We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waldo Peppers Bar & Grille

Waldo Peppers Bar & Grille
Ranked #20 of 72 Restaurants in Port Clinton
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Beers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stopped in to enjoy a beer, and had a chance to try several different craft beers (among the four in our party). Great atmosphere and friendly staff. Would definitely go back when we have more time to try the food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoxySid2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    32
    13
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chardon, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“greasy cheese”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I ordered the Baked whitefish for health reasons that was supposed to have a crab stuffing on top and then "sprinkled" with cheese and scallions. when I recieved the dish it was "smothered" in cheese. I didn't want to complain so I just tried to scape it off but this also took off all of the stuffing with imitation crab(which i figured in a fishing area it would be real crabmeat) the whitesih then was baked to the bottom of the tin dish, soaked in butter and the fake cheese had turned to oil when it melted and made the fish greasy and left a horrible taste. my salad was old iceburg lettuce with a tomato wedge and a slice of cucumber. My husaband and son loved their sandwhiches and fries and my daughters fettecine alfredo was also made with fake cheese which made it very oily.we were both sick that evening and I won't say the details. I mentioned to the waitress about the amount of cheese and she said others have complained about the cheese...so change your menu to say smothered instead of sprinkled and possibly add imitation crabmeat stuffng if you aren't gonna serve the real thing. otherwise I loved the atmosphere though so next time we will get sanwiches and fries.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rhonda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Waldo Peppers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Good food. Great service. The waitress was very personable and gave us suggestions. She let us talk awhile before taking our orders and boxed up our leftovers. Reasonable prices for a vacationland area. we were seated immediately for a party of 6.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
151 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Place to Watch College Football Games on Saturday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

As far as restaurants/bars go it is very good. They have good food that is reasonably priced and the staff is very friendly while providing good service. I feel there are 2 things that really make this place great and why I frequent it whenever I am in the area. First, the owner/owner's family are friendly and will go out of their way to help you. I think this level of customer service is lost for most other restaurants like this now. Secondly, they have a projector screen and a handful of other televisions in the room on the side that are great to watch college football games on, on Saturday. The only precaution is that the big screen will have Ohio State on if they are playing and they most likely won't change it to another game if OSU is on. The only other thing to be mindful of is that they do NOT serve liquor on Sundays.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WkEndWarrior2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapakoneta, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“afternoon snack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good food and a wonderful waitress. Our table was at an area with a good view. Price was not out of line.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 71funtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waldo Peppers Bar & Grille also viewed

 

Been to Waldo Peppers Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing