We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!”
Review of Bay Haven Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Clinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Haven Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Port Clinton B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Bay Haven Inn for three days in March/April 2011. The room was cozy, spotlessly clean, and just perfect (Caledonia). Breakfast was fantastic! Dave went out of his way to prepare delicious vegetarian dishes for my husband and special meals for me (allergies). If we come back to Port Clinton, we will certainly look into staying at the Bay Haven Inn again. Thanks Dave and Gretchen for the wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 43 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed there this past weekend (November 12th and 13th) and we absolutely loved it there! The couple that runs it is super sweet! The view from our room was AMAZING!!! The food was awesome! The location to downtown Port Clinton and Sandusky and everything is all within a short drive. And let me tell you if your gonna stay here you have to get the massage package they have! OMG, it was heavenly!!! It was just all around the best place we have stayed! We can't say enough to show how much we loved staying here! We got married in Port Clinton two years ago and to be able to come to such a beautiful place, on our anniversary weekend, it was just perfect! We miss you guys! Can't wait to come back!!!!!!

Room Tip: Honestly we looked at the jacuzzi room and it was amazing looking but I liked the view in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travis-Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed at Bay Haven for a too-short weekend getaway. The inn was cozy and the owner Dave (we did not meet Gretchen) was terrific. We truly enjoyed the breakfasts both mornings - especially the delicious apple tart and good, strong coffee. The lake view from the front room (Niagra) was a delight.

Dave has a wealth of information about the area - ask him to recommend wineries, restaurants, and day trips. We loved our windy trip over to Kelley's Island with lunch at the Pump and wings at the Buckeye Bar (sit at the outside bar and watch the "Wing King" work his grilling magic!).

We look forward to future stays at the Bay Haven, especially if Dave expands the beautiful front porch and opens his restaurant!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buckeyeinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Dan and I recently made our third trip to the homey Bay Haven Inn B&B owned by Dave and Gretchen. As with our other visits, we were very pleased with the accommodations, the convenience to downtown Port Clinton, the Jet Express to Put-In-Bay and, of course, Lake Erie! We stay in the same suite every time (The Niagra) and it is clean, comfortable and delightlfully cool on those hot July days. Gretchen and Dave are fantastic cooks and we always look forward to our relaxing breakfasts on the enclosed sun porch. And we've met so many interesting and nice people who are passing through. We've stayed friends with some of them and also consider Dave and Gretchen to be good friends. They just make you feel like part of the family. We will always choose Bay Haven Inn as our home away from home in Ohio and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The Bay Haven Inn is the perfect getaway, it is right across the street from Lake Erie!!! From the moment I made the reservation I felt it was a good choice. We arrived a bit earlier then expected and our room wasn't ready. It wasn't a big deal as we started talking to Gretchen and the time just flew. Before we knew it she was showing us to our room. It was beautiful, very clean, spacious, and we had a view of Lake Erie. The Jet Express is right down the road so we rode our bikes to the ferry to go to Put in Bay for dinner. We got back later that evening and met Dave, we actually talked to him quite awhile. Both Dave and Gretchen make you feel welcome it's like we've known them forever. They are there if you need them, and are very accommodating but you also have your privacy. The breakfasts were fabulous and we ate in the dining area overlooking Lake Erie. The Inn is conveniently located, it is close to both ferry's to Put in Bay and Kelley's Island. The entire Inn is very quaint and cozy, you feel right at home. Oh and the best is you can even get a massage there. If we were able to stay another day my husband and I were defintely going to treat ourselves! When we go back to the area we are definitely staying at the Bay Haven Inn. Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjzader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

For our annual "Parent Camp" our group of three couples rented the three rooms at Bay Haven and had a great time. We stayed three nights and each morning the breakfasts were above and beyond expectations, probably the best we have ever had at a B&B. Dave and Gretchen were very nice hosts who made us feel welcomed and very comfortable. They provided helpful suggestions and were very knowledgable on area restaurants and attractions. We would gladly stay again at the Bay Haven Inn.

Room Tip: The Calendonia is the nicest room, but no lake view. The next best room is the Niagra, although it h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This July, marked our second trip to the Bay Haven Inn, and it was just as great as the first time! The rooms are cozy, and the breakfast is to die for. Dave and Gretchen, go out of their way to ensure a comfortable stay. The location is perfect, and has a waterfront view. You are also within walking distance to the Jetexpress, and a few miles from the Kelly's Island Ferry. My family loves to stay at the Bay Haven, and we will book every year!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollyb266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
0.2 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Port Clinton
126 reviews
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 17 in Port Clinton
239 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
402 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Haven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Haven Inn

Address: 426 E Perry St, Port Clinton, OH 43452-1147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Port Clinton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Bay Haven Inn Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing