We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we could ask for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything we could ask for.”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Hotel was clean overall, but fountain outside was green and had trash in it. The important things like the room, public areas and swimming pool were very clean. Breakfast was adequate with plenty of food for all. Good location, close to restaurants and East Harbor State Park for wonderful swimming. Would definitely recommend to friends and will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dcleary800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Everything we could ask for,

We absolutely enjoy reading such positve comments about our establishment from travelers such as yourself. Your honesty let us know what we are doing wrong and what we are doing right; and how we can improve. The fountain out front has been cleaned since your visit. Thank you so much for bringing it to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back. Once again thank you.

Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    285
    112
    52
    25
See reviews for
337
259
36
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Was close to the Jet Express to Put In Bay. We also had a wonderful time swimming at the beach at East Bay State Park about 10 minutes away. Marble Head lighthouse reminded us of being at the ocean! Will go back again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah9310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Dear Past Guest:

It was wonderful to read that you and your family had a great time while visiting our area. We hope to see you in the near future. Thank you for traking the tinme to let other travelers know that we are so close to these attractions.

Kim Bartish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2011

My wife and I arrived late afternoon on July 4th (Monday), just as the Holiday weekend was winding down. Though the workforce was lean, our room was ready, extremely clean, temperature was nice, and everything in order. Since we were traveling by motorcycle, I asked about parking, and they insisted we park near the front doors in a little recessed area that was perfectly in view of the front desk, but out of the way of traffic (pedestrian and otherwise). The staff was absolutely great and offered to take us to the Jet-ferry port and pick us up so we could head out to Put-in-Bay for the fireworks show at sundown. This was great and we had a wonderful dinner at the Boardwalk Restaurant and enjoyed the fireworks show as well. As a near 30-year-member of the Priority Club, I recommend giving this hotel a try. We were pleased and the location and amenities are worth the money spent. By the way, breakfast was well stocked with plenty of varieties of cereal, egss, bacon, etc. I only wish there was a Gluten-free Rice based cereal offered...

Room Tip: AAA, Priority Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dblugras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Motorcycle Freindly,

Your review brought a smile to my face. Thank you for such kind words of praise about the staff and the establishment. We greatly appreciate your business and your time. We look forward to serving your lodging needs in the near future.

Kim Bartish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Very friendly staff, great breakfast, clean, recently updated. The indoor pool was older, no fridge in standard 2 double bed room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adbergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear We'll Be Back,

I am happy to read that you will be back. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us and other traveler's know what a wonderful stay you had with us while visiting Port Clinton. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kim Bartish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I stayed here for one night during a cedar point trip with some friends. I stay in many Holiday Inns and Expresses for work, and wish all of them were as accomodating as this one...

The guest area/patio, pool, and especially the rooms were clean, and the atmosphere in general was very welcoming. The service was also quick and pleasant, even checking in during high traffic times. We were given thorough directions and night life tips for the evening. I believe the name of the associate I dealt with was Amanda.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanghelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Elite,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review!!!!!!!!! We are extremely pleased to hear you received such great service. We hope to see you on your next visit to Cedar Point.

Kim Bartish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Just returned from an anniversary trip to Port Clinton. Hotel was a short drive to Catawba(Millers Ferry) over to Put in Bay. Marblehead to the Harbor State Park and Lighthouse in Lakeside. We also drove down into the city of Port Clinton and found a great place, Dock's Beach restaurant. Really cool design, tiki roof, open to lake erie. It was nice to sit in the sand with your feet in the water, drink in hand and watch the sun set. They also had a small bonfire going. Jolly Rogers seafood house was something to see, hole in the wall but huge portions of quality perch and walleye. Line out the door on a Monday night. We suggest a huge appetite, felt full 24 hrs afterwards. We brought our bikes, seeing Put in bay by bike was a nice alternative and a break in between drinking. Check out Mojito bar, new place, clean. Huge tiki roof, sand on the ground. Live music. Mon Ami winery is 3 min from Hotel but we never made it there, it looks really pretty though, biking over would be a quick shot too.

We also took the bikes over to Kelly's for a day of biking and lunch. Kelly's Island wine co. was a lovely little place, very nice people. Be prepared to pay $$$ to get to Kelly's..$54! to go over with our bikes for the afternoon. We took Millers Ferry off Catawba to get to Put in Bay, $34 round trip for 2 adults with bikes.

The only downside about hotel was pool was only an indoor, older looking and chipped paint. Felt a bit gross on your feet. No balcony's which we knew about. Saturday night rate was very high, $190-. Very high for an express hotel. I didn't complain but our room was a bit dusty, phone had a coating and tv had a film of dust all over it. We had a king n/s room. Nothing special but after driving around town for 3 days the pickings are slim.

Shower pressure pretty good, bed comfortable, bring your own pillow though, hard little things. Nice cold a/c! Also, you can't beat free breakfast in the morning. Bagels, toast, eggs, hot cakes, cereal, fruit, pastries, juices, coffee, tea...etc. For 190 you better get a free bagel and cup of joe! Overall the woman at the front desk where pretty friendly, they seemed very busy and overwhelmed but still managed to smile and say hi when we passed by. Also, helped with food suggestions.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the water inlet in the rear of property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cug2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to let other travelers know what a great time you had in Port Clinton, Ohio. Happy belated Anniversary, we are delighted that you chose to spend it here with us. We hope to see you in the near future.

Kim Bartish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We were shocked at how friendly the people were at the front desk, right through the cleaning staff. It had a family atmosphere and we were so comfortable there. We brought our kids and grandkids and a great time was had by EVERYONE. We will definitely be back. Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donwenjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear Past Guest:

Thank you so much for the wonderful review about our staff and establishment. It was our pleasure to have you and your family as our guests. We are immensely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kim Bartish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clinton
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
4.9 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
295 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Port Clinton
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
392 reviews
8.9 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
240 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Address: 50 NE Catawba Rd, Port Clinton, OH 43452-3701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know that comfort and convenience are top priorities on every traveler’s mind. That’s why we designed our Holiday Inn Express & Suites® experience around your unique needs. Stylish accommodations and streamlined guest services help get you where you’re going, while our signature bedroom and bathroom collections might give you a reason to stay behind.A vacation at Lake Erie doesn’t get any better than when you stay at our hotel overlooking one of Ohio’s northern lagoons. Our large selection of comfortable and modern rooms and spacious suites are equipped for a great family vacation plus you’ll enjoy a HOT Breakfast, large atrium-style indoor pool, and children 17 and under stay free! The hotel has a stable and robust high speed wireless internet. •FREE Jet Express Shuttle (time and availabilty varies)•Free Express Start HOT Breakfast served every morning•Large atrium-styled indoor pool and whirlpool•High speed Internet access - Reliable, Robust and Fast!•Business center with fax and photocopy service available•32" HD Flat Panel Televsions - ALL HD - 72 HD Channels•Microwave and refridgerators in each room•In-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and safe•Free local and 800 calls•Children 19 and under stay free with an adult ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton Hotel Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Express Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Port Clinton
Port Clinton Holiday Inn
Catawba Island Ohio
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing