We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shelter in a Storm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Garfield Heights
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
“Shelter in a Storm”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

On my way home from a business trip, I experienced a massive accident on the Ohio Turnpike. After hours of delay I chose to check into a hotel for the night. Freeway sign directed me to this Holiday Inn Express. I walked into the lobby to a stream of people checking in. First, the young lady handling the desk immediately acknowledged me, indicating she was busy checking others in. When it was my turn, she thanked me for my patience, acknowledged my IHG membership and explained my options. From that point I was a welcome guest. Great room, spacious, comfortable, clean and tidy. Great complimentary breakfast, newspaper, and a great experience. Upon checking out the same young lady (this was a major storm) who had spent the night and was working the front desk (still), bid me a good day, "safe travel" and what made my day, "it was nice to have met you"!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hello Michael S,

We are to sorry to hear about the trials you experienced during your recent business travels; delays are never enjoyable and even less so when it involves bad weather and accidents. We are so happy you chose to stay at our Holiday Inn Express and Suites; it was our pleasure to be your port in a very terrible snow storm.

Proud is the word we would like to say expresses how we felt when we read your honest review about the staff member who assisted you. Your kind words of praise and kudos warms our hearts and souls. Accolades will be given to this person as they are well deserved. I am most positive she was more than happy to have met you also.

Thank you for being an IHG Reward Clubs Member and for being loyal to our brands. We hope you will continue to use us or stop in and say HI when you get the chance.

Best Wishes,
Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    290
    113
    52
    25
See reviews for
345
264
36
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Really nice hotel - nice staff - beautiful lobby and breakfast area - very nice pools area - allowed us to bring pizza to the pool. Front desk staff was incredible. Rooms were very very nice. Only negative i can say is that the eds are double instead of queen and the arrangement of the furniture was a bit odd - but nothing bad. They should invest and replace the beds - at least some of them. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Greetings K G,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We LOVE our guests input and it really helps us to improve our establishment and service. It was awesome that you were willing to share. When we read your outstanding and wonderful review about how much you enjoyed your stay it brought a smile to our faces and joy to our hearts. Exceeding our guests expectations is our number one goal and we were so happy we reached that goal with you. Our fantastic staff is our number one asset and they are outstanding; thank you for recognizing this. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest; we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed there for a month, the staff was excellent. I was on night shift and they arranged night time cleaning and prepared breakfast by 4 am for the guys on day shift who had to be on the road early. I would stay here anytime I was working at Davis Besse Nuclear or other places in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hello Brent L,

It was our pleasure having you with us during the Davis Besse Nuclear Plant outage. We greatly appreciate your wonderful and kind words of praise; they mean a lot to me, the staff, and the ownership of the hotel. We thank you for your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Palestine, OH
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband and I are Beaver Valley Power Station employees and recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Port Clinton/Catawba for seven weeks on a temporary assignment at the Davis Besse Nuclear Power Station to support their Steam Generator Replacement/Refueling Outage.

The hotel is conveniently located near shopping and restaurants, which was a bonus. It was nicely maintained and clean, with a delightful breakfast selection. The pool and hot tub area was lovely, and impeccably clean. We enjoyed the hot tub on several occasions. The room was clean and quite comfortable. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. They are what make this hotel outstanding! When encountering a few very minor snags initially, they were quickly and efficiently resolved. But what stood out for us was the fact that they accommodated the DB workers by making a beautiful breakfast available each morning by 0400-0415. That was VERY much appreciated by those of us who needed to be on the road by 0430!

I must say that ALL the employees we encountered were friendly and efficient, but the one that stood out to us was Carol. Her work ethic most certainly exceeded every expectation, and she made an outstanding effort to make sure we had what we needed before we headed out to work. She clearly took pride in representing the Holiday Inn Express

There were, however, a couple of negatives. The parking lot could have been better maintained when dealing with significant snowfall. Clearing thick ice away periodically would have made the parking lot much safer. The worst thing of all was the fact that the area under the canopy provided for check-in and unloading had a surface that was absolutely treacherous when damp or wet. It is an accident just waiting to happen. Not a matter of “if”, but when! I hoped every day that it wasn’t going to be one of us. Hopefully this will be recognized and resolved with perhaps a coating of a safer surface applied.

All in all, if given the opportunity to return for the next DB Outage, we will most certainly choose the comforts of the Holiday Inn Express for our lodging needs.

Room Tip: We had Room 309 and it was perfect. We did, however, hear folks comment that a room too close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissPegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello Miss Pegs,

Thank you for the valuable feedback about our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. We place such a high value on our guests feedback and it impresses us that you were so happy to share your recent experience with us and other travelers.

We were more than happy to assist you in any way that we could. It was our pleasure to have the Express Start Breakfast set up early for all the employees; so they could have a hot and yummy breakfast before starting their long days at Davis Besse Nuclear Plant.

Thank you for the positive comments concerning our staff here. We take GREAT PRIDE in giving outstanding service to all of our guests and it makes us glow with happiness when our guest notice such fantastic service.

Once again thank you from myself, the staff, and the ownership for such a rave review, your patronage, and now your loyalty. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last year and it was pretty new. This year it still looked new. The room included a fridge,microwave and safe. It was VERY clean. The bathroom was also very clean. Pillows were labeled as to softness and bed was very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was hot and plentiful. All in all a good place to stay. Looking forward to next year.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patti54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello Patti54,

WOW!!!! THANK YOU for the fabulous review. We take such great pride in our cleanliness and we have an awesome housekeeping department who go through extensive training to ensure the proper cleaniless of the room. They are the best and we appreciate all they do. We greatly appreciate the time you took out of your busy schedule to let us know how we are doing. We look forward to your next visit.
Respectfully,
Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I love coming here it is like visiting great friends. The rooms are always perfect. The pool and workout room are perfect. Great breakfast in the morning and a great cup of coffee. If in the Ohio area this is a must stay location.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bp6623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello Bp6623,

Thank you for the outstanding review. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us and other travelers know what a great stay you had at Holiday Inn Express and Suites. WE LOVE OUR GUESTS who are like FAMILY; we appreciate their business and their loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely,

Kim Bartish and staff (your Holiday Inn Family)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, OH
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this property for 2 nights and were very happy with the facility! The hotel is very clean and well maintained - nice indoor pool, breakfast area and small but sufficient workout room. The rooms are nicely appointed ; the bathrooms are small. Overall a great place to stay in a great location with restaurants, grocery stores and of course, Lake Erie close by.

Room Tip: Rooms 111, 211 and 311 back up to elevator shaft..... Not extremely loud... But enough to be bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tam1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hello Tam1222,

Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. It was our pleasure to serve your lodging needs. It always brightens our day when we can read such a fabulous review written by a satisfied guest. Thank you for taking the time to let us and other travelers know about your recent visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clinton
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
4.9 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
298 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Port Clinton
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
393 reviews
8.9 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
240 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Address: 50 NE Catawba Rd, Port Clinton, OH 43452-3701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know that comfort and convenience are top priorities on every traveler’s mind. That’s why we designed our Holiday Inn Express & Suites® experience around your unique needs. Stylish accommodations and streamlined guest services help get you where you’re going, while our signature bedroom and bathroom collections might give you a reason to stay behind.A vacation at Lake Erie doesn’t get any better than when you stay at our hotel overlooking one of Ohio’s northern lagoons. Our large selection of comfortable and modern rooms and spacious suites are equipped for a great family vacation plus you’ll enjoy a HOT Breakfast, large atrium-style indoor pool, and children 17 and under stay free! The hotel has a stable and robust high speed wireless internet. •FREE Jet Express Shuttle (time and availabilty varies)•Free Express Start HOT Breakfast served every morning•Large atrium-styled indoor pool and whirlpool•High speed Internet access - Reliable, Robust and Fast!•Business center with fax and photocopy service available•32" HD Flat Panel Televsions - ALL HD - 72 HD Channels•Microwave and refridgerators in each room•In-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and safe•Free local and 800 calls•Children 19 and under stay free with an adult ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton Hotel Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Express Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Port Clinton
Port Clinton Holiday Inn
Catawba Island Ohio
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing