We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Overall I was very pleased with the Holiday Inn Express. The location and service were perfect for our trip. My only complaint is a very small one in that the selection for breakfast could have been better (1 toaster for 100+ guests). I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Hello Nathan M,

It was our pleasure to serve your lodging needs. We value our guests opinions and we will take under advisement the suggestion of a second toaster. Thanks for giving us such valuable feedback, it means a lot to us. We hope to see you back.
Respectfully,
Kim Bartish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

778 - 784 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

Pleasant setting and interesting lobby. Easy access from Rt2. Quiet. Bathroom small but functional and clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast good with Pancake machine that worked well. Many restaurants in area, but not in hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gr C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you GrC for the thoughtful and wonderful review about our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. It brightens our day and hearts to read such wonderful words of praise; they mean a lot to me, the staff, and ownership of this facility. We hope you continue to use us as your resting point next time you are driving through.
Sincerely,
Kim Bartish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were looking for a clean place to stay while we were in town to go to Cedar Point.

We booked this hotel on Priceline and were VERY happy with our choice.
The check-in staff was very friendly, which is great because sometimes when you've booked on Priceline that's not the case.
The room was large, comfortable and very clean. Even included a mini fridge and microwave.
Breakfast was excellent, had good choices for everyone.
The pool was open late.
The area had a tonne of amenities..... grocery store open late, with alcohol for sale, McDonalds next door, AAA across the street for discount Cedar Point Tickets, Tofts Ice Cream store for amazing local, inexpensive ice cream..... and lots more.
We would Definitely stay again when coming here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hate-being-cold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Hello Hate-being-cold,

Thank you for the graet review about our Holiday Inn Exprtess and Suites. We are so VERY happy that you had such a great time here with us. Our amenities are great and it is good to hear that you got to use a few of them. We are so happy happy happy taht you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards,
Kim Bartish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel was very conveniently located off the highway, and easy to find. The lobby was clean and modern and staff was friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was hot and frequently refilled. Room was clean, with all necessary amenities. (The shower head rocked!)
Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tchthaneckow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Hello tchthaneckow,

Thank you for the fantastic review about our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. We truly enjoyed your wonderful and kind words of praise. We hope that you will continue to use us as your choice for lodging while staying in Port Clinton area.
Respectfully,
Kim Bartish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel had the lobby and public areas renovated since I stayed here last year, this was a nice improvement. The rooms did not appear to be upgraded whatsoever. Rooms are ok, though noisy and leave something to be desired. Kids running up & down the hall were VERY loud (even over my AC & TV being on) and there was a disgusting smell in my bathroom but I couldn't tell where it was coming from. Breakfast was simply out of the box danishes, muffins & cereal -- nothing appetizing at all; at least there's a McDonalds across the parking lot. I would stay somewhere else when I'm in Port Clinton but three are no real options anywhere near this location. Good luck!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Hello Steve S,
Thank you for choosing us as your option of lodging while in Port Clinton, Ohio. I am so disappointed to hear that you did not fully enjoy your recent visit with us. I am so happy that you recognized all of the recent renovations and money we have poured into the facility from the inside to the outside. From the lobby, great room, hallways, and guest rooms is has been a great experience and has been well worth it. I am sorry that you did not get to enjoy our HOT cinnamon rolls, sausage gravy and biscuits, oatmeal, eggs, pancake or bacon. Our Express Start Express breakfast is a fabulous breakfast and we serve it our all of our guests from 6:30am until 9:30am. We hope on your next visit you can come and try out these delicious options. We are so sorry that we did not exceed yur expectations on this visit we hope you will come back and give us a chance to do so.
Respectfully,
Kim Bartish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

While planning a trip to Cedar Point, I did a lot of research on hotels. We decided to go to holiday inn- port clinton because the pictures and reviews were good compared to surrounding hotels. When we arrived at the hotel, I was surprised that it looked like it did on the website. We got to our hotel room, it was clean and nice. The tv didn't work, we had to call down to the service desk for them to come fix it. In the morning we went down to complimentary breakfast, there was one person refilling the food, with a packed room, we were waiting awhile for food. While looking at the food that was available, I noticed sausage gravy.. Not just sausage gravy, but a long piece if hair in it. Yuck! We were leaving to start our day at cedar point and thought we would come back to fresh towels, nice made bed... Nope not the case.
All in all, the hotel served it's purpose.. A place to sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loveape24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Hello Loveape24,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know such valuable feedback. It is important as a manager and the team here know what we are excelling at and what areas we need to show more attention to and your words mean a lot to us.
Please accept my deepest apologies that you had to experience all of the different issues that occured during your recent stay. Please treat this as an isolated incident and give us a second chance to prove to you that we can do a lot better. Once again thank you.
Respectfully,
Kim Bartish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Being an IHG Club member does have its advantages. I noted on our reservation that it was our anniversary and we were upgraded to a Jacuzzi suite. Room was super. Comfortable bed. Nice TV - plugged in to a HDMI port from my laptop and watched the movie we brought in HD. Good breakfast. Friendly staff. Had some very noisy teens in our hallway, yelling and pounding on a door; open my door to see what was going on and the check-in clerk was coming around the corner; explained to her what was going on; she said she would take care of it; didn't hear them anymore. Close to a winery, waterfront parks and some great food (Jolly Roger's - not fancy but the best perch anywhere). Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Greetings Tony L,

It was our pleasure to upgrade you to our King size Whirlpool room for your special day. Happy Anniversary to you and your wife, we are so proud to be a part of such a momentous occasion. Our biggest thank you to you for being a member to such a prestige club, IHG Rewards Club. We greatly appreciate your patronage to Intercontinental Hotels Group and we look forward to welcoming you back. Our Holiday Inn Express and Suites staff is smiling at such a rave review you gave us. Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Best Regards,
Kim Bartish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clinton
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Port Clinton, OH
3.1 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#5 of 17 in Port Clinton
286 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#2 of 8 in Put in Bay
245 reviews
4.9 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
308 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 17 in Port Clinton
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton

Address: 50 NE Catawba Rd, Port Clinton, OH 43452-3701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range: $108 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know that comfort and convenience are top priorities on every traveler’s mind. That’s why we designed our Holiday Inn Express & Suites® experience around your unique needs. Stylish accommodations and streamlined guest services help get you where you’re going, while our signature bedroom and bathroom collections might give you a reason to stay behind.A vacation at Lake Erie doesn’t get any better than when you stay at our hotel overlooking one of Ohio’s northern lagoons. Our large selection of comfortable and modern rooms and spacious suites are equipped for a great family vacation plus you’ll enjoy a HOT Breakfast, large atrium-style indoor pool, and children 17 and under stay free! The hotel has a stable and robust high speed wireless internet. •FREE Jet Express Shuttle (time and availabilty varies)•Free Express Start HOT Breakfast served every morning•Large atrium-styled indoor pool and whirlpool•High speed Internet access - Reliable, Robust and Fast!•Business center with fax and photocopy service available•32" HD Flat Panel Televsions - ALL HD - 72 HD Channels•Microwave and refridgerators in each room•In-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and safe•Free local and 800 calls•Children 19 and under stay free with an adult ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton Hotel Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Express Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Port Clinton
Port Clinton Holiday Inn
Catawba Island Ohio
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing