn't work, exhaust fan broken and you couldn't turn the air down lower than 70 degrees. I asked for a cottage on the water, we were about 30 feet from it but they had not cut down any of the growth so you could barely see the water.

The cottage said it sleeps six adults, 3 full beds is not what I would promote for this cottage. 4 max just because of one bathroom.

I did like the pool area except for the fact that the kiddie pool was ice cold, they should at least heat. Kids don't want to play in ice cold water.

I was disappointed in the play area, dirty run down, no put put.

The resort is a joke for anyone who really wants to stay someplace nice, they certainly don't lie on the website but I would never spend another dime there.

They did have free WiFi but the cell reception was horrible.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank JoAnne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    26
    19
    27
    55
See reviews for
58
69
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Three of us came here for a girls weekend. We arrived around 10pm and was checked in by the security guard. He advised that the hotel was a mile straight ahead, and no one was at the front desk. At the time we didn't think anything of that statement since it was so late. Little did we know that this meant there were NO lights in the parking lot (we weren't even sure if where we parked was the parking lot), no lights on in the lobby except one overhead, and no staff AT ALL anywhere in the hotel! Being three women, we were concerned for our safety. To top it off, the papers the guard provided had the hours of operation; the guard was until 2 am. The front desk came in at 8 am. So, who is running the ship from 2 am to 8 am? There was a pool table and bar upstairs...all closed. This was the end of June-peak summer season. When we finally found a vending machine, the Diet Pepsi we bought was expired. To top it off, there was a bouquet of DEAD flowers on the front desk. Really???

Although the room had newer hardwood floors, it was very plain. When I pulled down the covers, there were several long black hairs in one of the beds! The bathroom door frame had a fruit sticker on it, along with a piece of plastic bag stuck in the latch. The bathroom also had a light out, and half-painted walls! They should not even advertise wifi as it barely connected. This is not what I would expect when they are charging almost $200 a night. Since it was so late, we had no one to speak to. The front desk opened at 8 am, so we decided to hang out in the morning so we could get a live person. By 8:15, there was still no one in the hotel! We called the guard, and he said he had no idea if or when the girl would show! We left. No way would we stay a second night as originally planned.

It took all day for Hotels.com to even reach someone at the hotel via phone for us, only to be told they would not give us a refund for the second night (it was a 2 night minimum). When we finally got through to the manager, she made it seem like we were making this up to get out of the second night! We sent her a detailed email as requested Saturday night-with photos- and it it now Wednesday with absolutely no response.

I have traveled all over the world, and have never experienced such lack of concern for a customer.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
17 Thank Sunny54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Clinton hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

When we got there they did not have our reservation for a cottage but since we booked online through a third party we are not sure whose fault that was. They put us in a beautiful suite so we had 2 bedrooms and 2 full baths. The place was quiet, relaxing, and we had a wonderful time. We pretty much had the pools to ourself which our girls loved. Overall we had a very nice stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeannette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Cost was high, location was okay but the service was none. We arrived at 9pm and all staff was gone. We found out this was their normal. The security guard a mile a way was our contact who got us a room key but no services available.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is an interesting resort hidden away yet not far from the city of Port Clinton. The website is lacking with information. I have made calls to the office staff for information but they have not returned my calls. The Sales staff is selling timeshares but there are not many timeshare buildings on the property. It seems that any remodeling at the resort is done slowly and sometimes not at all. The mini golf course has been under renovation for three years.
The indoor and outdoor pools are good and the nice rec center has lounges TV., game room, store, and a small seasonal restaurant. The lake behind the rec center is scenic and there are paddleboats. The disc golf course is fair and was converted from a par 3 golf course.
The Inn hotel rooms are nice, some were converted to timeshare units, but there is no elevator. There is a spa which may not be well used at this type of resort. A campground is available with few trees. The marina is nice but does not have many boats due to the low inlet level of the Portage River which runs behind the resort. For boaters, the Portage River meets Lake Erie. The resort is not far from Fremont.

Room Tip: Off season is a better value with more availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitimat, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I made a mistake of not reading the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking a cabin. Yes the water stunk as others indicated, wanted to through up brushing my teeth. Yes, we also were not given the unit we booked but another lessor unit at the same price. No, Joan was no where to be found when something needed repaired, stayed for two and a half months with a broken fireplace and door lock. Yes, the silver ware was so cheap it rusted after one washing, ended up using plastic. No, Joan will not return our calls concerning the security deposit. Many more things are seriously wrong with Erie Island Resort and most of them were already in other reviews, if I had only read and heeded them before I booked. Please listen to this warning and run the other way!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank 395gerrieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview Hills, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We have stayed at the Erie Islands quite a few times, and have always been satisfied.
The room was very clean and comfortable including the queen size bed. Hot water, etc.
were perfect.
Fortunately the weather was in the 50's for this time of the year for Whiley The Walleye
New Years Drop in downtown Port Clinton. We enjoyed our stay, and intend on coming back
next year..............Walt & Debbie Starosciak/138 Man-0-War Court/Crestview Hills, Ky. 41017

Room Tip: Get a Queen Size Bed in a Non-Smoking Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
8.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
4.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
276 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
393 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Port Clinton
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erie Islands Resort Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erie Islands Resort Marina

Property: Erie Islands Resort Marina
Address: 4495 W Darr Hopfinger Rd, Port Clinton, OH 43452-8907
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Erie Islands Resort Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Erie Shores and Islands is one of the top destinations in Midwest receiving nearly seven million visitors a year. Port Clinton is a central location to a wide array of fabulous activities that range from catching the Jet Express to the Islands; Cedar Point amusement park; several indoor water parks; winery’s; water sports; boating; fishing; camping & bird watching. If you love fishing you have to visit Port Clinton the Walleye Capital of the world. Our beautiful 375-acre waterfront resort is nestled on the Portage River, a tributary to Lake Erie, in Port Clinton Ohio. Erie Islands Resort enjoys an exclusive location very near the myriad of area activities but just far enough away to enjoy amazing Sunrises overflowing with spectacular color, Sunsets gently touching the water with a million dollar view in every direction and unspoiled star filled nights right at your door step. Erie Islands offers a variety of accommodations from our Victorian Style waterfront hotel, spacious cottages, luxurious vacation homes with private dock, or for the camping enthusiast 138 campsites. For our boating guest at Erie Islands we can accommodate you with our 100 slip marina. Indoor and outdoor enthusiasts, and children of all ages, will find a wide array of amenities and activities right here at Erie Islands. When you visit Erie Islands you will soon find yourself in the midst of a recreational paradise with our 15,000 square foot recreation center and 375 acres of grounds. Some of the many onsite amenities include restaurant, lounge, Aveda Spa and retail store, outdoor/indoor pools, outdoor/indoor hot tubs, kiddie pool, 10 private stocked fishing lakes, 125’ river fishing pier, exercise room, racquetball courts, basketball court, tanning spa, general store, snack bar, arcade, billiards, pool bar & disc golf course.At Erie Islands Resort & Marina, you really can have it all – it’s all about family, fun and relaxation while creating memories that will last a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Erie Islands Resort Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erie Islands Resort Marina Hotel Port Clinton
Erie Islands Hotel Marina
Erie Islands Resort Marina Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing