We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Friends Get-A-Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
“New Friends Get-A-Way”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

After searching in the Port Clinton / Catawba area for a hotel, we chose the Holiday Inn Express. Recently met another couple in Key West who turned out lived in Cleveland. We live in Toledo. So naturally we wanted to meet up again and keep our Key West vacation going. There are many other less expensive choices we could have stayed at. But we are glad we chose this one. The rooms, lobby and dining/sitting area were always clean and enjoyable. The breakfast buffet was very tasty and fresh. The front desk gal, Martha, went out of her way to make us all feel comfortable and offer suggestions for activities. It was definitely worth the little extra that we paid. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxySid2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Greetings RoxySid2013,

It was our pleasure to have you and your friends as guests at our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. We are tremendously happy that you got to reconnect after your Key West trip. Thank you for recognizing the outstanding service you receive from Martha. She is definitely a valuable asset to our organization. Our Express Start Breakfast does have a lot of choices and we are so happy you got to enjoy the fresh and delicious items it has to offer. We are honored that you will be back and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    270
    102
    46
    22
See reviews for
299
239
36
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Clinton, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Excellent stay...employees we very nice and helpful! We would stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Port Clinton area. The breakfast area was very clean and had good choices for food. There is also a Walmart right around the corner for food if you have an extended stay there and want to eat in your room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Humoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Greetings Humoze,

Thank you for taking the time to let us and other travelers know how great your stay with us. Your wonderful words of praise is greatly and whole-heartedly appreciated and they mean a lot to and the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Wishes,
Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were greeted at front desk by a staff member with a smile and a greeting. Room was very clean and all staff that we met during our stay were friendly and greeted with a smile. Area where breakfast-coffee was available in the morning gets a thumbs up. Other couple we were had upgrade to a room with a jacuzzi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlgorrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello dlgorrell,

Thank you for the fabulous review about our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. We are so overwhelmed by your awesome words of praise about our service, Express Start Breakfast, and the cleanliness. We hope you and your friends will return for another great night out.

Sincerely,
Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I frequently stay at this facility due to the staff, the consistent quality of the rooms, and the location. Front desk personnel including Carol, Kim, Lori, Martha, and Pat are always solid and since I use their meeting room, their Manager Kim is always efficient in my needs. The breakfast is adequate, and the newly remodeled break area is newly re-modeled and is bright and airy, a big improvement.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wickedmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear WickedMotion,

Your wonderful words of recognition for the staff mean a lot to us. Thank you so much for being such a loyal guest to our facility. We greatly appreciate our guests that are more like family than a guest. Please take care and always it a great pleasure having you stay with us. Thank you for being an IHG Reward Member.

Best Regards,
Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Usually I wait until I get home to write these reviews but this could not wait. Let me start by saying I love Holliday Inn's I with my travels I have rarely seen this level of poor upkeep with them. The first room that we checked into was not fit to stay in PERIOD and asked to be moved. The people at the front desk were happy to do so. The second room we checked into needed assistance and we called the front desk to have the manager on duty check it out. Dirty sheets, toe nails on the floor, the door to the bathroom was discusting! After we pointed out the issues the were ready to correct the problems. Still with outlets hanging from the wall and dirty doors. It was hard to sleep, plus the bed dipped in the middle to make our stay even better! Later in the evening we went to turn on the heat and noticed that the dial to adjust the heat was broken off, another call. While talking to other guest in the pool area this was not uncommon. Breakfast was not up to Holiday Inn standards.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Jason F,

I am so disappointed to read that we did not exceed your expectations on your recent visit to our establishment. We take great pride in our facility and the service our guests receive and it is heartbreaking to read that we did not do a very good job with you and your stay. Please accept my deepest apologies for any and all incidents that happened. We hope you will treat this as an isolated incident and given us a second chance to exceed your expectations. Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback it helps us make informed decisions about changes we need to make. Once again thank you for your honest review.
Respectfully,
Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
160 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, great room very clean!!! The front desk was very nice and very cheerful and very helpful!! Makes me want to come back here more!!! Can't say enough about the front desk workers they need some special reward its good to have such dedicated workers who enjoy their jobs!!! Breakfast was great too!!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harleyoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Greetings Harleyoso,

We are thrilled about your fabulous review about our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. It really does mean a lot to us to read such words of praise from our guests. We value your patronage and hope you will return to visit us in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clinton
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
4.3 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
389 reviews
4.9 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Port Clinton
223 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
260 reviews
8.9 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Address: 50 NE Catawba Rd, Port Clinton, OH 43452-3701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know that comfort and convenience are top priorities on every traveler’s mind. That’s why we designed our Holiday Inn Express & Suites® experience around your unique needs. Stylish accommodations and streamlined guest services help get you where you’re going, while our signature bedroom and bathroom collections might give you a reason to stay behind.A vacation at Lake Erie doesn’t get any better than when you stay at our hotel overlooking one of Ohio’s northern lagoons. Our large selection of comfortable and modern rooms and spacious suites are equipped for a great family vacation plus you’ll enjoy a HOT Breakfast, large atrium-style indoor pool, and children 17 and under stay free! The hotel has a stable and robust high speed wireless internet. •FREE Jet Express Shuttle (time and availabilty varies)•Free Express Start HOT Breakfast served every morning•Large atrium-styled indoor pool and whirlpool•High speed Internet access - Reliable, Robust and Fast!•Business center with fax and photocopy service available•32" HD Flat Panel Televsions - ALL HD - 72 HD Channels•Microwave and refridgerators in each room•In-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and safe•Free local and 800 calls•Children 19 and under stay free with an adult ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton Hotel Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Express Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Port Clinton
Port Clinton Holiday Inn
Catawba Island Ohio
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing