We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh.....”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Marion, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Eh.....”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Thankfully we were only there one night. I would have looked for a different hotel if I was staying more than one night. This hotel is very dirty. Walking up the stairwell we noticed the windows were in desperate need of cleaning, with a bunch of dead bugs in them, and cobwebs around them. The carpets are dirty. Our room (which was non-smoking) was on the third floor, which hallways smelled like smoke. The room didn't smell of smoke though. The room was dingy and a little dirty. It looked as though it had not been redecorated since 1988. The fridge had sticky pop stains in it. The beds were comfotable though, and the hotel is close to Cedar Point.
I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idktgjhggfxzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    87
    53
    19
    16
See reviews for
90
67
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here while visiting Cedar Point. Hotel was clean, staff friendly, and the breakfast in the morning was decent. Shower and toilet area was VERY small. However, since we were only in the room in the evening, it was doable. The Mexican Restaurant next door was excellent and within walking distance. For brief stays I would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRR71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Our room was very clean, and a nice size. The staff were so friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: They have a decent continental style breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charpotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Most frustrating was a disabled WI-FI, which the hotel staff wouldn't even admit was broken.

While the hotel was quite clean, we were otherwise disappointed by the cramped bathroom with modular shower (no bath). Most of my family complained about the rubbery mattresses too.

The TV was old, with terrible cable reception, very few channels were clear enough to even watch.

I'd expect this in a cheap hotel, but not for the price they get.

Room Tip: Go to upper floors or you'll listen to footsteps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Clinton hotels

Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2012

the room was ok. it had some mold at the bottom of the shower in the caulk. and the carpets could have been cleaner. but the hotel it's self was clean. the pool looked real nice, altho we didn't use it. over all it was good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLDYANKEE1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauseon, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Every year my husband and I go to Port Clinton and Put in Bay for our anniversary. We stay here because they will shuttle you to the Jet Express free of charge. The shuttle drivers are very friendly and give great tips a places to visit while there. The hotel staff are wonderful, they work really hard so you can get checked in early. My only complaint would be that our air conditioner quit working through the night, but they made it right on our bill at check out. Over all the htel is clean, friendly staff and a great location!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

If you are interested in birding the area between Cleveland and Toledo, then this is a good option. It is located right off of rte 2 and is a central location for everthing from Oak Openings to Magee Marsh to Sheldon Nature Preserve and all of the other wonderful birding locations on the shores of Lake Erie. Staff is very accommodating and the rooms, while not glamorous are definitely clean and comfortable. Breakfast is included in the stay and it is available early enough to make it to your locations by 7:30 -8:00 a.m. There's an excellent Mexican restaurant next store which is especially convenient after a long day of birding.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is a little less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clinton
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
3.1 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 17 in Port Clinton
202 reviews
4.7 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
287 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites
Address: 947 SE Catawba RD, Port Clinton, OH 43452-2659
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep Inn & Suites is prime location for your Port Clinton vacation. We are close to African Safari-East Harbor State Park and the ferries to Put-N-Bay. We offer a complementary shuttle to the Jet Express (offer only peek season), early check in to get you vacationing faster. Complementary Hot Breakfast served from 6am - 10am daily, heated indoor pool and don't forget a nice fresh renovated room and an atmosphere that is warm and friendly. Come check us out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Port Clinton
Port Clinton Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn & Suites Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing