We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hosts, Perfect Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marshall Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Clinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marshall Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Port Clinton B&B and Inns
Western New York State
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect Hosts, Perfect Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed two nights with Victoria and Ed- September 6 & 7, 2013. This B&B has tons of character, is perfectly located near restaurants in Port Clinton, and is a short walk to the Express Jet boat service to Put-in-Bay. We stayed in the Rose room and it was huge- two beds and its own private bathroom. Lots of windows provided excellent breezes, even on a very hot weekend. Breakfast was delicious and ample, and Victoria's coffee (percolated!) is truly memorable. Our hosts were kind and helpful. Victoria knows a tremendous amount about the area, has even written a book about ghostly things there, and can answer any question a traveller might have. Lockwood the cat provided entertainment and company as we sat on the lovely front porch. We will be back...

Room Tip: Rose room is great for couples or even families- plenty large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CmonLetsGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria H H, Owner at Marshall Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Thank you for such a specific positive review. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Faribault, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Although the location was a plus, most everything else was a minus. Hostess greeted us in her bathing suit-no cover-up. Room was small and bathroom was a closet. Never saw such a small bathroom sink in my life. Air was not on when we arrived even though we had reservations, very hot. Owers had wine and crackers in front of us while we were on the porch. Tacky. Ed was helpful when we first arrived with suggestions for places to visit and eat. Second day, hostess, Vicky was going to be gone, so she gave us $3.00 coupon to have breakfast at shop across the street. What can YOU get for $3.00?? Coffee alone was $1.60. Very disappointed. We have done B&B's many times, all through Alaska, Staten Island, NY, and many others in Midwest. This was at the bottom.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 380joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria H H, Owner at Marshall Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Thank you for your review. We are not permitted by state law to provide alcohol although as I recall we had snacks which we offered. At any rate, I appreciate your comments and trust you continue to enjoy your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had a wonderful 2 day stay at the Marshall Inn. Vicky and Ed were excellent hosts and accomodating even though we didn't have reservations. The rooms are spacious and the bed is comfortable. The Inn is a beautifully restored home with lots of character. Vicky makes a wonderful breakfast and a great cup of coffee. The Jet Express is less than a block away and there is a great little park across the street that is good for walking the dog. There is also a coffee shop across the street as well. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherRN2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria H H, Owner at Marshall Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Thank you for your kind review. it is painfully clear that I have not been responding which is why I am so tardy. Trip Advisor has grown into a wonderful site, and I am delighted that guests not only notice it but provide helpful positive feedback. We look forward to your return when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

A good Bed & Breakfast. Good accommodations (the pictures on the website are accurate; http://www.marshallinn.com/), great breakfast. The proprietor (Vicky) has a lot of character. She conducts ghost walks around town.

The location is great, a short walk to the Jet Express.

Room Tip: Violet Suite was nice, Rose Bower is very big, Violet Nook is small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkyMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria H H, Owner at Marshall Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
I appreciate your description of our B&B and your cheerful diescription of me, your host. We look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

I really wanted to stay at Put-in-Bay for my birthday celebration but could not find an attractive place that would let us keep our small dog with us. The Marshall Inn was the perfect choice. The owner is a published author on local ghost lore and offers a ghost walk. I wish I had know that before booking. We would have stayed an extra night. There were three rooms to choose from at about $100 each. We took took the one with just the queen size bed. There was also a room that was larger for slightly more with an extra bed. If you are a family, there is an additional cute room with two twins available. The breakfast made my husband very happy with great cinammon rolls, eggs, bacon, the works. We loved that we were able to check in early and walk a few minutes over to the Jet Express to head to Put-in-Bay for the day. The Jet Express allowed us to come back after 10 PM so that we could enjoy a full day there. I would have to say that this place would have been just about perfect except for the horrible train and traffic noise in the early hours of the morning. I do admit to having the windows open. It was a beautiful Summer night. Next time, we bring ear plugs!!! Everything else was just super. It was clean, charming and well situated for anything you might want to do in the area, and it was much nicer than a generic hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria H H, Owner at Marshall Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Thank you for your kind review which also helps guests as they, like you, want a good night's sleep and a comfortable pleasant stay. We look forward to your return and trust that in these six years you have had safe happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.3 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Clinton
BEST WESTERN Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Port Clinton
Super 8 Port Clinton
#9 of 17 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marshall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall Inn

Property: Marshall Inn
Address: 204 Monroe St, Port Clinton, OH 43452
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Port Clinton
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall Inn is a beautifully renovated brick home built 100 years ago by Victoria's great grandfather. All rooms are on the second floor. All rooms have private bath, cable, refrigerator, air, heat, and separate key to room and to front door. Owners live on premises. A full served breakfast is included with the rate unless guest is advised otherwise in advance unless unexpected occurrences arise. Free WiFi. The Inn is approximately 1.5 blocks from the Jet Express to Put-In-Bay and a short drive to the Miller Ferry to Put-In-Bay. Ed's signature cinnamon rolls on Sunday are delightfully delicious. We welcome you as guests and trust that you will depart as friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marshall Inn Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing