We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel on the weekend on 5/4/12 for 2 nights. The hotel just opened after winter closing and was running smoothly.
Pros:
The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly.
Good location: Hotel was just off interstate; Just 4miles straight down is Miller ferry and within 5 miles is Jet Express; A good Mexican restaurant is next door; Walmart super center is 1.5 miles away.
Good breakfast.
Room/Bed were clean.

Cons:
Carpet is stained and top floor hallway smells.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 239 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

This Sleep Inn is located right off Rt. 2, which is perfect for weary, night time drivers not looking forward to trying to find their hotel after a day on the road. But even though it *is* right off the highway, at no time during the night were traffic noises obvious. The lobby is very clean, light and uncluttered and has a computer for guest use. Check in and out was friendly and quick. The hotel has 3 floors (I think) with an elevator located right across from the check in desk. Our room was clean and comfortably appointed, bed bug check (always done) came up clean. The WiFi was slow in the evening, but I've found this to be a problem at most hotels anyway. There is a small indoor pool which my spousal equivalent wanted to try out, but the pump had broken that morning and they were waiting for the repairman. The bathroom has a nice, roomy walk-in shower. I know families with small children prefer tubs sometimes, so you may want to check ahead. Bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. Air conditioning worked well (I like a cool room to sleep in) and wasn't overly loud. Even with a lot of guests (this time of year is birding week..weeks?...in Port Clinton and hotels fill up fast, so if you're traveling there be sure to make your reservations early) the only noise we ever heard in the hallway was a discreet knocking on a neighboring door at 5 a.m. (birders, I suspect). The hotel has a breakfast, but we have a favorite breakfast restaurant in Port Clinton and didn't partake, although, we did have coffee (always available in the lobby) and it was good and hot.

There are LOTS of places to visit and dine very easily gotten to in the vicinity of the hotel. The visitors bureau is right across the street. Dining choices are varied, many and good, so blow off the chains and visit some of the local eateries! Millers Ferry and Jet Express are just minutes away. Bergmanns Orchards is a fantastic place to stop in season for fresh produce and Cheesehaven has more types of cheese (a little pricey, but if you're into cheeses this is the place to go!) than you can imagine. We always try to make it to the Jolly Roger Seafood. If you like fresh, freshly prepared seafood, you have GOT to try the fried huge shrimp and lake perch here. It's a tiny, unprepossessing restaurant, but once you've eaten there you'll understand why the place always has business. Great Lakes Popcorn and Toft's Dairy are the places to go to satiate your sweet tooth (Vanilla Butternut popcorn and Strawberry Cheesecake ice cream!) FIsh Tales Diner has super good NE clam chowder and no one beats Dianna's Deli's breakfasts! Papa Jimmie's for the brisket pizza and Phil's Inn for delicious HOMEMADE meatballs and spaghetti sauce. Mon Ami Restaurant and Winery for a more upscale meal and Nagoya Japanese Steakhouse for incredible sushi. And that's just a smidgen of the wonderful places to eat! Visit Marblehead just down the road or hop the ferry or jet express for a trip over to Put In Bay..... Sleep Inn is convenient to everything and much more affordable than many of the area hotels.

Room Tip: If you prefer a bathtub, you might want to check first as the room we had only had a walk-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I was rather disappointed this evening when I attempted to reserve a room for my wife and I at this hotel like I have done for a local October festival for the last 3 years. They apparantly do not offer military rates anymore. As a disabled verteran they have generously offered this benefit when we have stayed in the past but it is not available now. It would seem that service to our country is not as well regarded at this Sleep Inn anymore.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere if you are looking for military rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank BrianB1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I was only there for a night but the room was clean and the bed comfortable. No Bed Bugs! (I check) The breakfast in the morning was ok. The oatmeal was a little overcooked and gummy but I was good with the hard boiled eggs, bagels, cream cheese,juice and coffee. The tv was ok, not a lot of channels. Probably my only complaint would be the swimming pool. The pool itself was nice but the chlorine level was toxic. I submerged once and it was ten minutes before my eyes quit burning. Kept my head above the water line the rest of the swim.There was a good mexican joint next door that I ate dinner at. It was tasty and the price was reasonable. Although the hostess could use some lessons in friendliness.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hankEWait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed at the Sleep Inn Sept 5-Sept 9 on a short family vacation. The hotel was one of the cleanest hotels we have stayed at - the room was spotless as was the bathroom. The hotel staff was friendly, helpful and always available to answer any questions that we had. The Continental breakfast was nothing fancy but the food was fresh and there was a decent selection to choose from. The indoor pool was clean and warm and the hotel provided towels in the pool area so that you dont have to use the towels from your room. Overall we recommend this hotel if you are staying in the Port Clinton area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 820Heidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We had originally booked at a different hotel close by but left after seeing and smelling the room. The staff at the Sleep Inn was so friendly. Was able to book us a room right then and there, checked us in right away and even let me see my room prior to booking. I was amazed at how nice the hotel was for such a great price. I would highly reccommend staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JacobsMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. We would stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clinton
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Port Clinton, OH
3.1 mi away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#6 of 17 in Port Clinton
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 17 in Port Clinton
214 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
403 reviews
4.7 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 947 SE Catawba RD, Port Clinton, OH 43452-2659
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range: $73 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep Inn & Suites is prime location for your Port Clinton vacation. We are close to African Safari-East Harbor State Park and the ferries to Put-N-Bay. We offer a complementary shuttle to the Jet Express (offer only peek season), early check in to get you vacationing faster. Complementary Hot Breakfast served from 6am - 10am daily, heated indoor pool and don't forget a nice fresh renovated room and an atmosphere that is warm and friendly. Come check us out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Port Clinton
Port Clinton Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn & Suites Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing