We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Inn over the weekend. It was just a 1 night stay as money is tight but we still wanted to go somewhere for our Anniversary and take the kiddos. So two adults, 1 five year old, and a baby in a room at the Holiday Inn Express in Port Clinton and it was lovely. We had more than plenty of space in the standard room. It was quite refreshing to see textured walls instead of the old and dated wall paper schemes. The view was actually nice over seeing a Marsh. The hotel is located super close to lots of upscale and laid back restaurants. And they had great breakfast options. We bought our coffee at the Mc D's next door in the morning but that is only because we are particular about our coffee and didn't want to give the hotels a try, not by any fault of theirs.
The desk staff was all super nice, they gave us a list and recommended some restaurants for us to eat at. Although, all the ones they recommended had really long waits and with kids we went for something else on the list that also gave a 10% discount with the room key.
The only thing that I didn't fully enjoy was the pool. The water level was a bit low, the steps were a bit slippery from what I assume is accumulating algae (although it could not yet be seen) so it probably hadn't been cleaned within that day, maybe longer. The water was super warm though so that is probably what had caused the build up in a faster manner than usual.

Room Tip: As someone from Michigan I sometimes forget that other states still allow smoking in rooms. Looks li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Greetings Melissa E,

Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are ao HAPPY that you enjoyed your stay at our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. We love when guests come to visit us and enjoy their visit. We hope that when you get another chance to GET AWAY you will come and see us again. Once again thank you.

Kim Bartish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    277
    105
    50
    25
See reviews for
316
248
36
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at Holiday Inn Express last week while visiting Port Clinton to go to the African Wildlife Safari Park. The hotel was only a mile from the park which was really nice. The staff was nice and helpful. Our toilet clogged and they came right up with a plunger. The room was a nice size and we really liked that the closet area didn't have a door. We were traveling with a 5 and 3 year old that like to play with every closet in every hotel we go to, so it was nice not having to worry about that. There was a place instead to hang clothes if needed. Overall we really liked the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelleyK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Greetings Kelley,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is guests like you who make our job so much more enriching and enjoyable. Thank so much for your patronage to our establishment. We look forward to your next visit.

Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Staff was fine as was the hotel in general but the drapes were fixed with a 4 foot wide area only covered by sheers which could be seen through from the outside day and night from the outside area that had tables and chairs for guests. No nap in the afternoon because sunlight streamed in. Wife couldn't wear a night gown at night till we found a large saftey pin to stretch and pin the drapes across to block the window. We were told by staff nothing could be done. That's the way they were installed. I'd rate the room a zero for that reason.

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd or 3rd floor unless you want everyone outside looking into your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohiogeo1, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Hello Regis: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our hotel is one of the most modern and feature rich hotel in Port Clinton, Ohio. We pride ourselves with providing a far better hotel product and we feel confident of that. I personally checked your drapes. The side drape panels that you pinned together is decorative. They are not functional. There are black out drapes behind the sheers. You always had the ability to black out your room at anytime. Sorry that the function of the drapes confused you. Next time you visit with us - ask for management for assisting you with how to use the drape system. Otherwise, thank you for your patronage and we hope we can service you lodging needs in the future. George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, KY
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Nice, simple hotel. Staff was very friendly. Room was clean, quiet and spacious. The hotel is conveniently located to all local attractions. Many places to eat are nearby.

Kimmy at the front desk was very friendly and helpful with suggestions for eating, directions, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brant O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Greetings RT2112,

THANK YOU for the wonderful review about our establishment and staff. Kimmi is a great assest to this establishment and company; we are so happy that you and a great stay. We hope to get a chance to welcome you back.

Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I selected HIE for an overnight stay based upon reviews and pictures. By the time I made the decision to book here I was shocked to discover the rate had increased $40! I have not had that experience at any other hotel, even with late booking. I accepted the rate and disappointment and expected a hotel worthy of the $162 rate. I did not notice the remodeling on the 3rd floor as noted in other reviews. The hallway doors were scuffed up and dirty. The inside room walls were stained as well as the dust ruffle. The room & bath were adequately furnished but small. I liked the addition of the safe. Again, not the value I expected for the rate I ended up paying. The breakfast area & lobby was nice & the breakfast was very good!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Greetings DianeB,

Thank you for choosing our establishment as your lodging choice while visiting Cedar Point. I understand that you were dissatisfied with your rate that you reserved. Unfortunately, our rates are subject to change without a guaranteed reservation. We base our rates on supply and demand. We are happy you enjoyed the breakfast bar and our in door pool. In the Fall and Spring we are renovating our public areas of the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to let us and other travelers know about your stay. We hope to see you back on your next visit to Cedar Point.

Kim Bartish

Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Nice hotel. We stayed here to be able to visit Port Clinton and Put-In-Bay for a little weekend get-a-way. You can tell it was an older building and they had re-done and fixed it up nicely. Very nice place to stay, clean, and friendly. It is centrally located to go to the beach at East Harbor State Park, the African Safari, Port Clinton, Jet Express, or the Miller's Ferry down the road to visit the islands. I would recommend this hotel for most because there are all the restaurants in the area, the Mon Ami winery, and close to shopping.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you DavidL!!!!!!! For the fantastic review about our Holiday Inn Expres and Suites. We are excited and happy that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. We hope you will continue to use Hoilday Inn Express and Suites as your choice for lodging.

Kim Bartishj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I can say I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It was only for a day and I was still satisfied and pleased. And to make it better they allowed me to check in hours before check in. The room was nice size clean organinzed and I was expecting a small continental breakfast but it turned out to be the full spread from bacon to cereal. I will definitely stay at this hotel again!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngest103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Greetings youngest103,

THANK YOU for the awesome review. We are thrilled that we exceeded your expectations and you plan to stay with us again. We look forward to your next visit. Once again thank you!!!!!

Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clinton
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
4.9 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
282 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Port Clinton
226 reviews
8.9 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
230 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Address: 50 NE Catawba Rd, Port Clinton, OH 43452-3701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know that comfort and convenience are top priorities on every traveler’s mind. That’s why we designed our Holiday Inn Express & Suites® experience around your unique needs. Stylish accommodations and streamlined guest services help get you where you’re going, while our signature bedroom and bathroom collections might give you a reason to stay behind.A vacation at Lake Erie doesn’t get any better than when you stay at our hotel overlooking one of Ohio’s northern lagoons. Our large selection of comfortable and modern rooms and spacious suites are equipped for a great family vacation plus you’ll enjoy a HOT Breakfast, large atrium-style indoor pool, and children 17 and under stay free! The hotel has a stable and robust high speed wireless internet. •FREE Jet Express Shuttle (time and availabilty varies)•Free Express Start HOT Breakfast served every morning•Large atrium-styled indoor pool and whirlpool•High speed Internet access - Reliable, Robust and Fast!•Business center with fax and photocopy service available•32" HD Flat Panel Televsions - ALL HD - 72 HD Channels•Microwave and refridgerators in each room•In-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and safe•Free local and 800 calls•Children 19 and under stay free with an adult ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton Hotel Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Express Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Port Clinton
Port Clinton Holiday Inn
Catawba Island Ohio
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing