We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop for tasty food and atmosphere”

Winking Lizard Tavern
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Peninsula
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
504 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Stop for tasty food and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We ate here on a busy Thursday and opted to sit outside where it was a little quieter. Our server was friendly and professional, serving us in a timely manner. We noticed a lot of families eating around us, some with babes in arms still. We ordered the BBQ ribs and BBQ 1/2 chicken, which was on special that night. Both were very good with plenty of meat, although I do have to say, the chicken was not one of those super charged hyped up on growth hormone chickens. It was the perfect size for me. I only ate a quarter of the bird as I was full, and my husband polished off the wing. We left the drier breast behind, but that was only because we were full. I could have slathered the meat in the tasty BBQ sauce and all would be good. Others have mentioned the restaurant's great location along the tow patch. They are right. You can stop in for lunch or drinks, then return for dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Babu2773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    98
    45
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Family Friendly Tavern”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

A must go to if you are visiting Peninsula, Oh or just driving on Rt. 303. Service is outstanding and very family friendly. Especially families with smaller children. Menu is great. A game area for children, an outdoor patio and a huge selection of different types of beers. A good time for all!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happy0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The BBQ St. Louis style ribs are to die for! The restaurant is best known for its different types of beer. It is a great way to end your walk or bike ride along the towpath trail.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spent a Week there One Day”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were in Peninsula and were hungry so there was not much choice. It was a Friday afternoon around 2 p.m. and it seemed like it was all they could do to service the sparse crowd that was there. I kept thinking I would hate to be there when it was really busy. We sat on the patio and it took awhile for the server to come over to us. On the plus side, she was very nice and friendly but never seemed to be in any hurry and was a little distracted for some reason. I had the Chinese Chicken Salad that I would describe as extremely average, not even close to the standards of, say, The Cheesecake Factory, which has an excellent one. By the time it came, I just wanted to eat it and get the heck out of there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OhioTravelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“really good”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Had Western burger and Mexican soup and coleslaw for lunch. All really tasty and good! Ate on patio. Service was pleasant. Would definitely go back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoodReviewerSantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winking Lizard Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Winking Lizard Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing