We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Island House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Had to visit Port Clinton for a funeral and picked this hotel because we enjoy historic places. Very nice and clean. We even received a grievance discount which was amazing to us. Attached bar and restaurant, so a perfect place for any occasion.

Stayed: March 2013
Thank JJKID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 398 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

We needed a room at the last minute in POrt Clinton, Oh and had stayed at the Island House
about 8 years before. Our last visit was very nice. The rooms have been redecorated quite nicely and the new dining room area is very, very lovely with great views out to the city and lake.
The management was very accomodating as we were there for a family funeral. Would highly recommend the hotel with lots of charm and a nice bar area with entertainment on the weekends.
The mattress in our room was superb.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Island House is an old downtown hotel that has kept it's nostalgic feel. It is updated nicely with all the modern amenities you need. Very clean, nice bed, and surprisingly good wifi for a hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had dinner at the 1812 restaurant which was good but not what I expect for the price. We did not go to the other restaurant.
The only negative I had was the bathroom was very small and there was no space for my wife to put all her stuff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Friends and we stayed at the Island House for a "scrapbooking weekend" and our rooms were spotless and so nicely decorated - old fashioned and appropriate. Bed was very comfortable; sheets and towels so soft.

Room Tip: These are NOT bit rooms - pack light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidandJean69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place is fantastic ... we loved the historic feel to the hotel, lounge and restaurant. It was decorated for Christmas and just delightful. Our room was perfect for our overnight stay. Newly renovated bathroom, very comfortable bed, mini fridge, coffee maker and hair dryer too! We'll be going back again soon. Great getaway from Toledo!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeriNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Rooms are on the small side but had everything we needed for a great stay. Room was extremely clean and the staff was very nice too. I might try breakfast elsewhere. We had a New Years Day special Buffett for 20$ a plate and it was leaving much to be desired. The breakfast was at the 1812 restaurant next door to the lobby. The decor was charming, but the food was dry and stale. Not sure if the restaurant is affiliated with the hotel, but it is in the same building. The hotel on the other hand was a good choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parmohiogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Island House over Christmas. We chose it based both on the reviews and the fact that the other nearby chain hotels wanted to charge big city prices instead of small town prices. I do not typically stay at non-chain hotels because I like the points and the consistency. The Island House proved to be a great "gamble". We paid 63 dollars a night, which you can't beat. The room was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. While you had to wait for the hot water to get hot, the shower had great water pressure and stayed hot after the initial warm up.

The location was great - easy to get to and within walking distance of a few restaurants.

The free breakfast was a little wee, but the coffee was good and they had real half and half.

My only real complaint is that ESPN was not available on the in-room TV.

My best tip: bring your cosmetic case that has a hanger, because, at least in the king room, there is no counter in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onlyaymie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clinton
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
0.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Port Clinton
125 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island House Hotel

Address: 102 Madison St, Port Clinton, OH 43452-1104
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range: $89 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island House is a unique combination of boutique hotel with historic charm. Enjoy an attentive staff, charming ambiance and World Class dining. Walk to Jet Express, fishing charters and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island House Hotel Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing