We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasure trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent this past week end for event at Put In Bay. Was close to Miller ferry. Had third floor overlooking lily patch and patio area. The room was nice, bathroom was small but adequate. The best thing was the help, front desk was great helping us at check in and check out. (needed four copies for four ladies). The room service was good first day giving us more supplies for room. The third day we came back from and "all dayer" and came to our undone room. Someone put a knob card saying we were relaxing so wasn't really their fault but you would have thought they would have checked late in the day. One more comment breakfast area was very nice and food was okay Not sure if it was real bacon but.!!!

Room Tip: Spent this past week end for event at Put In Bay. Was close to Miller ferry. Had third floor overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank packer80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Greetings Packer80,

It was my pleasure to help you out with those four receipts. We really enjoyed meeting you. Thank you for the wonderful survey. We hope you can make it back to Port Clinton, Ohio in the near future. Once again thank you!!

Respectfully,
Kim Bartish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

793 - 799 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was obvious that this hotel isn't serious about cleanliness. They cater to a large tourist industry and don't really have to worry about competition. As a last resort, I would stay here again. The up side was that the desk staff were very friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ggentry22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Hello Ggentry22,

We are disappointed to read about the cleanliness issue during your recent stay with us. We are so sorry and we appreciate you letting us know. We will definitely inform the housekeeping department of your concern, Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We hope to see you again.

Respectfully,
Kim Bartish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Date stayed Labor Day weekend 2013 during tall ships event. The hotel was very clean and modern. I stayed on first floor room. The room was clean, no smells, everything worked, had flat screen TV with HBO and sports channels and had free Wi-Fi. The free breakfast was better than expected with eggs, biscuits and gravy, cinnamon rolls, cereal, bacon and different drink choices. The pool and hot tub was indoors and very well maintained. There were plenty of restaurants and stores within walking distance. Staff was helpful and very friendly. They had a free shuttle that was easy to use and drops you off downtown in the parking lot for jet express. Only minor complaints, there was some cobwebs on ceiling and it was peeling in spots and our window had a crack in it. There was only one bar close by and it was dead. So you will have to drive for any nightlife. Wish the hotel was within walking distance of downtown but its only about 10 minute drive away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Hello Sean G,

It was AWESOME that you were able to make it to the Tall Ships event. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. I am sorry for the housekeeping and maintenance issues you incurred during your recent visit. We hope you will come back to see us again.

Sincerely,
Kim Bartish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lovely Hotel and very friendly staff. Everything was clean and pleasant surroundings. Rooms were comfortable. The breakfast was a good selection. The view from the outside patio was great and the "great room" had a great view.

Room Tip: Second floor and our room overlooked the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 71funtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Greetings 71funtimes,

Thank you for the fabulous review about our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. We greatly appreciate you letting us and other travelers know about your recent visit with us. The view out the backside of the hotel is awesome and on some days we have a lot of different wildlife. We are so happy you took advantage of this. We hope to continue to be your chioce for lodging while visiting Port Clinton, Ohio.

Sincerely,
Kim Bartish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Decent location, but the price was high and the room was just not up to typical HI Express standards. There were some holes in the walls and everything in the room just basically looked worn. I was solo on a motorcycle ride and only staying one night, so it was not that big of a deal, but I expect more from both HI Express and for what I paid.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel if you can. There are plenty in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BcOneSeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear BCOneSeven,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Reviews whether good or bad keeps us informed on how we are doing. We a disppointed to read that we did not meet or exceed your expectations. We are very dorry for the maintenance issues you had while with us.

Respectfully,
Kim Bartish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Another business trip, another hotel. GPS easily located this one. Driving up it was easy to see the new sign and old(er) building adjacent to the McDonald's.

Upon entry to the lobby, it was clear that this was an older and well utilized property with a few recent updates. The area is known as a tourist destination. I wonder if the tourists realize there's a nuclear power plant about 15 miles to the west?

Front desk staff was cordial and quickly got me checked in. I was advised my room was upgraded to include "the Jacuzzi". Entering the large room, I quickly understood what they meant. Instead of a closet, there was a large Jacuzzi tub in the corner near the room door, walls covered in tub to ceiling mirrors. The only thing missing was the disco ball.

There was an open closet (okay,a hanger bar between to walls) in the back of the room adjacent to the window with ample room. There were several hangers and an ironing board with iron.

The A/C unit was operating and could easily cool the room on this hot, humid, summer day. Unfortunately, like all Holiday Inns I've stayed in, the wall a/c unit was noisy. Hopefully one of these days, HI will install quiet cool units. Until then, don't expect silence when you sleep.

The bathroon was small and you had to close the door in order to have access to the small, round bowl toilet and shower/bathtub. Lighting was decent. Water pressure good. What really bothered me was the cleanliness. The sink was filthy (you don't want to know what I found in it). I cleaned it but noted my dissatisfaction to the front desk clerk.

The bed was adequate, but bouncy. There was an assortment of pillows to choose from. I found one that was not too lumpy. Glad I only stayed 1 night. NOt sure my back or neck could tolerate a long stay.

Breakfast was the typical fare. Cheese omlette, sasuage, bacon, cinnamon rolls, cereal, some fruit, juices, and coffee. I think they also had yogurt and waffles.

Overall, it was just another average hotel experience. Would I stay at this property again? Probably not until they correct the noted isssues. There are a few botique hotels in town that may be better suited.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators and intersections of hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barisarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Barisarius,
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy traveling schedule to let us know about your recent visit with us. I would like to apologize for any and all issues you might have incurred during this stay. We recently did over a million dollar renovation on this establishment and we are very delighted and proud of the results. It was our pleasure to upgrade you to a whirlpool room. Once again thank you; we hope you treat this as a isolated incident and gove us a second chance.

Respectfully,
Kim Bartish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The room was nice and the desk staff very friendly. The location was ideal for our trip to the safari. We will stay again when we go to put in bay.

Only issue was the room had the tiniest bathroom I have ever seen. You had squeeze between the counter and toilet just to be able to shut the door. If the door was open the tub was blocked so it was difficult to bathe my small child

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Deborah S,

Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express and Suites as your choice for lodging while visiting the African Wildlife Safari and Put N Bay. It is always a great pleasure to read such wonderful words of praise. Our friendly staff is one of our biggest assets and it pleases us you recognized them in your review. We look forward to welcoming you back!!!!

Sincerely,
Kim Bartish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clinton
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Port Clinton, OH
3.1 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#6 of 17 in Port Clinton
286 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
308 reviews
8.9 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#2 of 8 in Put in Bay
245 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 17 in Port Clinton
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton

Address: 50 NE Catawba Rd, Port Clinton, OH 43452-3701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range: $108 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know that comfort and convenience are top priorities on every traveler’s mind. That’s why we designed our Holiday Inn Express & Suites® experience around your unique needs. Stylish accommodations and streamlined guest services help get you where you’re going, while our signature bedroom and bathroom collections might give you a reason to stay behind.A vacation at Lake Erie doesn’t get any better than when you stay at our hotel overlooking one of Ohio’s northern lagoons. Our large selection of comfortable and modern rooms and spacious suites are equipped for a great family vacation plus you’ll enjoy a HOT Breakfast, large atrium-style indoor pool, and children 17 and under stay free! The hotel has a stable and robust high speed wireless internet. •FREE Jet Express Shuttle (time and availabilty varies)•Free Express Start HOT Breakfast served every morning•Large atrium-styled indoor pool and whirlpool•High speed Internet access - Reliable, Robust and Fast!•Business center with fax and photocopy service available•32" HD Flat Panel Televsions - ALL HD - 72 HD Channels•Microwave and refridgerators in each room•In-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and safe•Free local and 800 calls•Children 19 and under stay free with an adult ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton Hotel Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Express Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Port Clinton
Port Clinton Holiday Inn
Catawba Island Ohio
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing