We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steam engine”

Cuyahoga Valley Scenic Railroad
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Peninsula
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newton Falls, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Steam engine”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Trains, what more do you need to say? Loved getting pics of the steam engine. Great day out with the family.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    136
    62
    31
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, Oh
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Take Your Bike”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We've done the Polar Express and a sightseeing trip on the RR, but it's best use is as a bike carrier. The towpath in the Cuyahoga Valley Nat Park is one of the best places to ride a bike anywhere. If you want to go on a 10 mile ride you only get to see 5 miles of the path (twice). For only a couple of bucks you can ride the train in one direction and bike the other way.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pete E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Riding the Rails”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Loved the train ride; even though trip was shortened because of bridge repairs along the route to Akron. This is a great value also; $10.00 to step back in time for a little while. Great and knowledgeable volunteers run the railroad who can and will answer any questions you may have. We were given a free audio tour for our ride with ear buds to keep. Will surely return to ride the rails in June to get the full experience. Would highly recommend this trip for adults and children; although the little ones did get a bit restless on the return ride.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“took the school kids”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

this was a fun trip, they have narration on some history, which I always enjoy learning history of any place. I believe a good value too.

Helpful?
Thank Mel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Children's Train Ride”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My children and I traveled on the Cuyahoga Valley Railroad when they were small. What a fabulous experience we had. We travel in the fall - but they do a Polar Express ride at Christmas that is awesome! We have also boarded the train with our bikes and biked the trail back to our car. Great way to spend an afternoon.

Helpful?
Thank PeggySueToYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuyahoga Valley Scenic Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Cuyahoga Valley Scenic Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing