We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Rude Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbus-East
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickerington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Everything was fine with our check in , quick, simple....However , disaster started as my wife and I (who are Hilton Honors Customers) called the Front Desk and asked for a late checkout the next day on a Sunday...The individual at the front desk told me in no uncertain terms that he would NOT permit a late checkout...I couldn't believe his response as I have requested this of other hotel properties across the World and not one of them ever denied me a courtesy late check out. I asked the person again and then a third time , all times thwarted, then finally I asked for a Manager, I was told he doesn't come in til 7am . I asked again, he then said I am the manager and you will " have to deal with me".....WOW!.....My wife found in the binder in the room a instructional on checking out and if you should need any assistance call the front desk and they will accommodate and assist the "best they can".."THE BEST THEY CAN?..Really?.....So, I call again and inform the front desk person of my findings in the binder provided in the room and again asked for that late checkout and once again..DENIED!, I asked You are not going to honor what is in your hotels binder regarding late checkouts, he said NO....No late checkouts that's what I said..at that point I told him I would be down in the lobby with binder in hand to prove it....by the time I was downstairs I was beyond angry and upset that I was treated so poorly by this afro american front desk agent so rudely and condesendingly.....he was on the phone with his manager STEVE who I asked to speak with before and asked again while I was at the front desk and was denied again....My wife and I will NEVER EVER stay at this property again. We hinted to look into this further with Hampton Inn corporate management... SIMPLY INEXCUSEABLE!......

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peguins3993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Columbus-East
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 385 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were tired from driving all day, the Hampton Inn had a very nice room available. We rested well, got up the following morning, refreshed, took advantage of the complimentary breakfast and were on our way in a timely manner. Great job!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Had to check out of the Best Western next door because it was so bad. The Hampton Inn was a dream. It was such a better hotel overall for just a few dollars more a night. Well worth it! The rooms were quite and comfortable. The beds were a good compromise as I like a hard bed and my wife likes a softer bed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Avoid the higher hotel prices of Columbus and stay just a few minutes east. This hotel is located conveniently just-off the highway with easy access back on. A standard Hampton Inn with the regular amenities, the room was clean and spacious. This is not one of the more upscale Hampton Inns, but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank KGinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very clean. There was even someone sweeping up tiny bits of trash from the parking lot. The beds are the most comfortable I have been in for this price hotel. Staff was exceptional, very friendly and responsive. Breakfast was good. I asked to have my oatmeal heated as there was no microwave and someone did it right away! Easy access to Columbus. I would definitely this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank rughooker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Recently stayed at this Hampton Inn property to attend a wedding down in the Columbus, Ohio area for the weekend.

All I can say is that I knew something was funky upon check-in. I say that because the woman at the front-desk was a "peach." I didn't know if she was having a bad day, but found out later she was not, it was just her personality - but she was incredibly short, rude, and just plain mean to my wife and I. Being a Hilton Honors Gold Member I always ask at check-in if the hotel/property has my Hilton Honors #, and she said, "no." That's it. Just a "no." Not a "no, I'm sorry let me look that up for you." I asked, well, can you look it up for us or hang on I'll get it here on my phone. She just wanted absolutely nothing to do with us. "Drivers license and ID." (which I already put on the counter and she didn't see). Rooms keys and we were on our way. Yikes.

Then we got to the room, which was at the end of a hallway where you could hear everything in the hallway and every single person walking by our door, which was also next to a vending machine and the ice machine. Are you kidding me? It was so loud that we actually stuffed towels by the door to block out the noise. (see photo in review).

That night the fire alarm went off in the hotel, and our room on the second floor right in the front of the hotel lobby (right above the drop off), with the exterior/interior AC unit, so you could hear anytime people were coming and going. So when the firetruck/ambulance pulled up in the middle of the night/morning, guess who's room the giant engines were humming in front of? .....nice.

We then asked if we could change rooms to our favorite person downstairs. Yeah right. So much for that. Let's just say, check-out was welcomed.

So, as with all my Trip Advisor reviews:
Q: Would I stay here again?
A: No. Definitely no. This was definitely the worst Hilton property I've stayed at and the customer experience/service was in the pits.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pezman2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Clean room, new mattress, attractive décor, extra towels, pleasant staff, several restaurants adjacent to property, comfy chairs, free Wi-Fi, hot breakfast, and more electrical outlets around the room than anyone could possibly utilize. The bed had a comforter, oops,a duvet, with a cover that was washed between guests. There was a blanket in a plastic bag in the closet if you needed less or more. Our king size room also had a small fridge and a microwave.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebonnet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickerington
0.1 mi away
Best Western Executive Suites - Columbus East
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 3 in Pickerington
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus East
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites East
Comfort Suites East
#98 of 143 in Columbus
46 reviews
2.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Columbus East Reynoldsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbus-East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbus-East

Address: 1890 Winderly Ln, Pickerington, OH 43147-8636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Pickerington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickerington
Price Range: $128 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbus-East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free wireless high speed Internet access in our rooms, lobby and meeting room. Free use of Business center facilities. We offer dry erase board, DVD player in meeting rooms. Adjacent to Cracker Barrel Restaurant. There are numerous points of interest near our location - Restaurants, Golf Courses, Magic Mountain Fun Center and The American Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum. Indoor Heated Pool open every day until 9:30 P.M., Fitness Center, and Meeting Room. Complimentary access to off-site gym Power Shack by showing your room key. In our Lobby from 6 A.M. To 10 A.M. Enjoy our Complimentary On The House Hot Breakfast. All guest rooms have cable with Free HBO, Coffeemaker, iron/ironing board, hair dryers, and use of a lapdesk for your convenience and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbus-East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbus-East Hotel Pickerington
Hampton Inn Pickerington
Pickerington Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Columbus-East Pickerington, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing