We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed...bummer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cocina de Carlos

Cocina de Carlos
Ranked #2 of 115 Restaurants in Perrysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
221 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Closed...bummer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very sorry to say I drove 5-2-13 & the restaurant is closed for good. For sale sign in front, furniture in parking lot, type closed. Too bad, was a really good restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank luvscigars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKPATRON, Owner at Cocina de Carlos, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
No my friend, we do not close, we moved, we are back to kroger in 27072 carronade dr. We also decided to change the name of the restaurant, now called as my dad and I, "Cocina de Carlos", hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    64
    17
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swanton, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrific food, weak drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I love the food here, it is always fantastic. I had an uncomfortable booth seat with no padding but they are moving soon, I hope they are buying new seating. My 2 margees were really weak, needed more taquilla. I used a Groupon and the waiter seemed annoyed that I had it. The prices are very reasonable, we will be back soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, OH
Level Contributor
130 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“tasty lunch buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

There's a nice variety on the lunch buffet at a reasonable cost. Everything I sampled was good, from the guacamole, fillings for the tostada shell and fajitas, to the final mini flan. It was a good deal for $7.25.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKPATRON, Owner at Cocina de Carlos, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, our job is to have a good experience with us and I think we've done with you. Hope to see you soon in our new building next to Kroger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vernon NY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Food, excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Excellent pork carnitas, great flavor. Guacamole salad was fantastic. Portions were ample and prices very reasonable. Ask about the specials

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKPATRON, Owner at Cocina de Carlos, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, our job is to have a good experience with us and I think we've done with you. Hope to see you soon in our new building next to Kroger.
Chef Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You won't regret it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Took advice from other travelers and was very happy I did. My wife and I ate here the other day and it was terrific. The menu items are very cheap in my opinion, especially for the portions you get. My wife got a burrito (El Sancho style) it was way to much, the biggest burrito I have ever seen that was not some sort of challenge gimic. I got the mixed fajitas and the favor was oozing out of them. I wish I would of ate them plain from the beginning with out extra toppings in my shells, they are that good.

Decor and actually restaurant are a bit run down and shady feeling, but don't let that deter you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdwilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKPATRON, Owner at Cocina de Carlos, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, our job is to have a good experience with us and I think we've done with you. Hope to see you soon in our new building next to Kroger.
Chef Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocina de Carlos also viewed

 

Been to Cocina de Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing