We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Apologetic staff tried to overcome mistakes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Erie Islands Resort Marina
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Apologetic staff tried to overcome mistakes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We arrived after a long day at work and two hours of travel to learn that our room wasn't our room. We walked into a room that already had other passengers' bags in them. Fortunately we didn't walk-in on anybody. The front desk was very confused and took about 25 minutes to figure out where my wife and I would stay. It took three staff members, and a phone call to someone else, to determine our correct room. While we waited in the lobby, the bartender kindly offered us two glasses of wine, which helped during the waiting.

After we got into our room, we were delivered a chilled bottle of wine as a goodwill gesture. My wife and I were very grateful for this.

During the next day, we were called about our dinner reservation. The hotel restaurant needed to change our reservation. After a couple phone conversations, a hotel staff member said he would box our dinner for us, so whenever we arrived back to the hotel, our dinner would be waiting for us. We loved that idea, so we could take our time on Catawba Island and around town. When we arrived back to the hotel, we were told that our food hadn't been boxed yet because it was being kept warm. A staff member personally delivered a full dinner of salads, rolls, two entrees (chicken breast and spaghetti), two pieces of cheesecake, and a bottle of wine. The food was good and very warm, but it was the personalized service that we appreciated.

Our room had a king-sized bed and was simple, but it was small. The bathroom was disappointing. There was no vent, so after showering, the bathroom was very steamy. A sign on the back of the door requested that the door stay shut, so no steam is released because it might set off the hotel's alarm. This was very annoying. Additionally, the water had an odor to it that remained in the air because of the absence of a vent. Lastly, the rubber doorstopper in the bathroom looked like an animal had chewed it. It looked gross.

The bottom line: The hotel staff tried ridiculously hard to overcome our bad start to the trip, which was redeeming and it would've been enough, but our frustration with the bathroom makes us unwilling to come back for a second trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    26
    19
    27
    53
See reviews for
59
69
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We traveled from California for my husband's family reunion and arrived to a unclean cottage with no heat and water. The management was notified right away, but did not send anyone to check it out until the next day. After checking it out we were moved to another cottage where (again) there was no heat. The heater was fixed that day, but not one hour after moving everything over to the second cottage, someone came to show the cottage to potential buyers/renters. When we asked about using the rec room for a family dinner we were told there was a $200 charge! We'll never return here!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dlmeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

My friends and I bought the deal at Groupon.com and lived at this resort during the past weekend. My family had wonderful time there. All staff members are very friendly and helpful. The service is wonderful. We arrived at the hotel around 7:30pm the staff at Bar was still serving us with the wine and cheese reception, even though the hour suppose to be from 5:30pm to 7:30pm. Their breakfast supposed starts at 8:00am. When I talked to the manager, Joan, and told her that we are leaving at 7:30am for fishing, she told her kitchen staff serving the breakfast at 7:00am. We really appreciate the service and my family will come back in spring next year if I can buy the same deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

my friend bought this on groupon, it's excellent value. the front desk staff are very helpful, the dining service are excellent. the recreation center has steam room and racket room, so I can relax and my kids can play. beautiful and quiet surrounding, overall excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny50207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

My family and i purchased our stay through groupon and had an amazing time. We started our weekend with a wine and cheese where we were able to mingle with other guests that told us about the different sites to see in the area. The weather was great so we were able to enjoy the beautiful resort and all that it had to offer. Dinner that night was included with our package...definite compliments to the chef! I cant wait to come back to the area and stag here again!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mscruz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was to have been a romantic get-a-way with my husband of 32 years, but instead turned into one disappointment after another from the time we checked in. We were greeted by friendly front desk staff, but it went downhill from there. The room smelled funky, the wine and cheese reception was a glass of wine and what looked like old, bulk bagged cubes of cheese piled onto a platter in the middle of a table. Still, hubby and I tried to remain positive an upbeat. The room was clean, the bed comfortable enough. The room was not spacious and the very small bathroom provided no hooks or shelves, no counter space for our toiletries, an old, stained sink with no drain cover (and a toothpaste lid stuck in the drain). It was NOT on Lake Erie, as the advertising seemed to suggest. The little lake it was on, which was right outside our window, was difficult to see with the dirty windows. The continental breakfast was a joke, as was the candlelight dinner. Our server was friendly and fine, although he referred to our dinner as "complimentary." We had a hard time figuring that out, since we had paid for it in the initial price ($199 w/ Groupon). And the candle? A battery powered tealight in a dingy looking votive holder. Oh, and to start our dinner we were provided with ear bleeding fire alarms that the staff had a very hard time disabling. We were told they had no control over it, that the fire marshall was testing their system. During the dinner hour? Really? Still, hubby and I tried to remain upbeat and positive, trying to just enjoy our time away. So we went to the hot tub and the pool. Nothing to braq about. We didn't mind the walk, but it is a ways from the hotel. The straw that broke this camel's back was returning to our room and turning on the shower to wash the pool water off, and having it come out of the shower head black and smelly and cold. We decided we just couldn't take anymore and checked out early. Upon checking out, the clerk checking me out didn't even ask why we were leaving early. I brought this to her attention and asked to speak with the manager. The manager was nice enough, but had an excuse for every issue I brought up, telling me it had been a "freaky day" and she was sorry we had been disappointed;. Nice enough, but no offer of any kind of compensation. Will definitely never be back. It seems there will be no change, since my review doesn't differ much from many over the last several months.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I was very nervous about staying here after reading some reviews but we had a great time. this was our first getaway with our young children (18 months and 3 years). The hotel was quiet and that suited us fine. We loved the rec center with the "Tot Spot" area, pool (with fenced baby pool area) and playground. Honestly - the staff could not have been nicer - welcoming, polite, friendly with my kids. Breakfast was OK (just bread, cereal, juice/tea/coffee) but that was all we needed (fruit or yogurt would be a great add-on). I liked that it was a bit farther from the town (just a 5 minute drive). I do wish the kids' playground was fenced. Our room was quite spacious - even with a pack-n-play. Decent amount of space for the kids to play in the room. All in all - I would really recommend it to anyone and we really enjoyed our first family trip. Thank you!

Room Tip: we were on the ground floor, near the spa....very quiet. Rooms were spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OhioIrishB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
4.1 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
8.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Clinton
BEST WESTERN Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
4.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#11 of 17 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erie Islands Resort Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erie Islands Resort Marina

Property: Erie Islands Resort Marina
Address: 4495 W Darr Hopfinger Rd, Port Clinton, OH 43452-8907
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Erie Islands Resort Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Erie Shores and Islands is one of the top destinations in Midwest receiving nearly seven million visitors a year. Port Clinton is a central location to a wide array of fabulous activities that range from catching the Jet Express to the Islands; Cedar Point amusement park; several indoor water parks; winery’s; water sports; boating; fishing; camping & bird watching. If you love fishing you have to visit Port Clinton the Walleye Capital of the world. Our beautiful 375-acre waterfront resort is nestled on the Portage River, a tributary to Lake Erie, in Port Clinton Ohio. Erie Islands Resort enjoys an exclusive location very near the myriad of area activities but just far enough away to enjoy amazing Sunrises overflowing with spectacular color, Sunsets gently touching the water with a million dollar view in every direction and unspoiled star filled nights right at your door step. Erie Islands offers a variety of accommodations from our Victorian Style waterfront hotel, spacious cottages, luxurious vacation homes with private dock, or for the camping enthusiast 138 campsites. For our boating guest at Erie Islands we can accommodate you with our 100 slip marina. Indoor and outdoor enthusiasts, and children of all ages, will find a wide array of amenities and activities right here at Erie Islands. When you visit Erie Islands you will soon find yourself in the midst of a recreational paradise with our 15,000 square foot recreation center and 375 acres of grounds. Some of the many onsite amenities include restaurant, lounge, Aveda Spa and retail store, outdoor/indoor pools, outdoor/indoor hot tubs, kiddie pool, 10 private stocked fishing lakes, 125’ river fishing pier, exercise room, racquetball courts, basketball court, tanning spa, general store, snack bar, arcade, billiards, pool bar & disc golf course.At Erie Islands Resort & Marina, you really can have it all – it’s all about family, fun and relaxation while creating memories that will last a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Erie Islands Resort Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erie Islands Resort Marina Hotel Port Clinton
Erie Islands Hotel Marina
Erie Islands Resort Marina Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing