We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Put-in-Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this Holiday Inn Express during the July 4th holiday and it turned out to be a great location. Great front desk service (Kim) and great shuttle service to and from the Jet boat ride to Put-in-Bay. While more expensive than the Miller ferry service, the jet boat takes you right to the middle of Put-in-Bay where all the action is and runs late till 12:30am. As long as you call the Holiday Inn and let them know when you're returning, they'll send a shuttle to pick you up and return you to the Inn. Can't beat that!

The only oddity was that we were placed in a handicap-accessible room (134) so the shower took a bit to get used to. We booked quite late so we didn't think it was an issue. The view out the window was an open courtyard and walkway, so you had to make sure the curtains were drawn otherwise you were open to the world! Would probably pick another room the next time around.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peetrpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hello Peetrpiper,

We are so happy to have you and your wife with us recently for a visit. It was my pleasure to assist you both in giving you information about the area. Thank you for recognizing the service you received. We hope you will continue to use our Holiday Inn Express and Suites as a destination point for a yearly trip to Put N Bay. Thank you so much for your kind words of praise.

Kim Bartish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

797 - 803 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 for a short family vacation. The 2 bed suite with sleeper sofa worked well for us. The little kitchen area was clean, had a refrigerator, sink, coffee maker, microwave. The complimentary breakfast was ample to fill you up in the morning. Pros-clean, free breakfast, helpful front desk. Cons- no wall separating the sitting/sofa area from the bedroom, high price for a Holiday Inn Express. Also, Check your bill, and compare it with the price you booked. There was a discrepancy in my bill, and I had to pull up my confirmation letter. Also, beware, they may ask how many inn the room-if more than 2, they will charge $20 for an extra person fee.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor, so you can walk down steps to lobby/ breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohiotraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hello Ohiotraveler0,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We greatly value and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for noticing the recent renovations to our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. Our Express Start continental breakfast is a wonderful way to start your day. Thank you once again .

Kim Bartish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Room was nice and comfortable. Bathroom was clean and had a nice shower. Tub surround was a little dated. Ample towels. 2 items of frustration. Community hot tub beside swimming pool was lukewarm and seemed like water was dirty. We did not use it very long and must shower after use. Also, the Morning breakfast line was too long mostly because the waffle machine is in the middle of the line. Guests must wait on everyone to make their breakfast even If they don't want a waffle. Great idea would be to move the waffle maker to an end location away from the rest of the food. Otherwise, nice hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dkaydoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Greetings DKay Doctor,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us and other travelers know about your recent stay with us. We will take your suggestion about moving the pancake machine to a different area, thank you for your valued feedback on this matter. Once again thank you.

Kim Bartish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We often stay at this location and everthing has always been as perfect as they could possibly make it.
Property has been totally remodeled, new paint, carpet, furniture, linens, flat screens, etc.
Desk staff went out of their way to be friendly.
My only negative marks:
1. The pancake machine should be moved to some solo location. People stand in line for that stupid thing and the que backs way up, You cannot access the rest of the breakfast bar due to the mob enthralled with the prospect of pushing a button and causing the device spit out a pancake (after a several minute delay) of dubious quality.
2. Hot tub water was tepid at best, not the least bit "hot", actually felt cool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bomar76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hello Bomar76,

Thank you for your loyalty to our Holiday Inn Express and Suites while visiting the Port Clinton area. It is fantastic that you noticed our new and recent renovations. We are so happy and proud of the changes and design. I am so sorry about the hot tub water not up to temperature. Thank you for the suggestion on the pancake machine, we will keep that in mind. Hope to see you on your next visit.

Kim Bartish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel was very clean and the staff was great. They gave us a list of nearby restaurants that gave a discount. We will be coming back the next time we are in the area. (200 characters is more than enough for a review)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunshinePendleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hello SunshinePendleton,

We do have some amazing local eateries for our guests to choose from. Some of them even offer a ten percent discount with a room key from here. We are happy that you stayed with us and you tried them out. Thank you for recognizing the service and cleanliness of our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. We greatly appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us and other travelers now about your experience.

Kim Bartish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for a weekend to go to Cedar Point and it was fantastic. It was fairly close to the park and the rooms were clean, the breakfast was great, and the service was wonderful, especially Kim. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alyssa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Greetings Alyssa E,

Thank you for choosing us as the place to stay while visiting the worlds most amazing amusement park, Cedar Point. We hope you and your friends had a lot of fun and thrills on the roller coasters. Thank you for recognizing Kim for her outstanding service. With the Holiday Inn Express and Suites just being a twenty-five minute car ride from Cedar Point we hope to see you again. Once again thank you.

Kim Bartish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Room had a strange smell, had to request a clean shower curtain, we scrubbed the tub out ourselves, hideabed was horrible (but they usually are), housekeeping helped themselves to our loose change, pool had a film on top and no one was swimming in it. After we came back from first day out and about, the a/c unit had been replaced without a note from maintenance. Ceiling had water damage and the door was in process of being painted. Other than that, the lobby was nice, the breakfast was fairly good. The room itself was just ok but with 4 people and only 2 towels had to ask for more every day. So much for no smoking when guests are allowed to stand at front entrance and smoke. Flower pot was used for ashtray and constant smokers at door.

Room Tip: don't count on the hideabed for a comfortable 3rd bed for family with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Greetings B H,

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of the problems you incurred during your recent visit. I am so sorry that your room had a strange smell. I would personally like to discuss this with you when you can spare a moment so I can find out some additional information. It saddens me to know that we did not exceed your expectations. Once again thank you for the review and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kim Bartish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clinton
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
4.3 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
402 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 17 in Port Clinton
239 reviews
4.9 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
306 reviews
4.2 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Port Clinton
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton

Address: 50 NE Catawba Rd, Port Clinton, OH 43452-3701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range: $106 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know that comfort and convenience are top priorities on every traveler’s mind. That’s why we designed our Holiday Inn Express & Suites® experience around your unique needs. Stylish accommodations and streamlined guest services help get you where you’re going, while our signature bedroom and bathroom collections might give you a reason to stay behind.A vacation at Lake Erie doesn’t get any better than when you stay at our hotel overlooking one of Ohio’s northern lagoons. Our large selection of comfortable and modern rooms and spacious suites are equipped for a great family vacation plus you’ll enjoy a HOT Breakfast, large atrium-style indoor pool, and children 17 and under stay free! The hotel has a stable and robust high speed wireless internet. •FREE Jet Express Shuttle (time and availabilty varies)•Free Express Start HOT Breakfast served every morning•Large atrium-styled indoor pool and whirlpool•High speed Internet access - Reliable, Robust and Fast!•Business center with fax and photocopy service available•32" HD Flat Panel Televsions - ALL HD - 72 HD Channels•Microwave and refridgerators in each room•In-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and safe•Free local and 800 calls•Children 19 and under stay free with an adult ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton Hotel Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Express Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Port Clinton
Port Clinton Holiday Inn
Catawba Island Ohio
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing