We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of Key West in northern Ohio” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dock's Beach House

Dock's Beach House
Ranked #13 of 72 Restaurants in Port Clinton
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dunedin, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A bit of Key West in northern Ohio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

A great beach atmosphere and good, if fairly pricey food. It offers both indoor and outdoor seating. I watched a beach volleyball game on one of my two visits. Had both a walleye dinner and a lake perch dinner, both musts in this neck of the woods.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    76
    33
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baytown, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent view of Lake Erie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I travelled from Texas to Port Clinton this past Labor Day weekend to attend a destination wedding. There were probably 20+ in the party and we dined inside, although it would have been nice to eat outside on the deck, but the place was crowded. The band was very good and the service was excellent. I had the BBQ ribs and they were cooked just right, haha, not as good as Texas ribs, but good enough! Beverages were well made and the prices were right. You can walk down to the beach, still listen to the band and sit on picnic tables or beach chairs. All in all, I enjoyed myself and would recommend Dock's to anybody.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank texasrider1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What a difference a year makes!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Update to my rave review last year. Was at Dock's Beach House last night and was shocked to see the great steaks I had last summer are now gone! I ordered Chicken Tuscany, nothing like described on menu, chicken was very dry and almost shredded. No choice of potatoes or vegetables, now "chef's choice" which were also overcooked and dry. My partner ordered the fresh walleye and for 24$ received a very small portion of the fish. Don't even ask about the "beach bread" . On the "real" menu they describe it as a bruschetta like bread with tomatoes/cheese toppings. What you get is a piece of French bread smothered in cheese and few tomatoes if any. Very misleading, and not good.

Plus we had the added attraction of cigarette smoke wafting into our faces, apparently you can smoke at the bar, since it is on a semi open deck area.

I am soooooo disappointed at what has happened to this once lovely place to eat. What on earth happened?

It's on the beach, but that is about it. Nothing special anymore. I looked forward to going there last night, was saddened by what I saw this time around. Bring back the filets! We won't be back, sadly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank travelinglady60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheney, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Greasy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I enjoyed being able to sit on the shores of Lake Erie, however my food was very greasy and portion was super small for price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edi1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Salad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The blackened shrimp and scallop salad was delicious. The scallops were huge. The wait to be served was alittle longer then expected but acceptable. The staff was not over friendly but the resturant set up was comfortable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dock's Beach House also viewed

 

Been to Dock's Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing