We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Critical Advice to make the property more appealing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Port Clinton OH
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Monroe, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Critical Advice to make the property more appealing”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The outdoor pool was small, but fine, but our concern and everyone we talked to concern was that the pool has a ladder that is too hard to get up out of and no railing at the steps in the shallow end to get in and out, it made it impossible for disabled and ederly to get in the pool and that was one of the reason we chose the hotel, because it had an outdoor pool and by the lake. The other concern was twice we didn't get someone to come to our room while we were there for a week, for towels and to clean our room, I had to go get my own towels and toilet paper, would love to stay here again, but the concerns need to be addressed..

Room Tip: Look at reviews people put on there websites and don't just look at one, look at a few, don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    48
    82
    67
    64
See reviews for
101
103
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Travelodge because we were going up to Put in Bay for the day and did not want to spend the money on a hotel on the island. The Travelodge was great for what we needed. It was right on the lake, which was really nice. The room was older looking, and a little smoky, but we requested a smoking room so it was expected. Everything was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the price was right. If you just need a place to sleep for the night, I would not hesitate staying here. The worst part about it was the free breakfast. They had about 3 things to choose from, but that was not a big deal to us at all. If you are not planning a fancy getaway, and just want to check out the area, this is perfect. It was about a 10 minute drive to the Miller Ferry.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Travelogde in Port Clinton Oh was pleasant overall. The front desk was very helpful and knowledgable. She knew exactly how many lights (4) then turn left and you were at the ferry in know time at all. A very short drive down the street and you were on your way to Put In Bay!! The room was very clean and inviting when we first arrived. The pool and the pier overlooking Lake Erie was a welcome sight. Continental breakfast wasn't extravagent but was clean and nicely put together. Coffee was good!! Mantainance could have been better because the garbage can near the pier needed emptied more often due to the holiday weekend and the pool, although nice most of the time, was starting to look a little cloudy in the extreme heat of the 4th of July holiday. The atmosphere was more Florida like and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Hats off to the girls at the front desk (all shifts) for giving us advice on good eats, directions and towns closeby (Marblehead , for one) and interesting sights to see!! Everyone staying at the hotel seemed to really enjoy sitting on the benches on the pier overlooking the lake, either early in the morning or at sunset. Just a perfect spot! We would definetily stay at the Travelodge in Port Clinton again. Oh yes, The beds were very cozy! ZZZzzzzzzz:)

Room Tip: It would be nice to have a room with the view of the lake but our room was very quiet and we always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The room was nice and it was conveniently located, but the staff wasn't so hot. I indicated we were taking the ferry last Sunday and the staff didn't offer details on their shuttle, didn't provide directions, and didn't offer any help. Two minutes of the front desk's time that afternoon would have saved us $10 in parking, driving around looking for the dock, missing the ferry because we couldn't find the dock, and the hour plus wait for another ferry. Next time we're staying in Marblehead I think. Much cuter and the people seem more helpful. If Port Clinton had nature trails, places to walk/run, a cute coffee shop, or a nice place to spend the morning, I couldn't find it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itwasfunwhileitlaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Clinton hotels

Streamwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days, not many people here, which meant check in was a breeze and peace and quiet,which was good for me! the hotel is average, but the front desk service was great and made up for the hotel.The hotel was a safe place to sleep and close to the 2 main attractions-the put-in-bay and the african safari. The pool was too small and no one seemed interested in going in..
This hotel is near 2 great eatery; Pattaya Thai and Sushi ( hi jackie) and Casa Las Palmas
I would recommend this hotel for short stays.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine36746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
butler
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2012

blankets were thin as paper the pool didnt work they should of sais something on phone when i had mad reservation that it was out.I had to call front desk 3 times before i got a room move because there was kids in a room above us running around at 6:15 in the moring waking us up.I finally got a room move at 1:30 that afternoon.Front desk didnt give me any information on hrs on anything.I will never return to this hotel again I do not recommend it to any one.

Room Tip: i do not recomend this hotel to anyone service was very poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I was quoted one price at check in and charged another when checking out.I questioned the clerk and she stated it was the correct price.Not a way for new owners to run a business.The room was clean but had a musty smell.The continental breakfast left a lot to be desired.Was close to lake and restaurants.All with in walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goat Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
2.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Port Clinton
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
260 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Port Clinton
Super 8 Port Clinton
#11 of 17 in Port Clinton
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 17 in Port Clinton
196 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Port Clinton OH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Port Clinton OH

Property: Travelodge Port Clinton OH
Address: 1811 E Perry St, Port Clinton, OH 43452-1427 (Formerly Portside Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Port Clinton OH 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are newly renovated as of June 2011. We have beautiful rooms with king or two double beds. We are located on waterfront of Lake Erie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Port Clinton OH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Hotel Port Clinton
Travelodge Port Clinton OH Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing